We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight for the honeymoon travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We had been there on our honeymoon and stayed there for two days. But what a delightful stay it was!

The hotel just gives for what it promises... the ambience matches the name... island of coconut, with hundreds of coconut trees around. you can not ask for better ambience with lush green scenery and artificial lake.

as regards the rooms, they are simply marvelous with the specious cotteges with traditional kerelian furniture. and the best feature of the room is the open air bathrooms....... so beautiful intirior and so specious...... its just a thing any honeymoon traveller would love to experience....

the beach is excellent. so is the swimming pool. the staff is very polite and co-operative. you would love the welcome you will receive from the staff.

the only thing which was not upto the mark was the food.

but on the whole.... a very good place to visit, especially for honeymoon couples.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpbarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 636 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2008

Nice location....away from rush and nice rooms.
You can stay here if you dont like to party or here for relax.
Much much better from KOVALAM. Enjoyed a lot here, great pool resturent and nice food.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KD-Gurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I have just returned from a lovely holiday staying in this hotel. It is peaceful, quiet, lots of facilities and local knowledge. Within easy reach of busier resorts.

Food was excellent, service a bit slow.

I really enjoyed my stay and would reccommend it to anyone who wanted peace and relaxation

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank preciouspup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Having read the reviews on this site I must admit I arrived feeling slightly anxious as to what exactly I had let myself in for. I needn't have worried, apart from a mishap on the last day we had a wonderful time. The hotel IS isolated but unlike the other hotels in Poovar you can reach it by car albeit down a fairly treacherous muddy road!! Don't be put off though, once there it really is beautiful. We stayed in one of the heritage bungalows quite large but be careful the air conditioning leaked into the wardrobe and there is no other storage space!! The room (number 10) also had an outside bathroom. This didn't cause us any problems with insects unlike some reviewers but the chipmunks did keep eating our soap!! Unfortunately on the last day following torrential rain my friend slipped on the terracotta tiles between the room and the bathroom and fell into the little terrace garden injuring his knee very badly. This could have been prevented with a rubber mat on the floor. I moved the mat from the front of the bungalow but that was a bit like "bolting the stable door". The hotel and our Thomas Cook rep called first the Ayurvedic doctor and then Dr Salim from Poovar who was excellent. It was a shame though that the last day was spoilt for the sake of a rubber mat! We did use the taxis and tuktuks from the front of the hotel - much cheaper than booking through reception. Be warned though they seem to go home about 7, so if like us you suddenly decide to go into Kovalam about 8 you will have no choice than to go with the hotel taxi unless you have booked in advance.
The rep will tell you that there are no restaurants in Poovar, but we ate at a local restaurant and had a lovely meal for 41 rupees (for 2!) including cokes - no alcohol. We also ate at both floating restaurants and had excellent meals, marginally preferring the Sea Queen. We would also recommend "Fusion" in Kovalam where we had a excellent meal. We also ate in the hotel several times. The breakfast buffet was very good, as were the lunch time snacks. Stick to the Indian food in the evening, we found it very good. There is no bar as such but each evening the staff (all excellent) set up a temporary bar by the swimming pool where you can meet and drink, although most people seemed to go out whilst we were there.
Also to be recommended, an excellent lending library by the pool, a very large swimming pool, a boat trip around the hotel great value for 500 rupees, lovely gardens full of birds (crows, woodpeckers, kingfishers to name a few) and chipmunks - great entertainment! We also went to Verga which looks lovely and would definitely like to have had more time to explore there.
If you would like to lay back and relax this is the ideal place to go. It's not that far in Kovalam (about 30-40mins) if you do want shops restaurants etc. If you are a party animal then probably this is not the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SurreySingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Much has been written about the relative remoteness and character of this 'resort' and how these match the differing expectations of those who have stayed here. The name 'Isola' should be a clue as to the nature of the location, which feels more like an eco lodge development with relatively small scale buildings set amongst a densely planted and natural feeling site.
The use of the word 'resort' is misleading as it suggests a larger scale of development than actually exists. However, if you are looking for peace and quiet in a natural setting with good local food and excellent Ayuverdic facilities then the Isola Di Cocco will not disappoint.
The accommodation on offer varies from large standard rooms in 2 storey blocks to various more characterful bungalows and a tree house. We had no choice but to take a standard room as a large group of trainee Yoga teachers had taken all of the bungalows. Everywhere is very clean and well maintained by Indian standards. Air conditioning is gently effective and supplemented by wall fans.
The central facilities are limited to an attractive restaurant, large pool with spa jets at the shallow end, poolside bar, pool table and small gift shop but the Ayuverdic centre stands out. This is very well staffed and equipped offering a wide range of traditional health treatments as well as beauty treatments.
Staff throughout the Isola are friendly and courteous, service was relaxed rather than slow or inefficient, I suggest you go with the flow and relax to their pace rather than timing how long it takes to get a drink or a sandwich. Do not be surprised if they run out of beer, alcohol is not a priority to the locals, unlike us sad stressed westerners, and they will get some more just as soon as the boat gets here.
There are two adjoining hotels, which you would not be aware of unless you sought them out, the Estuary Island and Poovar Island. The Estuary is a large conventional hotel building on a much smaller plot than Isolla Di Cocco and the Poovar is a much larger development of varying building types with very well tended gardens. All three are quite different in character.
There are also two floating restaurants just off the river frontage of the Estuary Island and Poovar Island. We ate at Stephen's one night and had excellent fish, (Barracuda), again very friendly and well recommended. Stephen's keep a small boat waiting at the river wall of the Isola between 6.30 and 9.00 rather than just relying on torch waving.
Some of our fellow guests ventured into Kovalam and likened it to typical Spanish Costa commercialism. If you want this kind of tack then I suggest you stay in Kovalam rather than go to the Isola and complain there is 'nothing' there. Some of us are very glad that there is 'nothing' there.
We took two of Thomas Cook's own trips; one to Kanyakumari, (Land's End & Gandhi Memorial), Suchindrum Temple and Padmanabapuram Palace; the second to Ponmudi Tea Plantation and a spice plantation. All were well organised, limited to 8-9 people, well away from tourists and excellently lead by local guide Muyti. Each cost around £20pp which included entrance fees and lunches. Lunch at the spice plantation was excellent.
The hotel organised a 1 hour canoe trip around the local backwaters for us for 500 rupees. The staff member who punted us around was very helpful and we saw three different kinds of Kingfisher as well as various Eagles and Kites. The Isola's grounds are home to a large population of crows and chipmunks, both of which will take any food left outside, even around the pool. In addition to the crows, there are many other birds whose night calls give the grounds a suitably tropical atmosphere.
Our weather was hot with two or three 'unseasonal' evening thunderstorms. This did not affect what we did although we were stuck in the bar until the rain subsided enough to walk to our room.
To sum up, don't try to impose European values on India and enjoy this wonderful continent and people for what they have to offer. If you want a tranquil base from which to see the very southern tip of this fabulous country then the Isola is well recommended. Otherwise, if you want tourist traps and western 'facilities' then I suggest you stick to somewhere closer to your cultural home.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Having had time to reflect on our visit to the Isola Di Cocco we wanted to post a review letting everyone know what a wonderful hotel this is. We had a very relaxing stay, if anything too relaxing as we kept staying in the hotel rather than touring.
Our room [standard] was large and well fitted no complaints. the standard of service and " being looked after " was fantastic.
The food at the hotel was very good we mainly eat a la carte at the restauraunt choosing from the Indian section of the extensive menu. Each and every dish was wonderful. well cooked and good portions. We did try the buffet , but did not think the standard was as good. Breakfasts were wonderful with a very large choice.
Whist lounging at the poolside we were very well looked after by the pool side staff.
The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and a pleasure to wander around.
We visited Stephens boat for dinner, a few times, a great adventure and the food was good.
The taxis and phut phut's were good although quite expensive it was strange realising that a journey had a cost irrespective of the time taken. The cost is the same whether you pop to a shop our go somewhere for the day.
We went on a rice boat tour which was very good and memorable.
A wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank devonciderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We had planned a two-week holiday in Sri Lanka which fell through at the last minute due to Tamil Tiger problems, so everything about Kerala was a surprise!

We loved the hotel - the Heritage room we had was great - fronting on a small lake and the river with masses of wildlife. The room was comfortable and really large. The outside bathroom was fine - and the resident geckos were very efficient at catching insects. Everything worked - short power cuts were frequent but no problem. Every evening we were visited at around 7pm by a man swinging a portable brazier which he waved around our room and bathroom. It was smokey and pungent, but kept the mosquitoes at bay!

The food was good - we ate a la carte at lunchtime and from the buffet in the evening. In our two weeks, we had 5 different evening entertainments - all low key and good standard.

The swimming pool was brilliant - huge and rectangular, so I could really enjoy a decent swim. This was important as we were warned off the beach by other guests reporting aggressive locals on the beach, and a strong undertow making swimmimg dangerous. As we never went to the beach, I can't comment further. We did go on the hour-long boat trip around the grounds - and really enjoyed it. The grounds are full of colourful birds and butterflies, and dinky little three-stripe squirrels. The pool area is clean and there is masses of room. Full marks to the pool attendants who are quick to provide towels and umbrellas. The small library by the pool was well patronised.

We went on two organised trips. The first was to an elephant festival and was really excellent. We had a good guide and a great roof-top vantage point. The second was a trip to the cape via the wooden palace and the monkey temple. We enjoyed the sights, but our four travelling companions were a nightmare. They moaned at us the minute we got into the minibus because our hotel was so remote, and refused to look round the Ghandi memorial so our trip became increasingly stressful. My partner nearly came to blows with them over lunch when they started professing seriously racist views.

Learning from this experience, we used local taxis for other trips - and enjoyed our day in Trivandrum where we found lots to look at. The entrance fees are very low - only 10 rupees each for the Zoo and 5 each for the Napier Museum.

We wanted solitude and comfort and lack of stress, and Isola di Cocco certainly provided this. Some guests spent every day going to Kovolam for shops and beaches, but we didn't find the need for a single visit there. The only downside was some really unseasonal rain which was causing serious problems with the local rice harvest. However it was always warm and the weather never stopped us enjoying ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank banham-canary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.1 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#3 of 3 in Puvar
735 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#12 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
608 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,036 reviews
9.7 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort

Address: Poovar P.O,Trivandrum | Kerala, Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range: $79 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
("The Island of Coconuts"), a unique heritage resort cosseted by a coconut grove, residing on the banks of the river Poovar, at the juncture where the tranquil river embraces the roaring Arabian sea!. The resort is virtually encircled by water. Here nature offers you her bountiful best - a riverbank, a beach, lakes, ponds and backwaters. Look out from the resort , and you see the river beyond which is the delightful private beach and yonder, the sea. If you dream of relaxing in a heritage room or lying on the beach, lulled by the sound of waves and the rustling of palm fronds stirred by tropical trade winds, then Isola Di Cocco is just right for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Di Cocco Beach Hotel Puvar
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing