We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is a first class hotel with luxurious rooms and top facilities. We booked directly with the hotel at the advanced purchase rate 1 month before arrival. At 40% off the standard price, we thought it represented great value.

Location is perfect, directly by the Dead Sea. The beach area was well maintained with umbrellas, lounges and shower facilities - handy for rinsing out the 30% salt water. There was also a mud bucket to use as skin treatment.

Other facilities included a heated pool for use of hotel guests only. There was a cold water pool, but we didn’t see anyone in it at that time of year. You also get access to the spa which includes indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna. I thought that the hotel would be swamped with day visitors, but we found this was not the case. It was peaceful and not overcrowded.

Breakfast was an impressive spread with a variety of quality options. There were 3 restaurants for dinner. We chose the sports bar which serves American and Tex Mex. This was perhaps the most informal venue with mains around 8 Dinars.

Our rooms had the most comfortable beds and the furnishings were modern. Bathroom nice and big.

Although the main purpose of our visit was to experience the Dead Sea, we were really impressed with the hotel. It wasn’t because of any one particular feature – you just get an overall sense that it is well run, classy and service oriented. We felt comfortable and relaxed. Could have gladly spent a couple more days there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    476
    156
    65
    64
See reviews for
457
611
111
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

I had stayed here for 1 night at the end of a 5-day trip to Jordan in July 2009. It struck a nerve when the car had to be checked by the security people at the entrance into the hotel compound but I suppose it is better to be safe than sorry. Having said that however, another security check into the hotel building similar to that of an airport security check is quite a pain especially if you just want to get something at a (sundry/souvenir) shop which is located in the same building but just outside the hotel main door (another security check upon re-entry through the main door :-D)

Check-in was smooth. Room was superb, typical of a Marriott, with a very nice view of Dead Sea. Arriving in late afternoon, I managed to catch the sunset view from the balcony of the room (check out the photos :-)). It was simply priceless :-) Breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice.

The hotel is a very nice place to relax and literally get away from it all. Nothing much to do other than lounging, swimming (either in one of the 3 cool pools or in Dead Sea itself), going to the spa and gym. The jelly sandals and Dead Sea mud in the pails on the beach were very useful/helpful.

Plenty of restaurants inside the hotel – had dinner at the Sports Cafe, which was just OK to me.

Overall, a very good hotel, and I would definitely have loved to stay there for a little bit longer than just 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

This was a great resort but a horrible value. The room was expensive for this part of the world but they get away with it because such little competition. But what really got me was the prices in the gift shop. 2 AA batteries - $15! OMG, I paid $8 for 4 AA batteries at a stand in the middle of Petra -where I would expect to pay double. I wanted a pair of goggles so I wouldn't get salt in my eyes while wading in the Dead Sea and the only goggles they sell were for $50!!!!!! Are you kidding me? Needless to say I went w/o goggles and happily got no salt in my eyes.

Aside from the poor value, the resort is very nice. Don't eat outside because the flies were bad as an earlier reviewer posted. Champion Sports Bar was just what I needed for a taste of back home. The resort puts the Dead Sea mud in a container for you to exfoliate before going into the sea which is a nice touch. You will want flip-flops for the pebble beach at the resort. I used the slippers from my room and they worked perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OC_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our two days at the Marriott, but thought that two days was probably long enough. We had booked the cheapest possible room through Octopus Travel on Tripadvisor but, when we arrived, Reception offered to upgrade our room if we were willing to take a twin room. We accepted and had a wonderful room with a view of the pools and the Dead Sea. OK, it was a fairly distant view over trees but far better than overlooking the car park. (There is construction work going on next door, so you certainly would not want to be overlooking this.) The noise insulation was very good, so you heard almost no noise from the pool areas when the balcony door was shut. Each of our twin beds was the size of a standard double, very comfortable with beautiful white linen.

The three pools were well designed, with plenty of seating around. There is one family pool, one which can be used by non-hotel guests and one pool (the infinity pool overlooking the Dead Sea) for adult hotel guests only. We enjoyed the water jets, jacuzzis and evening lighting.

There are several flights of steps down to the beach and bathing area - mainly because the sea level has fallen over the years, I imagine. This shouldn't be a problem for most. It was great fun bathing in the Dead Sea - there were two vats of mud with which to cover oneself (if one so wished!) and a welcome shower to wash off all mud and the rather oily water.

The breakfasts were good. The first morning we ate outside, but we were irritated by the flies so ate inside the following day. Luckily the flies seemed to disappear at night, so we had dinner both nights on the terrace of the Italian restaurant, Il Terrazzo,with views of the twinkling lights on the Israeli side. The food was very good and the service attentive. I did have to ask a second time for my glass of wine but the head waiter was so apologetic that he poured me a huge glass "on the house".

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarJonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Spent two nights at the Marriot and was very pleased by the level of service, the rooms and facilities at the hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant on the whole, and the complex is so large you could explore all day. Three pools I could see (one was adults only - very pleasing to see), plus direct access to a smallish beach and the crystal clear, still, water of the Dead Sea. The beach is quite stony, with salt-crusted rocks all along it - very picturesque, especially at sunset.
We hired a Hertz driver from the hotel to take us on a day trip to Madaba, Mt Nebo and Ma'in baths (these baths are NOT worth the money by the way - avoid; the other two were great). It cost 70JD for the car and driver for the day, and I consider it well worth it. Our driver, Mohammed, was excellent, funny, knowledgeable and really added to the experience.
Tips: *If you go in a busy period, make a booking if you want to eat in the Italian restaurant - we were told there were no tables available, even though it was clear the restaurant was half-empty. I assume lazy guests booked and then didn't bother to show, but they still wouldn't let us in.
*If you want a non-smoking room, make sure you ask for it when you make the booking. We arrived in a busy period and had to spend one night in a smoking room - the room reeked, even though it was extremely clean.
*Lots of mud on the beach -don't waste your money on a spa treatment when you can have a cheap or free mud treatment! There are boys on the beach with buckets of fresh black mud, which they charge you 5JD to access. If you go early or near sunset, the buckets are there but the boys are gone, so help yourself for free.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rizuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

Though short notice like calling them early morning to book, they have managed to arranged everything for us. My boyfriend is picky with the food but he loved the buffet they served. The massage also at the spa is relaxing like you want to stay there for the whole day. And thanks to the lifeguard for giving us souvenirs from the Dead Sea :)) we will definitely go back here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giftedshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

An unexpected night of luxury as this was not on our planned itinary. Lovely hotel, very comfortable rooms, excellent food and the experience of floating in the dea sea.
Only here one night and the weather wasn't great, but the outdoor pool areas looked very nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sweimah hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#6 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#4 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa is set on the shores of the legendary Dead Sea. We are more than simply a hotel; it's a restorative experience in the heart of the world's most celebrated natural wonders. The expansive on-site spa is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, and offers a full menu of treatments and a unique Dead Sea salt pool. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing