We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people and lovely ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poovar Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puvar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went for a short trip to Trivandrum to visit my parents. Though it was our native we have never discovered these places. Since we are from Dubai, we wanted to spend somedays with nature. Poovar was the best place we found, not only the nature but also the service offered from the reception to the restaurant.

It is the best place to enjoy the nature.

Room Tip: Since not much of lights in some places, better to avoid roaming much in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashamenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are happy that you found the hotel services up to your satisfaction. As a team, we try and provide a service with a smile within the best of our abilities. We are truly blessed with the best team in business.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with everyone. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We greatly Value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Poovar Island Resort soon.

Kind Regards
Jaykumar
M: 09895095883
Email . gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in Kerala staying at the poovar island resort.
Fantastic hotel, staff couldn,t do enough for you and the food was out of this world if you
like asian food. Beautiful part of india, much more traditional than Goa, not many westerners
but the whole experience was amazing. Poovar island resort not a beachy holiday but
we saw so much more of everyday local life. Kovalam is the nearest beach ,bit like the madness in Baga but on a smaller scale!!!!Check out the pizzeria, they do the best vegi biriani in the world!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel very quiet, land cottages are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are happy that you found the hotel services up to your satisfaction. As a team, we try and provide a service with a smile within the best of our abilities. We are truly blessed with the best team in business.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with everyone. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We greatly Value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Poovar Island Resort soon.

Kind Regards
Jaykumar
M: 09895095883
Email . gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I will attempt to write this review in a sequential manner from start to end. Poovar Island Jetty is 30ish kms away from the Airport / station and is a 1 hour Rs 800 Taxi (Indica Non AC) ride. I reached the Jetty at about 7:30 pm and it was all dark - barely could see anything. Just like any other resort - I was trying to search for the reception and only 10 mins later did I realize that I am on a Jetty and the actual resort is a 20 min boat ride away. I got myself a boat managed by the resort and 20 mins later reached the place. It was a warm welcome by the staff - they made me feel comfortable and homely, the checkin experience was probably one of the best I had. Unlike other hotels / resorts where they make you stand at the reception, ask for zillions of signatures, copies of your passport, i-card etc and only 20 tiring minutes later you are allowed to you room - Poovar Island only asked for my name and immediately escorted me to the room. From the reception to your room - you pass by a swimming pool - its a smallish swimming pool cum Bar cum hang out area (see the pic below). I had booked myself a standard room - they have 3 variants of rooms depending on how much you want to spend - but the standard room was also fine. It was not one of the best rooms that I had stayed in - but just about OK ish. If you are travelling as a couple / honeymoon you might want to avoid the standard room as it shares a wall with the adjacent room and you can hear the television from the other room. They also have the floating villas which are the best (see pic), the give you direct view of the backwarters and a very good balcony to spend 3/4 hours just doing nothing. The water villas are very good to relax - although they are NOT very private - passing by boats also have a very good view of your room specially when its dark and your lights are ON. The place has a smallish and comfortable restaurant which serves very good food (see pic) - a smallish conference room for meetings etc and also a very good Ayurveda spa. As compared to the other properties in and around Poovar - in my judgement Poovar Island Resort is the best one owing to its location and specially the water villas.

They also take you for a evening sunset cruise - which is a good comfortable relaxing boat ride. Check out some of the pics below to get a feel.

Some tips - ensure you call up the reception to make sure the boat is arranged to / fro from the jetty. It gets very dark and scary for some if you have a boat ride post evening. Post 8 pm - boats to the jetty are available on request only - so if you have a flight to catch - make sure you have an additional buffer of at least 30 mins.

The jetty is NOT accessible by public transport - so either you get your own cab - or use the resort cab which will charge Rs 1322 - Maruti Ertiga AC.

In all - a good property to spend 2 odd days. Recommended for Honeymooners as well.

Room Tip: Water Villas are definitely the best rooms offering one of the most scenic views of the backwarters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SachinDoshi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

The team at The Poovar Island Resort joins me in thanking you for your compliments.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we appreciate you sparing time and positing a motivating review on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to the pleasure of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you
Jaykumar
M.9895095883
E.gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Pros: Their sunset cruise is out of the world! Greenery all around.. coconut trees.. floating resorts here and there.. beach on the other side.. sea breeze running fingers through your hair.. suddenly turns to dark azure clouds.. making coconut trees look pale green.. drizzle starts kissing your face haphazardly.. and finally a downpour when you are almost near the sea.. boat goes up and down.. slightly scary but a thrilling experience. The hotel can be visited for their sunset cruise alone! Cons: by the way they don't have a great service at housekeeping etc. - people from housekeeping bang the door really hard 4 times which was slightly unpleasant.. hence the 4 out of 5 rating

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srilakshmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Poovar Island Resort is world out of this world. This is amazingly awesome place to relax and enjoy the Nature and what Kerala has to offer to you. Every staff is so courteous and customer focused.

Stayed in Floating cottage; Amazing experience. Only downside is lot of sand pass into the room as the pathway is sandy not gravelled. The cottages are old, needs bit of upgrade with new technology, change the looks into heritage. Next time may stay in Premium Cottage.

Aranya in Resturant(F&B) is outstanding, looking after every guest with so much care. Head Chef of the hotel was taking personel care of each food and every food was prepared with great passion.

Just amazing Resort in Poovar. Will definately come back again and again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yog4578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

The team at The Poovar Island Resort joins me in thanking you for your compliments.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we appreciate you sparing time and positing a motivating review on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to the pleasure of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you
Jaykumar
General Manager
E.gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in
P.98950 95883

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

'Out of the world' as the resort caption goes....this one's sure to give you a charming holiday. Its an island tucked away from the hustle bustle of city...with sea and river side by side. Hardly 30 km from Trivandrum city, its conveniently located also.
Provision for some more outdoor activity in resort is welcome....

Room Tip: Floating cottages render a nice view of the sea, eventhough i ve stayed in land cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilal_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

The team at The Poovar Island Resort joins me in thanking you for your compliments.

It was pleasure to know that you have liked our resort . Your comments regarding the out door activity has been noted. We will surely take the corrective measures.

We look forward to the pleasure of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you
Jaykumar
General Manager
Poovar Island Resort
Trivandrum
E.gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in
P.09895095883

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at this place as a part of our Kerala trip. The resort is located in an island in Poovar and in order to get to there you have to go via a 15 min boat ride. The boat runs every 30 mins from the resort to the jetty. This is the only way to get to the city is using this service.

The resort is fairly big in size and various facilities such as spa, pool, etc are present. We took advantage at the Ayurvedic village and it had an amazing ambience coupled with awesome treatments. The rooms are fairly large and comfortable.

Now comes the best part - the staff. My wife was shivering and feeling unwell with dizziness. I was a bit worried whether she had contracted Malaria, Dengue, etc. At around 11 in the night, her condition got even worse. It was raining heavily and there was no way I could go outside to a pharmacy (boat service stops in the night). I went to the reception and there was a lady who gave me medicine which helped my wife. I then asked for hot water and she had a steam which calmed her down. Never in our life did we encounter such a situation and when we finally did, the staff stepped up and took good care of us.

The breakfast is pretty good, infact the best we had in Kerala.

Unfortunately we could not explore the resort properly as we were there for a day due to obvious reasons. However, my wife got well the next morning which was enough for me. I thank the staff (Swabhim + reception) for making our stay a memorable one. We will definitely visit this resort on a different location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nirajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are happy that you found the hotel services up to your satisfaction. As a team, we try and provide a service with a smile within the best of our abilities. We are truly blessed with the best team in business.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with everyone. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We greatly Value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Poovar Island Resort soon.

Kind Regards
Jaykumar
M: 09895095883
Email . gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.1 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#3 of 4 in Puvar
779 reviews
0 mi away
Havelia Island Resort
9.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#11 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
625 reviews
10 mi away
Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam
9.2 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 53 in Kovalam
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poovar Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poovar Island Resort

Address: K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range: $66 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poovar Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped in serene Kerala backwaters, flanked by the Arabian Sea on the East and the majestic towering Ghats to the West, opening out to the ocean and a dream golden beach, Poovar Island Resort is a tropical paradise. Swaying coconut palms, endless golden sands, the ultramarine of the ocean, emerald backwaters, crimson sunsets and lush green vegetation create a magical ambiance around you. It is the ideal remote getaway location for a quiet holiday in spectacular natural surroundings. You can choose between floating cottages and land cottages for accommodation and enjoy a boat cruise along the palm-fringed shores of bewitching backwaters.Poovar Island Resort has 78 cottages offering a range of accommodation options. 56 rooms can be used as triples. The bathrooms come equipped with Jacuzzis, bathtubs or rain showers. 48 rooms come with a hammock in the terrace.(78 rooms - 39 Land Cottages, 10 Ayurveda Land Cottages, 05 Superior Land Cottages, 08 Premium Cottages, 12 Floating Cottages & 04 Ayurveda Floating Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poovar Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovar Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Hotel Poovar Island
Poovar Trivandrum
Poovar Island Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing