We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puvar
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very very very beautiful place and beach view is excellent. Room Service is very quick. amenities r very good. beach view resort. The overall impression was superb. Into the resort gives a spacious feel of freedom. Front desk : The Reception was very receptive. Started with a welcome drink. Was escorted to the room The Room: All the room facilities including functioning of the taps were explained which was a new experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miloni1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco ( The Island of Coconuts)

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, delighted to know that you had a great stay with us. We, a bunch of young & energetic team of Isola Di Cocco always wish to provide our best of care & attention to all our guest needs. Your smile is our satisfaction.

Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your holiday & wish we can host you again here at our resort in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh kumar
General Manager
Isola Di Cocco,Poovar,Trivandrum,Kerala
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com
Mobile: 9567776661

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 657 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had visit this place recently from welcome to check out all the moments are really awesome. Thank you very much for making our stay excellent and romantic. Specially pool side n beach area is perfect to get relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rado1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco ( Island of Coconuts)

Thank you for posting your feedback. We all from the picturesque Isola Di Cocco sincerely thank you for your very encouraging feedback & immensely happy to know that you had a memorable holiday at our resort. Please spread your experience with us among your kits & kins , we look forward to host you again at our resort in the near future.

Thanking you once again for reviewing us.

Warm regards & advance wishes for a Happy New Year!!

Remesh kumar
General Manager
Isola Di Cocco , Poovar,Trivandrum,Kerala.
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com
Mobile :9567776661

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed there for a week during October. It was very nice and relaxing. Nice and spacious room, but humidity was on the high side. Food was very good, but they have problems in ahving enough beer for dinner, when people drink beer duirng the day at the pool.
One has to know though that this is a very lonely place. There is really nothing within walking distance, you do need a car or a tuk-tuk.
We stayed at the 'old' resort in a heritage room. They have now build a new annex with modern rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco - The Island of Coconuts!!!

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it is such a pleasure reading your true account that I have immense pleasure in sharing the same among my team & I am sure it will be a great motivation for everyone here at our beautiful resort. We have noticed your concern over the availability of beer in our resort ,this is mainly because we are promoting health holidays and are trying our best to keep away our guests from these habits & encouraging them to lead a more healthy life style.

We do have a travel desk at our resort & its always a pleasure in assisting our guests to get a taxi or a Tuk Tuk as per their choice.

Thanking you once again for choosing our resort for your holiday & looking forward to host you soon again here at our resort.

Warm regards & advance wishes for a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!!!!


Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Isola Di Cocco - Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Poovar-Kerala-India
gm@isoladicocco.com
Mobile - 09567776661

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is definitely the best resort i've visited till date. It is located on a small island full of coconut trees. On one side you have backwater and on the other side you have the sea. The resort is surrounded by water from three sides. The property is very very big and has a number of rooms. We had stayed in classic pavilion room. The other options are Heritage & tree Houses. The room allotted to us was slightly old and does need some repair works. Still the room was clean and hygienic. On one side the resort were constructing new rooms. The overall ambiance of the at the resort is mind blowing. The facilities at the resort are very good. It has big and clean swimming pool; but with time slots. It is closed after 6.30 pm. The beach next to hotel is very good and boat ride around the resort back water and from resort to sea beach is worth trying.
The manager and staff are responsive. Restaurant is good but it's very expensive.
The resort is really very good but still has scope for improvement. Five star only for the location and excellent view and ambiance on the resort. Restaurant and service can improved to make it a complete five star experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DineshVetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Mr.Dinesh,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco - The Island of Coconuts!!

Thank you for posting your feedback. I have gone through the entire message in detail & found the points as very constructive . Delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us & enjoyed the serene ambiance. However certain points from your feedback were very useful for us to identify the issues e.g the room interior, swimming pool timings,pricy food & service level of our restaurant staff. I assure you that we will take all these points on a very positive way & will take up this to the management's immediate attention that we can solve all these issues in no time.

Thanking you once again for choosing our resort for your holiday & also appreciate for spending your valuable time to review us.

Please do visit us again, recommend us among your friends & relatives.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Isola Di Cocco - Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Poovar - Trivandrum - Kerala - India
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com
Mobile : 9567776661

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had just under two weeks at the hotel and enjoyed the stay immensely – the welcoming staff could not do enough for you
Upon arrival we had a problem with the room – the hotel moved us immediately to another room (62) this room was fault free – not an issue in fairness
The comfortable and spacious rooms together with the large en suit bathroom are cleaned daily .Bedding changed on a very frequent basis and each day a new towel arrange,ment was set out on the beds, beautifully done. .
I particularly like the porch allowing one to sit out and greet other guests as they passed (the first room had a large balcony – but no passing guest traffic )

The full board Package we purchased through Mercury direct included one pint bottle of beer each with both Lunch and dinner – the hotel is otherwise alcohol free
The meals (both choice and quality) were always excellent either from a Buffet or selected from the al cart menu when there were fewer guests in residence


We were the only UK guest resident for most of our stay
80% of the guests are from India – they can at times be a little noisy both late in the evening and early in the morning as they are often extended family groups – that said I enjoyed the opportunity to talk with them increasing my understanding of the country I was visiting
There was also a corporate event taking place on the river side below the pool over two days – this can be a little disruptive and skews the vacation nature of the hotel

The hotel does not have either a bar or coffee shop providing a focal point for the evening post dinner
Entertainment (for example local martial arts demonstrations) was limited to being available on two evenings while we were in residence
Beauty treatments provided on site at a reasonable charge and were well done .
Free good quality WIFI available in the reception area – complementary newspaper in English provided

The grounds are exceptionally well maintained and provide a pleasant evening stroll
The well maintained pool is large and warm with free towels and loungers -- sun shades available

There are NO off site eating opportunities – not even a coffee shop in Poovar

The Hotel provides a free complementary boat across the river to the beach where a 30 minute walk takes you into the fishing village – an interesting way to occupy a morning
From the hotel there are two walks via the coconut groves
1- to the village church on the main road – about 30 minutes through a rural residential area providing an insight into rural India where the children all want to stop and speak on their way home from school
2- To Poovar town about 40 minutes – no tourist shops but interesting insight to Indian life non the less – a Tut Tut back will cost 100 R
Further afield
1 -- We took a three night tour including Cochin, Munnar and the houseboat (an experience not to be missed ) organised through www.keralagreenery.com – better value than via the local agent of the holiday company
2-- We also had the hotel organise a car / driver for us to take a trip to Padmanabhapuram palace, Suchindram temple and Vivekanada rock at the southernmost tip of India –good value at 3200

In brief – delighted to recommend the hotel to a friend

Room Tip: Room 62 has a veranda - room 52 has a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjpickburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Mr.Paul Pickburn,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco!!

Thank you for posting this wonderful feedback. Its really a great motivation & inspiration for the entire team. I was reading your feedback this morning in our meeting & most of the members identified you both immediately & were all praise for your gentle and kind nature. I would say if we could deliver our best of our service its only because of your kind & gentle nature.It was a pleasure meeting you both during your stay with us & we wish genuinely deep from our heart that you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards & thanking you once again for posting your feedback.
Advance wishes for a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!!!!

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Isola Di Cocco - Ayurvedic Beach Resort,
Poovar - Trivandrum - Kerala - India
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com
Mobile : 9567776661

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

To begin with I must say that the location is fantastic, right on the river and a 1 min boat ride to the beach/ ocean.

The Heritage rooms are basic, I was first given a room where the AC, door lock, and TV ( btw the TV issue did not really bother me...) did not work properly and no tea coffee maker placed ,, when I called the reception the line was crackling with lot of static....on the first call they said they would be sending a technician ...who didnt show up for 15 + minutes, finally after a couple of calls we escalated and the Manager came over, they tried to fix the door lock and AC....but to no avail....I must add that at the onset the manager did offer to change our room....but I didnt want the bother...if they could fix the things I was fine.. The AC technician got the thing working but the temp would not change, it would not go off or on etc...now the Technician starts explaining how an AC works and how the room temp has been set and basically telling me that I was not aware..thats when I had to say " please show me the other room" and they did ! In The new room thankfully everything worked :-) Point is that please check the rooms BEFORE you allot on to your guests.

I cheked in on 28th nov and on 29th and 30th the main pool was not avaiailable due to maintenance....what a waste..they asked us to go to the smaller pool (mainly for foreigners long stay guests) this is a small pool but atleast they could provide additonal pool side chairs and towels...no one was there to facilitate this.

Also for some reason the hotel guys are very picky about timings.......breakfast is from 7am to 10am.....on day 1 at 9:17 i got a call asking me if i had had bfast, and if not i shoud have it immediately as they will close at 10.....when we went to consult the doctor for some massage etc....we couldnt get a slot as required since they would go for lunch from 1pm to 2pm.....please understand that people on holiday normally dont work by the clock.....Please understand that if i miss bfast so be it.....dont call and bug me about it.

I thinnk this resort is primarily to cater to foreign tourists who come for long stays and indians are kind of given the cold shoulder.

Two stars only for the location and the nice gentleman who ferried us to and from the beach in the boat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Varun1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good:
- Nice layout and location
- Very nice beach side
- their GM responds to my note I wrote in the customer book
Bad
- Restaurant food
Ugly
- all Restaurant tables had hundreds of ants all over, hygiene issue
- Prejudiced behaviour found in restaurant staff, they seem to discriminate service between Indian nationals and foreigner customers

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naresh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.1 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#3 of 4 in Puvar
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Havelia Island Resort
5.4 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#10 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 53 in Kovalam
1,062 reviews
9.7 mi away
Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort

Address: Poovar P.O,Trivandrum | Kerala, Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range: $80 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
("The Island of Coconuts"), a unique heritage resort cosseted by a coconut grove, residing on the banks of the river Poovar, at the juncture where the tranquil river embraces the roaring Arabian sea!. The resort is virtually encircled by water. Here nature offers you her bountiful best - a riverbank, a beach, lakes, ponds and backwaters. Look out from the resort , and you see the river beyond which is the delightful private beach and yonder, the sea. If you dream of relaxing in a heritage room or lying on the beach, lulled by the sound of waves and the rustling of palm fronds stirred by tropical trade winds, then Isola Di Cocco is just right for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Di Cocco Beach Hotel Puvar
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing