We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead Sea is amazing...this hotel is NOT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spend 4 nights at this hotel. The service is terrible and there is no one around who is helpful. Spend good 30 minutes waiting for the check-in and then got the key card and map and was left to figure out where my room was in their campus. The rooms are very spread out and be ready to walk on cobbled paths. The access to the sea is not easy, with having to walk down a quite a steep hill in slippers. The last part of which is unpaved so have to be really careful on not tripping. The hotel is more about their pools rather than access to the Dead Sea. This pretty much defeats the purpose of traveling, if I want a pool, will stay in Bahrain.

The gift shop does not stock flip-flops! for a sea side resort, this is totally weird. The rooms are tacky but spacious. Mine had a balcony which was really nice.

On the good part, we had an entertainment planned for one of the nights and the hotel arranged for a troupe of Jordanian dancers which was really good fun. They got a whole lot of us engaged in the dancing and set the tone for a rocking evening. The food that night was Arabic, this was well done. The next evening, we had European food, while I liked it, overall opinion was mixed.

The hotel was really packed with conferences, so definitely is not in the list for an holiday destination. Their spa is always fully booked.

Also had the opportunity to visit the Marriott and Kempenski which are on either side of the Move n Pick, both of them looked like much nicer properties. I did not see the rooms at the other two hotels but they overall looked plusher.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We appreciate receiving your constructive comments. Firstly I would like to apologize that the service we provided to you was not satisfying and that your check-in took a long time without giving you any explanation of our facilities.

With regards to the Spa we do recommend to do reservations for treatments prior to your arrival as it is quite booked most of the time. For the Zara Spa Experience – day use of the Spa – it is possible to just walk in and use the facilities with a charge of JOD 25. If guests face difficulties with the access to the Dead Sea, we do advise the use of our Zara Spa Dead Sea pool.

We have noted all your feedback and we would like you to know that your comments are an invaluable source for us to improve our service levels. We would appreciate you giving us another chance to prove our commitment to hospitality during your next visit to the Dead Sea.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,801 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a holiday traveling through Jordan and were looking forward to a lovely relaxing stay - unfortunately it was anything but relaxing!
When we arrived, Check in was a shambles. We were not allowed to take our bags from the concierge, despite them having our booking reference and passports in. So when we went to check in, we had to spend 10 minutes trying to get our bags back. We were then checked in to a large room, which was nice, except for the rubbish all over the walkways and dirty plates in the corridor.
Our room was filthy when we got inside, dirty sheets covered in make-up, empty mini bar, rubbish left on the balcony. We then had to wait over an hour for the concierge to bring our bags - by this point we had wasted most of our day. We went down to the pool, and were told we couldnt have towels because reception had forgotten to give us towel cards.
We went to reception to complain, and were assured our room would be cleaned when we returned from dinner. When we did get back to the room at 10pm, the mini bar was filled but somebody had dumped a pile of sheets on the bed, and did not return to fit them. So we spent the night in a dirty bed - either that or change the sheets ourselves, which we were not paying £200 a night to do!
We complained the next day and finally a lady named Barbara got everything sorted for us, which was brilliant, and dressed the room with flowers. But it should not have taken until the afternoon on our final day to have a clean room!

I would not stay here again, not unless it was at a much lower price. The food selection was not great - only Italian or American, and a few Jordanian snacks. We can get this food at home for a lot cheaper! There were lots of pools which were lovely, but everything is over priced...you even have to pay for the use of cutlery with room service! And if you lose the towel card (which we didnt end up needing after all) you have to pay $20 - and it is literally a piece of cardboard.

If you can get it cheap, then it is a nice hotel with nice facilities for a day at the dead sea. But do not pay full price!

Room Tip: Do not check in early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmatrindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

Thank you for providing your comprehensive review.

Firstly I would like to apologize for the hassle you have gone through when arriving at our hotel. This is certainly not the standard the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea is renowned for and I wish that I would have met you prior to your final day of your vacation to make everything right.

With regards to the restaurants we do have different options as for example the Italian Restaurant ‘Luigis’, the Valley Café, where we provide our guest with Arabic Mezzeh and Sandwiches, the Beach lounge, where we serve International Cuisine, the Al Saraya Restaurant, which is a buffet restaurant and Fridays we even have a Jordanian Night – with specialties like ‘Mansaf’. Moreover we will have the reopening of our Mongolian BBQ ‘Chopsticks’ later this year.

We appreciate your attention to detail and I would be more than happy to receive an email from you if you think about returning to our hotel. We would then be certainly taking this opportunity to better showcase our Five-Star service.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in mid-September. We arrived well before check-in time and stayed several hours after check-out. Both days, the staff was extremely helpful and gave us pool passes for the day. Throughout our stay, the staff was very helpful and pleasant.

We used several of the pools, and they were all great. The grounds are gorgeous and the room was very comfortable. We loved the resort, but...

The restaurants were very disappointing. We ate at The Grill the first night; the food was okay but overpriced, andwe both ended up with msg headaches. The second night we ate at the Italian restaurant. Again the food was okay but overpriced... nothing to right home about, but this was the only time we encountered indifferent staff. The worst meal we had was at the poolside restaurant. We ordered Caesar Salad with grilled chicken; what we got was tired iceberg lettuce with a huge glob of mayonaise on it. Ghastly. Friends who stayed there earlier in the year said that they ate at the buffets and the food was fine, so maybe we just hit a bad weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your candid review. We are pleased that we succeeded in meeting your expectations in general.

On the other hand I am concerned to read that you were not able to savor our food & beverage offers. I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to avoid a recurrence of such unpleasant experience. Furthermore I would like to sincerely apologize to you for the shortcomings you have kindly singled out.

I do hope that you will give us a chance to demonstrate improvement to you, the next time you decide to visit the Dead Sea.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just stayed the one night here and really enjoyed the stay. Staff were always friendly and competent, check in and out was quick and simple.
Our room was on level 2 with a sea view, i cant say the sea view was that great as there are many buildings between the hotel and the sea - probably a better view as you go up higher levels of the hotel. It didnt really matter to me as when you go down to one of the 3 pool areas you have wonderful views. Sunset and early evening at the adult only horizon pool just near the water's edge proved to be relatively quiet with stunning views.
Our room itself was clean, large with a comfortable king bed, nice linen, quiet A/C and a great bathroom with nice products - just what you'd expect for a 5 star hotel, and the free drinks (non alcoholic) drinks in the mini bar a welcome change from some hotels.
Buffet breakfast was great, lots of choice of quality food in a nice environment.
At about AU$240 a night the stay was not cheap, but the nice room, great breakfast and most importantly the opportunity to sit and look out over the dead sea in a bit of luxury made it well worth the cost.
If coming back to Jordan i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view then make sure the room is on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Dead Sea!

Many thanks for this gorgeous review of your short stay with us. Our team with whom we have shared your comments, is very happy to read that we succeeded in meeting or even exceeding your expectations.

We would be very lucky to welcome you back as our guest soon!

Warm regards,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Saw this with good reviews on trip advisor and went for a day of luxury pampering with my boyfriend.
Paid fifty pounds sterling each for use of facilities and ten pounds per head in resort bars/restaurants.
Headed to the spa. Infinity pool was unheated, great views and if heated would be bliss on a chilly day, instead we swam to the edge and straight back before hypothermia set in!
Jacuzzi's and steam rooms are segregated by gender, we are all for cultural sensitivity but 1. As an international resort we were surprised by this and 2. Other areas of the spa were not segregated so this is inconsistent.

The pool containing Dead Sea water was excellent, we enjoyed it. It was a shame that the adjacent pools were empty of water.

The fact we paid full rates for a spa where most facilties were closed or too cold to use was not acceptable to us, and we raised this in a very polite manner with an employee, then their boss. Customer service at senior level was awful, there was no acknowledgement of the objective points we made, and no refund at all, not even of the ten pounds to spend in the resort that are obligatory with the tickets.

We ended up having a very good meal in the Italian restaurant on site, cannot fault the junior employees or quality of food.

Overall the experience and attitude of the manager left us very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rebecca_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to post your feedback with regards to your day visit at our resort.

You are correct that we do not heat the Infiniti Pool at our Zara Spa, but we do have our Hydro Pool which is heated in Winter and which is also outdoor. Our steam rooms are in the female and male locker rooms and are separated, as some guest prefer to enjoy these facilities without their swimwear. The adjacent pool – Kneipp pool - is unfortunately under maintenance, but our Engineering team is working on fixing the issue as soon as possible.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with regards to the service we have provided to you and I can assure you that your comments have been shared with our Zara Spa team. Our employees would be more than happy to be your host again and show you their passion for hospitality.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent a week at the Movenpick for a series of business meetings; the grounds, views, food, rooms and hospitality were ideal for keeping up my energy and spirits while working during the day. The breakfast buffet is definitely worth pulling yourself out of jetlag with a variety of Middle Eastern and Western options. The foul (with all the toppings) was my favorite. I never had a bad meal at any of the restaurants I tried. They are quite expensive and given the resort's location, you are pretty much required to eat there unless you want an hour trip into Amman. But there are great options to choose from. The pools and beach are beautiful, the Dead Sea a great experience and the spa was a great quiet place to spend a half-day. I'd go back here any time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We are joyful that your stay with us remains a truly brilliant memory for you and that you experienced our resort for the high quality of service it stands for. It goes without saying that we are thankful for your kind recommendation here on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing our resort and we do hope that we will be part of your coming travel itinerary.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Movenpick is a bit pricey. They have the real estate and it seemed one of the best places to enjoy the Dead Sea.

I took a day pass at the Zara Spa. Initially the guard tried to charge 60US for a 50US pass into the spa. He called it a service charge. I knew the price and went in to the spa and bought the pass there. Shady and off putting. I just wanted to relax.

The hotel is very clean and the grounds well kept.

The spa staff were very kind and informative. The staff helped me go through the options of treatments. Everything is listed online too. Have a look before you go and cut down the decision time and maximize your relaxation time. The staff will give you a tour.

2 pools of Dead Sea. One is half content and one is full content. Fun, but the the real Sea is much more fun. Take a stroll down to the Movenpick beach front and sun, play volleyball, drink, or take a dip in the Sea and cover yourself with mud. Changing rooms are available as well as showers. A pool is located near the beach with food, drinks, and music.

The Spa has two pools. A hydrotherapy pool and an calm infinity pool. Drink and food service is available. The changing rooms are well kept, clean, and the facilities modern. Hair dryers and shower gel amenities are available. There is also a lounge room to relax, wait for treatments, and have some tea and fruit that is included in the price of the spa.

I did have lunch at the Italian restaurant in the food village on premises. It was filling and the soup and lasagna were sufficient but overpriced.

I recommend day spa packages that include something to eat. Possible healthy tie in with the treatments would be a nice package.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear valued guest,

We are delighted to read such a thorough review of your day visit to our Zara Spa and to learn that you have enjoyed being pampered in our Arabic Village. We have passed your commendations to our Zara Spa team, as your feedback is of great motivation to them and it will help all of us improve our services and facilities further.

With regards to the entrance fee, we do actually charge JOD 60 for the Spa, but JOD 50 is for the entrance and JOD 10 is for you to spend on food & beverage offers. Furthermore please be informed that we have taken good note of your idea to offer a spa package which includes food & beverage offers.

Our Zara Spa team would be pleased to welcome you back at any time!

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel Resort
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
555 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#6 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range: $107 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing