We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poovar Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Another India”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellent pick up from airport and transfer to resort. Accommodation not as expected and needs updating (floating cottages). Was upgraded but still could not describe as luxury.
Overall service of staff was excellent. Food was varied and very good.
The location of the resort is very good if you want a laid back, quiet holiday (which we did) but might suit families with small children. The isolation of the resort gives you a different aspect to India and is not like the India of the cities and other hotels. If you did not leave the resort you wouldn't know that you had been in India. Excellent service provided by the catering staff, the housekeeping staff and particularly the customer service manager (Vivek Nair) and the general manager.

Room Tip: go for a land apartment rather than a floating cottage as they have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmcpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    330
    129
    58
    66
See reviews for
363
380
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Poovar Island resort for 2 nights last October. The resort is located in the middle of a beautiful back water surrounding and the only approach is through the resort's shuttle boat service (which runs frequently & on request). The resort's waterfront is lined by a row of floating cottages at either sides of the quay. The main building is located after a few hundred yards from the quay. The reception area is average followed by the pool, which to me looked a bit un-inviting, perhaps because of its small size and lots of crowd around.

The rooms at first sight appear above average in aesthetics and most rooms come with their own balcony with a hammock. We were travelling as a group of 4 and had requested for 2 adjacent rooms. One of the rooms alloted to us had a distinctive smell and we requested a change. They were happy to show us other vacant rooms but when we didn't like any of the rooms (for one reason or the other), they upgraded us (free of charge) to the floating cottages.

The idea of floating cottages was interesting at first as it offered a great view of the backwater and the beach in a distance. After a while, the wobbling of the cottage with waves created by passing motor boats made it a bit annoying.

Coming to room-service, as the floating cottages were a good 200m away from the restaurant, the service was very slow (they made this clear at the beginning itself).

The restaurant serves a buffet dinner and has a limited Ala Carte menu. Food was decent. Breakfast buffet spread was good with a live Dosa counter and Eggs to order.

The Poovar beach is a 5 min boat ride away. We went there early morning but as it was jelly fish season, the beach was littered with many purple jelly fish carcasses.

We didn't spend much time there as it wasn't a very pleasant place.

The resort boatmen offered to take us on back-water trips and several other activities (for a charge) but we didn't have time for that as we were heading to KanyaKumari (~90km from the resort).

To sum up, a decent resort, but can do better in terms of overall cleanliness of the property to deserve one more star in the review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0hitKatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had the please of staying at the resort while having a company function. before I get to the hotel I will cover what the trip to get there is like. From the airport its a 45 - 90 Min ride depending on traffic and then you are dropped of in a car part with a Jetty and if you are lucky a waiting boat. then you have a 20 Min ride down the back waters to the resort, this might be nice in day time but at 11pm its not too pleasant.

While trying to check in (group of 6) we were trying to find out if there was a bar where we could get a drink, It turns out the bar closed at 10:30, but there was a mini bar. the whole group was taken to the villas with only four rooms so two of us had to walk all the way back to reception to get directions to the correct rooms.

Once in my room i find there is only water and coke in the mini bar!!

The rooms were ok, my shower door had broken and never been replaced, to there was the mountings left on the rails with bits of broken glass in it. there was some damp in my room which is to be expected. There was luke warm water for the whole time I was there never hot. No Wifi in rooms.

Buffet was the shining star of the resort, the Bar only serves beer and wine no hard alcohol.

not the place for a business function, would be ok for a passing stay for a few days on a holiday only. Nice grounds, nice pool.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Dulux room or villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We returned yesterday from a trip to Poovar Island, what a great holiday! Admittedly it's a long way to go, but if you choose your flights carefully and don't have too long to wait in Dubai, it's worth the trip.
The transfer by boat, after an hour in the cool air-conditioned taxi, will give you some idea od the area. The peaceful waters of the bay will welcome you to a shady and calming atmosphere at Poovar Island Resort. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone.
The site it's self is extensive, with cottages either floating in the bay or set in small groups with boardwalks connecting them. All of the cottages have a view through the palms to the bay. The cottages all have shady verandas with seating and a hammock. The air-conditioning in the rooms is very effective, but will suffer sometimes from the power cuts that happen regularly, the plus is that they only last a few seconds.
The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and the shower efficient.
The pool area doesn't have much shade, but there are plenty of parasols over the loungers.
I cant praise the chef or his staff enough, the menu in the restaurant is advisory sometimes. If there is nothing that you can eat at any time, or you have a particular anniversary that you would like to mark, just have a word with him. He's great.
If curry or spicy food is not your idea of heaven, just have a word with him.
While you are there take a trip around the mango swamp that surrounds the area. For a few pounds it will take you back into a different world that existed millennia ago. You will see kingfishers, kites, eagles and all sorts of birds that you've only seen before on the TV.
One of the other daily trips from the jetty is over on to the massive sand bank the protects the bay from the Arabian Sea. The waves are massive, and crash on to the bank. There isn't much over there but its worth a look.
As corporate events take place at the resort it can be a bit noisy sometimes. But like all of those type of events they don't last long.
If you are looking for a restful holiday away from the world, I would certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms still have a bath, not a shower. You can ask for either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in the floating cottages, the experience was really out of this world. The food was amazing and the SPA was fabulous. The ride to the resort on the backwaters are enjoyable and refreshing. The beach infront of the floating cottages was a great view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anujit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you like romantic places, this hotel is perfect. It has bungalows by the lake Poovar, right in front of the beach. To get there you have to take a boat through the backwaters, what means that it is peaceful. Luxurious rooms and perfect service

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eviña T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just stayed in the Poovar Island Resort in a floating cottage. I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor and was quite apprehensive about the cleanliness etc. However, it was clean but a little run down and needed some TLC.

I found the cottage to be a brilliant experience - as the sun set you felt that you were in a David Attenborough programme. All the birds, bats, fish and people were out and about and I found it mesmerising.

The food was very authentic and plenty of it. The staff were excellent. The service a little slow but always friendly.

There was no real bar area or places to sit with friends, however, I was glad to get back to the cottage to watch the stars.

Great fun - take some Cilit Bang with you.

Room Tip: If you go to the floating cottage you may wish to pack some cleaning products.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillianN91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.1 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#3 of 3 in Puvar
677 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
10.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
918 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
584 reviews
9.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poovar Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poovar Island Resort

Property: Poovar Island Resort
Address: K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poovar Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped in serene Kerala backwaters, flanked by the Arabian Sea on the East and the majestic towering Ghats to the West, opening out to the ocean and a dream golden beach, Poovar Island Resort is a tropical paradise. Swaying coconut palms, endless golden sands, the ultramarine of the ocean, emerald backwaters, crimson sunsets and lush green vegetation create a magical ambiance around you. It is the ideal remote getaway location for a quiet holiday in spectacular natural surroundings. You can choose between floating cottages and land cottages for accommodation and enjoy a boat cruise along the palm-fringed shores of bewitching backwaters.Poovar Island Resort has 78 cottages offering a range of accommodation options. 56 rooms can be used as triples. The bathrooms come equipped with Jacuzzis, bathtubs or rain showers. 48 rooms come with a hammock in the terrace.(78 rooms - 39 Land Cottages, 10 Ayurveda Land Cottages, 05 Superior Land Cottages, 08 Premium Cottages, 12 Floating Cottages & 04 Ayurveda Floating Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Poovar Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovar Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Hotel Poovar Island
Poovar Trivandrum
Poovar Island Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing