We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estuary Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estuary Island
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on this hotel for 2 nights, its wonderful resort, the service was excellent , i enjoyed the perfect location, swimming pool was clean, food was nice.
If you are visiting Puvar then dont miss this heaven resort

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redland_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable experience and that our service offerings were at par with your expectations. Our resort’s close proximity to the beach makes it an excellent choice to relax and unwind. We are glad that you were impressed with our location. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with the entire team, it has heightened their morale and pushes them to go that extra mile and offer the best in terms of hospitality to our discerning guests.

Thank you for your custom and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    225
    90
    53
    40
See reviews for
300
205
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

There is no denying the locational excellence of the Estuary Island Resort!

But this is where all good things come to an end. Alas!

Smelly Rooms (we had to change one of our Rooms)! Unclean Bathrooms. Torn and smelly towels. Dank rooms compounded with the indifferent staff made our holiday here an unpleasant experience.

I had almost decided to change hotels after our first night but held on as almost all hotels at Kovalam were sold out.

We actually enjoyed a day out in Trivandram (something that was not in our original itinerary) and steeled ourselves to face the Hotel the 2nd night. Such was the depressing nature of walking back to the room.

I should have listened to my instincts and moved to another hotel. Any hotel! They had an Outdoor event, sponsored by Kingfisher, and the music blasted away all the way till 1.00 p.m. This is a RESORT, for heaven’s sake! Not a Rave Party!

The Dining Experience is unpalatable and we went without breakfast (paid for breakfast, mind you) for 2 days. Couldn't bear to walk in to a Dining Hall cluttered with food strewn on the floor, with children gleefully kicking the food around under the indolent care of their eve-loving parents.

They can do wonders with this property, should the owners want to invest in it, and can attract a better clientele.

We looked forward to catching our flight back to Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abh1j1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for allowing us to welcome you at our resort and sharing your experience on this public forum.

Estuary Island Resort is a sought after leisure retreat in Kerala and caters to travelers from different parts of the world. We are happy to know that you liked our location however we regret that you were inconvenienced during your stay with us. I assure you that this is not a usual occurrence at our resort and have personally shared your review with the entire team for which corrective measures will be taken at the earliest.

Guest feedback is very important to us as it helps us in strengthening our service offerings. We hope that this experience will not deter you from giving us another chance to welcome you with a perfect stay at Estuary Island Resort.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Awesome experience of staying here in Estuary Island, great view of lake+River+Beach (We have stayed in Deluxe view room), very comfortable Room, good food, customer friendly staff.
We had a complimentay boating to estuary island as warm welcome.
We have planned this trip from Bangalore for 3 Nights (but It will be good if we plan 2 Nights).
Below plan would be good if you plan to visit Poovar.

1st Day, Stay in Estuay Resort enjoy the hospitality and Gold sand beach oppst to resort and go for boating. front view of Estuary will be good you can see the entire beach from resort garden.( poovar Island and other resorts are not having this much good view).
2nd Day, plan to go Trivendram and kovalam Beach , back to resort .
3rd Day early morning enjoy the beach and complete ur trip.

Suggestions : Garden view rooms have good view than delux view room.
If u wanna enjoy more u can extend your trip to kochi and allappe from poovar on 3rd day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AravindSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is a pleasure to know that our amenities and service delivery were at par with your expectations. Also, that our location added value to your stay experience.

Your appreciation about our service offerings and associates will definitely inspire them to go that extra mile while serving our discerning guests. We thank you again for sharing your honest and valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Really Amazing experience of staying here in this Hotel, Beautiufll Estuary view, very comfortable Room, good food, we can had a good time sitting of the chair near sit , talk and just recall every moments we had spend in our kerala tour. But yes, here the Main Swming pool is back side, which we missed, and we got to see when we were moving out of the hotel from the Road side. which disjointed us.

Room Tip: you better make confirmation before you start eating the thing kept in the room, or u will be charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paresh_S_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review on this public platform. Situated amidst breathtaking location, Estuary Island Resort provides homely comfort to its guests. It gives us immense pleasure to note that you found the stay experience amazing. We are glad that all our efforts to offer you a perfect stay as per your expectations was realised and you were impressed with our various service offerings.

Again, we thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Everything is nice . Food is ok ok for for veg. Hotel and staff are nice . We r 3 couple enjoying in hotel for 2 nights in diwali holidays. Room r nice . But food is just ok not enjoying food but resort was very good . Rooms and activities r nice. In hotel one ride free for beach by hotel boat and one side for pickup or drop by boat .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with travel community on TripAdvisor. Estuary Island Resort is an ideal getaway in Poovar that provides guests a comforting experience. It is a delight to know that you liked the various aspects of our resort including rooms, boat ride and friendly services. However, we did notice your dining concern and assure you that corrective measures have been taken.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

After reading the reviews and viewing the videos, I had very high expectation from this one. While the location was true to what I seen on reviews, the experience got bitter after the service we received. We spent 3 nights with family and booked a garden view. But knowing that the distance from garden view to restaurant was quiet a bit, I requested for a change closer to the restaurant since I had aged parents. They upgraded me to a cottage and my problems started. The upgrade process started in the afternoon and litterlly ended next day post which I gave up!!!. Though they moved me in 2 hours, there were constant irritants like air conditioner was not functioning, sand on the bed sheets, no towels, no door mats in bathing room, no toiletries....finally I gave up and chose to enjoy the rest off the 2 days with family.
Buffet was there but was not part of my plan. Buffet was charged 700bucks per plate. We went in for alacarte. We and to wait for almost one hour for every meal lunch and dinner post our order as the kitchen was busy serving the buffet. The alacarte when served was just warm and not hot. Not sure why!,!!

Though I must say the restaurants Stewarts and hostess were very warm, approachable and was trying to make things happen and pleasant for us. We could not help but understand their helplessness!!!

The resort is huge and the boat ride to the venue was Welcome. For all the troubles, we got complimented by a boat ride back - otherwise not included.

The complimentary boat ride to the estuary was also welcome. Wanted to try he other restaurants on boat, but could not due to personal limitations.

Room Tip: Cottages are an absolute 'NO' as the heat from top will not allow the air conditioner to run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f_tans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our resort and reviewing it on this public platform. Guest feedback is immensely important to us as it helps us in strengthening our standard of service.

Tucked on the edge of backwaters and sea, Estuary Island Resort makes for a mesmerizing destination to unwind and relax. Though we are pleased to know that you found our location at par with your expectations, we regret that you were not happy with our service offerings. However, we want to assure you that we have shared your review with the entire team and adequate action has been taken.

Thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to accommodate you with modified services in the future.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited this resort in March, 2013. I had been to Poovar in 2010 and had simply loved the location. It is indeed a hidden scenic treasure with an amazing combination of Sea and backwaters.

I just love visiting poovar, so apologies for straying away from the main topic, the property! Frankly, there is n't anything luxurious about the property. It is a decent place with more of an eco-friendly look and feel. The food was fine but the warmth of staff was missing. We had requested them to quickly make something for our son but they simply denied saying they were running short of time. Even the food spread was not elaborated enough. The management was not around either. Whenever we asked for the manager they were giving us vague answers.

The resort per se is huge in terms of area and they are building up more villas however I feel they should definitely focus on the hospitality and the staff should be trained to smile more often, after all it does not cost a thing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aasha_Krishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for giving us a chance to welcome you at our resort in Poovar and sharing your stay experience on this public platform.

Estuary Island Resort is located amidst backwaters and sea, and is perfect to be in the lap of nature. As much delighted as we are to receive your kind words of appreciation in regards to our picturesque location, we regret the shortcomings you experienced in our service. It is our objective to extend a smooth stay experience; hence, we have perused your concerns and assure you that corrective measures will be taken at the earliest.

We thank you again for your patronage and appraisal that will help us strengthen the level of our service. We hope you would soon give us another opportunity of hosting you with modified services.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
9.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
9.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
9.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
9.2 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Travancore Heritage
Travancore Heritage
#1 of 3 in Chowara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Property: Estuary Island
Address: Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estuary Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing