We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Spent two nights at the Marriott resort in the Dead Sea on a package that included local champagne. Was an excellent experience overall.

First, about the area - there is no real city anywhere near the hotel. Basically, there are the three dead sea resorts (in Jordan) - Kempinski, Moevenpick and Marriott. All are side by side (but cannot be accessed from a common beach - you have to go out to the lobby and then the slip road). When I booked this place I was really looking for a room at the Moevenpick and was dissappointed when I could not find one. I do not regret booking the Marriott at all.

The room overlooked the pool and had a seaview as well. One thing I would HIGHLY reccommend is trying to avoid a room that overlooks the pool that allows children (there is a pool for adults only - GREAT idea). The other pool can be very noisy during the day.

Breakfast was included and was very good - typical resort buffet breakfast. Had dinner once on the outdoor terrace down by the "grown up pool" - can't remember the name, but it was a great experience. Had to book when we were there as it was Jordanian independence (?) day. Really nice BBQ buffet where you pick the type of meat you want (angus steak, chicken, lamb chops, lobster, prawns...something for everyone) and then you have the choice of grilling it yourself of having it prepared by one of the chefs. Wine was included.

Great place overall. Lots of resteraunts. Only suggestion is avoid the "kiddy" area if you don't have kids. It seems that the hotel was divided into different areas - some for families, and others for singles.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HB_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2008

This is a great hotel! Highly recommended. Problem at check-in with delay of room more than compensated for by room manager. The staff went out of their way to rectify problem producing very satisfied guests. The steak restaurant is fantastic. Very close to Allenby Bridge and Baptism Site. 45 minutes to Mount Nebo. We will, hopefully, return to this great facility.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jag5dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Regrettably we could only spend 2 nights and 1 day here but it was enough to convince us that this is a great place to relax after visiting Jordan's main sights. Good sized rooms with all the comforts expected in a hotel of this category, a choice of several, differently themed, restaurants and an infinity swimming pool which appears to disappear into the Dead Sea itself all add to the overall impression that this is a hotel that aims to be different and better than its counterparts. The staff too are genuinely keen to please, attentive and seem to be excited to be working in a place with a real ambition to be the best.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Derdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This is a lovely resort hotel in a fab location. I had a great room with a balcony overlooking the dead sea - it is in a perfect spot to watch the sun go down. The facilities are great with lots of different options on swimming pools and a lovely spa, a mud application area and steps down into the dead sea. It has quite a few different restaurants so you have plenty of choice on food too. It is a perfect place for chilling out and it is less than an hour from the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

we stayed here for 2 nights- wished we'd stayed longer. loved every minute of this place. supreb location with a number of swimming pools (including an indoor one with water from the dead sea) and directly on the dead sea itself. the experience of going into that 31% salt water (10 times that of any other sea!) has to be experienced to be believed. there's also a spa place- but quite pricey but any standard. there are a number of eating options- including a champions sports bar and quite an upmarket restaurant as well as a buffet style one. i wouldn't rave about the quality of the food however- it was fine. staff are very helpful and friendly and there's quite a lot of historic sites close by to discover- if you can tear yourself from the water and the pampering- like the site of christ's baptism, mount nebo (where moses died) and mosaic-filled madaba

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 1 night. The premises are very stylish and well maintained. Staff were friendly and very attentive. Good choice of food offered. The hotel has a private beach by the Dead Sea as well as swimming pools.
The resort has a very good spa. There is not much to do outside the hotel. The only disadvantage is very high price for using business centre (internet access).

Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Brightrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

I should preface this review by saying that I was married in the gardens of this hotel so I have a somewhat rose-colored view of my experience with this location. However, I have stayed here multiple times over the years so hopefully my opinions will still have some merit. My most recent stay was May 2007, and my first stay was in May 2004.

The hotel is located directly on the banks of the Dead Sea and although there have been a few other hotels built around it since then, in my opinion it is the nicest hotel on the Dead Sea. The staff is dedicated to your comfort and you can always find what you need. The pools are breathtaking, and the view is incredible. They have a private entrance to the Dead Sea where they bring mud for you so you can rub the mud on, let it dry, scrub it off when dry, and then rinse in the Dead Sea for the traditional cleansing bath. It is amazing for your skin and the experience of floating in the water is unlike any other. I rode a camel on the beach and at night we liked to sit on the balcony in the cafe and enjoy the great food, tea, and coffee, and enjoy the view. The hotel occasionally brings in a bellydancer from Turkey or Russia who performs and entertains the guests in a tasteful way.

The rooms have very comfortable furnishings and are relatively spacious and comfortable. The Bridal Suite at my wedding was amazing, including even a balcony to sit and have breakfast, a sitting room, a massive natural stone-covered bathroom, and meals rushed to us from the kitchen to enjoy in private.

For anyone wanting to visit Jordan and the Dead Sea, I would recommend this hotel most definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kristalkareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sweimah hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel Resort
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range: $137 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa is set on the shores of the legendary Dead Sea. We are more than simply a hotel; it's a restorative experience in the heart of the world's most celebrated natural wonders. The expansive on-site spa is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, and offers a full menu of treatments and a unique Dead Sea salt pool. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing