We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good authentic food and friendly service”
Review of Vis a Vis - CLOSED

Vis a Vis
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good authentic food and friendly service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went a Vis a Vis during our stay at the Movenpick by the Dead Sea, as the food at the resort was all international and quite bad, not mentionning over priced! We took the car to Vis a Vis restaurant as we saw the recent review in tripadvisor, and I must say that it was a good decision. After an initial panick as we thought they only had international food, we found a large choice of local jordan food right at the end of the menu (after desert and drinks), and we ordered some traditional mezze as well as mized grilled meat to share. The restaurant was pretty empty, maybe because of the low season, but there was another table of tourist and a couple of local. Food was really good and the waiter who did not speak much English was very nice as he helped us with some arabic words.
I would definitely recommend if you are staying in a nearby resort and want some simple, good and local food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lliline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Probably the only alternative to the expensive and sterile restaurants at the resorts”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The restaurant is easy to find: Right after the check point at the entrance to the resort zone when coming from Amman or the North. It's upstairs from the fast food restaurant Chili Ways. It's in walking distance only from the Holiday Inn. It's about 3 km from the other resorts. There is some shisha smoking in the Restaurant, but no smell of smoke. The decoration is sober and modern. Definitely not the place for a romantic dinner. For two people we had two beers, three appetizers (mezze) and one mixed grill plate. This was enough but not plenty. We paid a reasonable 20 JD. The food was simple but tasty and the service quick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZurichDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I must say...I didn't enjoy my experience at Vis a Vis much but its pretty much the only game in town for a reasonably priced meal outside the Dead Sea hotel. That being said, the food was average at best and the service was slow and mostly unfriendly.

Would not go out of my way to return but wouldn't be surprised if I did.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IntheAirOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crappy service Crappy food And don't go there. And watch out for Mahmoud he's a duche!”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Seriously this was one of the worst dinning experiences available.

Very educational and a great learning experience for every F&B manger to learn what not to do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food, hospitality & location”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Easily walkable from Holiday Inn hotel. Extensive menu, good quality food - my son raved about the milkshake so much that we had to go the Aqaba branch of Vis a Vis the following week to get him another one. Really friendly chatty staff.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vis a Vis also viewed

Sweimah, Dead Sea Region
 
Dead Sea Region, Jordan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing