We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Isola”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Since we come the service was excellent, the boys of the reception and the misses of public relations always was taking care of us. All the personal in the hotel were very nice and efficient, they made us feel better than home. They assigned us a beautiful suite room, very comfortable and clean. The way of entry to the enormous property leads you between hundreds of palms and big tidelands. There is a great garden among the reception and the pool and rooms are distributed in different areas. From the pool and the restaurant there is a beautiful sea and beach view, to go there it's possible to cross the tideland in a boat provided by the hotel. The food and the service of the restaurant were excellent, we really enjoy every meal took there. Ayurveda's treatments were a marvel, my husband took spine care program and he felt a considerable improvement, I took rejuvenation program and it was very good, doctors and therapists were excellent. We love the service.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ROSAMEXICANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2008

I had read wonderful reviews of this hotel/resort and was very much looking forward to my 2 weeks stay with my sister and a friend. Unfortunately, I cannot say that I enjoyed my stay here. I feel this hotel needs a total revamp. We were placed in a Heritage Cottage (we had booked and paid for a std room) and we initially felt happy to have an up-grade. However, the reason for this upgrade was that another guest who had booked and paid for this Heritage Cottage had complained bitterly about the dirty unhealthy room and so the hotel management had moved him to the std room and given us this "heritage" cottage (I thought the up-grade was too good to be true). We could just about manage to stay one night in this cottage which was truly dirty with an outside bathroom (two walls but no ceiling). The toilet itself was green and mouldy, the toilet seat was broken, the basin smelt foul, the shower head was totally green and you could not even see the water spray holes. The bebroom area was dark and the bedding smelt damp. The fridge did not work and nor did the AC. We immediately brought this to the notice of the management (they had already received all the complaints from the previous guest) and we insisted on being moved to another room. After lengthy deliberations and arguments, and after moving to 3 other cottages (all the same as above) we were finally moved to a standard room and we took a sigh of relief as this turned out to be clean although basic. The hotel has a good Ayurvedic centre for massages etc and this is the only luxury we enjoyed at the hotel. The breakfast was never ever ready on time and it was served as if you were on a camp site rather than a hotel. There was no taste to the food and the entire restaurant atmoshpere was drab. The pool area - well what can I say? it was totally shameful. The beds were torn and dirty - and the pool itself was not clean. The area was not swept daily and so there were plenty of flies, ants dry leaves etc. The bar had been closed down and so if you wanted a drink you actually had to walk up to the hotel kitchen which faced the pool area. The staff were few and not too co-operative. The hotel itself is located in a quiet suburban area and although peaceful, the road leading to the hotel is dodgy and uneven and very dark at night as there are no lights. Overall, our stay here was not at all as expected and we would never go back there even if the holiday was largely discounted!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IshaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The hotel suffers as unlike Goa, Kerala seems to have a propensity to rain often (over half of our fortnight) and judging by the amount of lush trees on landing our weeks were not unusual.

The staff do try hard. Some of the waiters and the pool staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Some people on here have complained re not getting the outside bathroom, but the resident rat coming over the wall regularly to use our bidet as a toilet was unnerving. Not a chipmunk - there were plenty of those friendly things everywhere.

The rat was cute to the trap the staff put down - it was too big to fit in it anyway. The wife got used to Roland, but seeing rats scurrying around the edge of the restaurant was more offputting.

Not 4star. Would have given a higher rating if the majority of meals did not have chicken bones left in them.

Great company there though. The guests we met made the trip.
But if you are undecided go to South Goa - ten times better.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEESDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We had been there on our honeymoon and stayed there for two days. But what a delightful stay it was!

The hotel just gives for what it promises... the ambience matches the name... island of coconut, with hundreds of coconut trees around. you can not ask for better ambience with lush green scenery and artificial lake.

as regards the rooms, they are simply marvelous with the specious cotteges with traditional kerelian furniture. and the best feature of the room is the open air bathrooms....... so beautiful intirior and so specious...... its just a thing any honeymoon traveller would love to experience....

the beach is excellent. so is the swimming pool. the staff is very polite and co-operative. you would love the welcome you will receive from the staff.

the only thing which was not upto the mark was the food.

but on the whole.... a very good place to visit, especially for honeymoon couples.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpbarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Nice location....away from rush and nice rooms.
You can stay here if you dont like to party or here for relax.
Much much better from KOVALAM. Enjoyed a lot here, great pool resturent and nice food.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KD-Gurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I have just returned from a lovely holiday staying in this hotel. It is peaceful, quiet, lots of facilities and local knowledge. Within easy reach of busier resorts.

Food was excellent, service a bit slow.

I really enjoyed my stay and would reccommend it to anyone who wanted peace and relaxation

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank preciouspup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Having read the reviews on this site I must admit I arrived feeling slightly anxious as to what exactly I had let myself in for. I needn't have worried, apart from a mishap on the last day we had a wonderful time. The hotel IS isolated but unlike the other hotels in Poovar you can reach it by car albeit down a fairly treacherous muddy road!! Don't be put off though, once there it really is beautiful. We stayed in one of the heritage bungalows quite large but be careful the air conditioning leaked into the wardrobe and there is no other storage space!! The room (number 10) also had an outside bathroom. This didn't cause us any problems with insects unlike some reviewers but the chipmunks did keep eating our soap!! Unfortunately on the last day following torrential rain my friend slipped on the terracotta tiles between the room and the bathroom and fell into the little terrace garden injuring his knee very badly. This could have been prevented with a rubber mat on the floor. I moved the mat from the front of the bungalow but that was a bit like "bolting the stable door". The hotel and our Thomas Cook rep called first the Ayurvedic doctor and then Dr Salim from Poovar who was excellent. It was a shame though that the last day was spoilt for the sake of a rubber mat! We did use the taxis and tuktuks from the front of the hotel - much cheaper than booking through reception. Be warned though they seem to go home about 7, so if like us you suddenly decide to go into Kovalam about 8 you will have no choice than to go with the hotel taxi unless you have booked in advance.
The rep will tell you that there are no restaurants in Poovar, but we ate at a local restaurant and had a lovely meal for 41 rupees (for 2!) including cokes - no alcohol. We also ate at both floating restaurants and had excellent meals, marginally preferring the Sea Queen. We would also recommend "Fusion" in Kovalam where we had a excellent meal. We also ate in the hotel several times. The breakfast buffet was very good, as were the lunch time snacks. Stick to the Indian food in the evening, we found it very good. There is no bar as such but each evening the staff (all excellent) set up a temporary bar by the swimming pool where you can meet and drink, although most people seemed to go out whilst we were there.
Also to be recommended, an excellent lending library by the pool, a very large swimming pool, a boat trip around the hotel great value for 500 rupees, lovely gardens full of birds (crows, woodpeckers, kingfishers to name a few) and chipmunks - great entertainment! We also went to Verga which looks lovely and would definitely like to have had more time to explore there.
If you would like to lay back and relax this is the ideal place to go. It's not that far in Kovalam (about 30-40mins) if you do want shops restaurants etc. If you are a party animal then probably this is not the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SurreySingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.1 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#3 of 3 in Puvar
715 reviews
9.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
988 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
5.4 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#12 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
596 reviews
9.7 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort

Address: Poovar P.O,Trivandrum | Kerala, Puvar 695525, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
("The Island of Coconuts"), a unique heritage resort cosseted by a coconut grove, residing on the banks of the river Poovar, at the juncture where the tranquil river embraces the roaring Arabian sea!. The resort is virtually encircled by water. Here nature offers you her bountiful best - a riverbank, a beach, lakes, ponds and backwaters. Look out from the resort , and you see the river beyond which is the delightful private beach and yonder, the sea. If you dream of relaxing in a heritage room or lying on the beach, lulled by the sound of waves and the rustling of palm fronds stirred by tropical trade winds, then Isola Di Cocco is just right for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Di Cocco Beach Hotel Puvar
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing