We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comments, simply awesome”
Review of Estuary Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estuary Island
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No comments, simply awesome”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

No complaint,only one thing I would like to highlight and that is: the candlelight dinner option, which we cancelled just because the information that was given by the restuarant staffs was totally misleading.They were coaxing us to go for the 4000 pack but when we opted for 2000 pack they changed their stance and manipulated some of the facilities which were previously available for the 2000 pack.This is a little bit of led down specially from the restuarant staffs which the hotel admin needs to take care. Another suggestion, if you are planning to use the hotel travel desk please rethink again as it is super expensive. Also,I would recommend you to book a cab from Make My Trip only as it is much reasonable and the service providers are very deligent.

Room Tip: Garden view room is decent and value for money. If you select other rooms they are too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tismesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us and sharing it on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely regret the miscommunication by our staff and would like to inform you that this is not a usual occurrence with our guests. Your review has been shared with the associates concerned to avoid any such instances in future. I would also like to mention that the transfer prices have been set as per the industry standards.

Thank you again for your valuable and honest feedback and wish this one experience will not deter you from visiting us again.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    229
    94
    56
    41
See reviews for
308
210
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent a night at Estuary Island prior to a business trip to Trivandrum. At the jetty I was taken to the hotel by the hotel boat. A short journey along the backwaters which gradully open out into a the seas gets you to the hotel. On arrival at the hotel there was no attempt to help with the luggage which i had to cart a fair distance. I had reached around noon but was informed that rooms were not ready but after some time i was given estuuary view premuim room which was several notches higher than the base category i had booked. The gesture was apprciated but no attempt was made to inform me of the upgrade - something every hotel normally does.. At lunch i had to wait for 15 minutes and then had to ask for a menu in a restaurant where i was the only guest with at least 5 waiters. The a la carte meal took 40 minutes and mishandled. After about half an hour the groups landed up for the set meal. It was the same story at dinner where everybody was expected to have the buffet. It appeared I was the only individual traveller in the hotel. The front of the hotel offers a good look out with a beach head. The downside is that the beach can only be reached via a short boat ride. On the return leg i was advised to ask the taxi to come staright to the hotel. The road connecting the rear of the hotel to Poovar town is a narrow winding single lane along houses and had a tough time negotiating the road everytime a venhicle came from the opposite direction. Boat ride back to the jetty is recommended even if it costs Rs.250/

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurgaonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We express our gratitude to you for staying with us and sharing your review on this public platform.

Located between the calm backwaters and the beach, Estuary Island Resort is ideal to relax and unwind. At our resort, we endeavor to provide 100% guest satisfaction and based on the reviews posted on this forum, we can assume that we have succeeded in our efforts.Having said this, we also express our regret for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. However, together with the entire team, we have discussed your concerns and will try to come up with a solution so that our patrons can have a perfect experience.

We thank you again for staying with us. We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you again with amended services.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for one day/night. good boat ride to hotel. location is excellent. Drop to golden sand beach is a drop away by hotel boat. felt lots of noise in garden view rooms due to some construction work in progress, on complaining upgraded us to front view cottage.

Beach is beautiful, clean and energizing, its one of the best I have seen and experience.

Should add more variety for veg options and improve the taste for veg items for complete the overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeepbmistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Estuary Island Resort. We are grateful to you for sharing your experience on this public platform.

Located on the edge of calm backwaters and a soothing sea, Estuary Island Resort is indeed the most sought after resorts in Poovar. In addition to the advantage of a beautiful setting, the resort also makes for a truly memorable experience for our guests and we are glad you found our service delivery at par with your expectations.

We do realize that the noise due to the construction causes little discomfort but we assure that the next time you visit us, you will notice a positive difference. I have duly shared your advice regarding the food options with the kitchen team who will incorporate the necessary changes at the earliest.

We thank you once again for your support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two days and had a mixed bag of experience. The resort is located at a place where you are to reach through a jetty (only one way to the hotel is free..for any other trip ..even the return trip..they charge Rs 250 per head). As we reached a little late..after 6..the jetty service was not available and we had to go by road. Anyways after reaching we received a warm welcome from the staff. But the rooms were not prepared for our arrival. We had to call them for everything like ac not working..dead cockroaches and flies..no latch in one of the rooms and so on..This made us disappointed given the fact that it claims to be one of the best and you pay for it as well..The food was average..And charging for activities like table-tennis and ice-hockey seems unreasonable to me.But the best part of this place is its location.. The view from the resort is par excellence. A jetty ride to the puvar beach will make you forget everything. Its the cleanest beach I have ever seen and its a place..where a river..lake and sea meet. The sunset view from this beach is a must watch. Also, the resort has an excellent Ayurveda center which is a must visit. All-in-all the resort is beautiful but requires more maintenance.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are super!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to receive your review about our services and facilities on TripAdvisor. Estuary Island Resort is one of the luxury resorts in Poovar that boasts of a unique location. Our resort offers a truly memorable experience to the guests where they can unwind and relax. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the traditional Ayurvedic treatment during your time with us.

Though we strive to offer best value to our patrons, we regret the inconvenience caused to you. We would also like to inform you that we have taken corrective measures to avoid such instances in future.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to accommodate you again with modified services.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

we were 5 families visited this property which is so beautifully built among nature on the backwater and the sea in front. the view and the approach is very good . the resort needs a face lift service, quality of food, the pool and various other things.
they should separate the residents area from the general visiting public. few rules must be maintained as in the pool we found ladies with sarees and salwar kameez swimming .
the boat ride is a must it gives you a feeling of the Amazon. A place which is a must when visiting south Kerala.
viewing the Estuary is a treat from Nature, the lowering of the river level and the sea tide...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GopalChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent family trip and sharing your constructive review on this public platform. We are glad that you were impressed with the surrounding beauty and the mesmerizing views the resort offers.

Estuary Island Resort proves to be an ideal relaxing getaway which strives to offer patrons with a comforting experience. We are proud to learn that the location of our resort added a value to your stay. However, we did notice your concern over a few facets of our resort and we take this opportunity to inform you that corrective measures will be taken on all your valid observations.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The place is a must for your trip to Kerela. the access way to the resort in a boat, the location, the short travel to a small island, the hotel rooms, the service, the sparkling pool, the open air restaurant, the food all is great which makes your experience simply worthed and the trip most memorable.

The staff is courteous and readily offers assistance in case of need. Away from the hustle bustle, the location induces a lot of laziness in you which you would simply love.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aashima3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing this thoughtful and valuable feedback on this public platform. It is a delight to know that your overall experience was memorable and our services and the quality of food were at par with your expectations.

Nestled between the calm backwaters and a beautiful sea, Estuary Island Resort is among the most sought-after resorts in Kerala. The tasteful delicacies served at our dining venues, well-planned facilities, and a traditional warm welcome make for a perfect experience.

Once again, thanks for your visit and hope you give us another chance to welcome you at our resort.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Majestic property. Beautifully built with awesome view of the beach. However the service level ruins the experience. The staff is hardly available in the reception. Generation of invoicing took ages. Printer was not working. Breakfast was average and the food was just okay. Also they took lot of time to prepare the food.Last food order is till 10.30 pm. Confusion about the boat service they stated its complimentary however they were charging 1500 Rs for one round (approx 1-1.5 hours) of backwater ride. Better to go with private operator (charged only 700 Rs)

On the positive front rooms are elegant and spacious. Recreational room with lot of facilities available. Quite spacious property

Room Tip: One facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your valuable thoughts with fellow travelers on this public platform. Estuary Island Resort is nestled between the tranquility of lakes and beautiful beaches, making it an ideal destination for soothing your spirit. It is a delight to know that you loved the location, rooms, and facilities.

We have noted your concern over the laidback staff, poor service and the condition of printer. We would like to inform you that corrective measures have been taken to avoid any such inconvenience in future . Though we always strive to offer you the highest quality foods and we are working to further improve our standards to exceed your expectations in terms of nutrition, freshness and taste.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again for a thrilling and memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
9.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.5 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.1 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Property: Estuary Island
Address: Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estuary Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing