We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Awesome, beautiful hotel, this is a 5-star by any country's standards. The service was impeccable from check-in to check-out, we really felt well taken care of and pampered. The room was beautiful, looking over the pools and a gorgeous ocean view. The pools themselves are spectacular, there are at least three of them with lots of places to sit and beautiful views of the Dead Sea. The food at the various restaurants was excellent as well. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,572 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

Service was excellent and staff was efficient and friendly. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We were lucky to catch a Marriott promotion and paid JD79 (before tax) per night which includes buffet breakfast. The facilities were simply gorgeous. We used the free spa facility after dipping in the Dead Sea. The spa offers jelly slippers that you wear into the Dead Sea as it's full of rocks and can be quite uncomfortable walking without any footwear.

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our Jordan trip. In retrospect, we should have stayed here at the end of our trip as we desperately needed the relaxation (in the Dead Sea) after visiting Petra and Wadi Rum.

We did not eat in the restaurant as we have read the prices are quite expensive. We ate out the whole time as we have a car with driver. There is a local restaurant called Chilli Ways about a few minutes drive away. They offer local as well as western fares at very reasonable prices.

There is not much you can do in the area if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhyNotNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This resort was a wonderful end to our Jordan trip. The hotel was immaculate, the staff were very pleasent and helpful and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud. Now if you are on a small budget this might not be for you, or do what we did and book it anyway as a nice relaxing treat. Which was well worth all the money we spent here. there are many restaurants to choose from, which are all very nice. Be careful at the buffet though, because you may end up paying more then what you thought you would for a buffet meal. The pools here are nice and clean, and it's a short walk down to the dead sea where you can take a dip or cover yourself with the black mud. (both are recommended). This place allowed us to relax and prepare for the next leg of our journey.... I highly recommened this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianDeparture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We decided on the Marriott for value, location and services. The Jordan valley Marriott surpassed our expectations. Extremely helpful and friendly staff............stunning location.........really lovely resort.....quite a surprise.....i'd return in a heartbeat.
Our room could accommodate two adults and two young children ...no extra room needed so for budget conscious travelers with kids, this is great news...and loads of room, two queen size beds with a balcony overlooking the pool and the dead sea...heaven.
Like other TA members have said, great food, several restaurants so most tastes are catered for even the picky eaters.
Loved everything about it.... quick tip.....pack a pair of gel sandals for the dead sea...the shore line is very stony and its a bit tricky to get in and out...it just makes life easier.
Have a ball!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We started our trip of week to Jordan at the Dead Sea, in the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort. It is only 45 min drive from the airport. Should you want to go south from the airport (even if you arrive late) I would advise to go to the Dead Sea straight away. And then take the Marriot Resort as a starting point! We had an excellent room, wonderful breakfast and in the afternoon (after a mud bath and a 'dive' in the dead sea) we had a wonderful massage in the spa. The staff in the hotel and spa were excellent!

Only one downside: you can have no arabic food for lunch or dinner even thought the hotel has 9 (!!) restaurants. So great for two nights but no longer than that since it is not easy to get off the hotel grounds if you don't have your own car. Of course a taxi would be possible but we prefer walking to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Normally I wouldn't stay at top end hotels, for two reason money and lack of local culture.

The Marriott was an enjoyable stay, great facilities, great location. Of course one pays for it. The buffet was good value for an evening meal, it was Arabic food the night we stayed.

The standard of the hotel is what one expects from an American top end hotel.

The Dead Sea is an easy walk. There is also spa's with the salt water.

The only issue I would have with the hotel was some of the guests, more money than manners. The security is also a bit intense.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chilli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We started our trip to Jordan in Kempinski at the dead sea, but left that hotel since the service there in Kempinski was auful. We moved to Marriott next door and enjoyed every single minute there. Hotel staff is incredibly friendly, you should also try chocolate desert called Ball - this is a heaven! Territory is well designed and the beach is nice as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vladkhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel Resort
7.7 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
700 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan (Formerly Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range: $134 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa is set on the shores of the legendary Dead Sea. We are more than your average hotel in Jordan. Our resort in Sweimah is a restorative experience in the heart of the world's most celebrated natural wonders. The expansive on-site spa is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, and offers a full menu of treatments and a unique Dead Sea salt pool. In addition, Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing