We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property..But Requires More Maintenance”
Review of Estuary Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estuary Island
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property..But Requires More Maintenance”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two days and had a mixed bag of experience. The resort is located at a place where you are to reach through a jetty (only one way to the hotel is free..for any other trip ..even the return trip..they charge Rs 250 per head). As we reached a little late..after 6..the jetty service was not available and we had to go by road. Anyways after reaching we received a warm welcome from the staff. But the rooms were not prepared for our arrival. We had to call them for everything like ac not working..dead cockroaches and flies..no latch in one of the rooms and so on..This made us disappointed given the fact that it claims to be one of the best and you pay for it as well..The food was average..And charging for activities like table-tennis and ice-hockey seems unreasonable to me.But the best part of this place is its location.. The view from the resort is par excellence. A jetty ride to the puvar beach will make you forget everything. Its the cleanest beach I have ever seen and its a place..where a river..lake and sea meet. The sunset view from this beach is a must watch. Also, the resort has an excellent Ayurveda center which is a must visit. All-in-all the resort is beautiful but requires more maintenance.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are super!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to receive your review about our services and facilities on TripAdvisor. Estuary Island Resort is one of the luxury resorts in Poovar that boasts of a unique location. Our resort offers a truly memorable experience to the guests where they can unwind and relax. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the traditional Ayurvedic treatment during your time with us.

Though we strive to offer best value to our patrons, we regret the inconvenience caused to you. We would also like to inform you that we have taken corrective measures to avoid such instances in future.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to accommodate you again with modified services.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    230
    94
    56
    41
See reviews for
308
210
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

we were 5 families visited this property which is so beautifully built among nature on the backwater and the sea in front. the view and the approach is very good . the resort needs a face lift service, quality of food, the pool and various other things.
they should separate the residents area from the general visiting public. few rules must be maintained as in the pool we found ladies with sarees and salwar kameez swimming .
the boat ride is a must it gives you a feeling of the Amazon. A place which is a must when visiting south Kerala.
viewing the Estuary is a treat from Nature, the lowering of the river level and the sea tide...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GopalChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent family trip and sharing your constructive review on this public platform. We are glad that you were impressed with the surrounding beauty and the mesmerizing views the resort offers.

Estuary Island Resort proves to be an ideal relaxing getaway which strives to offer patrons with a comforting experience. We are proud to learn that the location of our resort added a value to your stay. However, we did notice your concern over a few facets of our resort and we take this opportunity to inform you that corrective measures will be taken on all your valid observations.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The place is a must for your trip to Kerela. the access way to the resort in a boat, the location, the short travel to a small island, the hotel rooms, the service, the sparkling pool, the open air restaurant, the food all is great which makes your experience simply worthed and the trip most memorable.

The staff is courteous and readily offers assistance in case of need. Away from the hustle bustle, the location induces a lot of laziness in you which you would simply love.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aashima3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing this thoughtful and valuable feedback on this public platform. It is a delight to know that your overall experience was memorable and our services and the quality of food were at par with your expectations.

Nestled between the calm backwaters and a beautiful sea, Estuary Island Resort is among the most sought-after resorts in Kerala. The tasteful delicacies served at our dining venues, well-planned facilities, and a traditional warm welcome make for a perfect experience.

Once again, thanks for your visit and hope you give us another chance to welcome you at our resort.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Majestic property. Beautifully built with awesome view of the beach. However the service level ruins the experience. The staff is hardly available in the reception. Generation of invoicing took ages. Printer was not working. Breakfast was average and the food was just okay. Also they took lot of time to prepare the food.Last food order is till 10.30 pm. Confusion about the boat service they stated its complimentary however they were charging 1500 Rs for one round (approx 1-1.5 hours) of backwater ride. Better to go with private operator (charged only 700 Rs)

On the positive front rooms are elegant and spacious. Recreational room with lot of facilities available. Quite spacious property

Room Tip: One facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your valuable thoughts with fellow travelers on this public platform. Estuary Island Resort is nestled between the tranquility of lakes and beautiful beaches, making it an ideal destination for soothing your spirit. It is a delight to know that you loved the location, rooms, and facilities.

We have noted your concern over the laidback staff, poor service and the condition of printer. We would like to inform you that corrective measures have been taken to avoid any such inconvenience in future . Though we always strive to offer you the highest quality foods and we are working to further improve our standards to exceed your expectations in terms of nutrition, freshness and taste.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again for a thrilling and memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent stay at the resort. Chef Sajan was amazing with his preparations. Special mention for Ms. Saumya the housekeeping Team leader, who floored us with her ownership. Ms. Vancy the front office manager went out of the way to assist us. Over all an amazing place to be holidaying.

Room Tip: Pick the sea view or Family Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishKazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We express our gratitude for staying with us and sharing your valuable comments on this public platform. Counted amongst the most sought after resorts in Kerala, Estuary Island Resort excels at organizing relaxing and comfortable stays. It is a pleasure to note that you had a wonderful time with us and appreciate various facets of our resort. We have conveyed your appreciation to our staff which has definitely boosted their morale.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and your words of appreciation. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Amazing place to stay in Poovar. Nice backwaters and sea view. Visit to beach is arranged at free of cost. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Breakfast spread was amazing and the taste is equally great. Haven't tried their dinner since we had late evening snacks. I believe the dinner/lunch is 500+tax. Based on the breakfast experience, I believe lunch/dinner might not disappoint. However, I am disappointed with the activities being provided for free.(Only swing and hammock). All other activities are overcharged. Even Wi-Fi is not free there. Mini bar is good but as usual prices are overcharged. At-least, if the prices are little lower it would be great. However, except for the activity pricing it was a great stay. Also, the boat ride for mangrove forest is not so thrilling/exciting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnamani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for checking-in with us recently and sharing your experience with fellow travelers on this public platform.

Estuary Island Resort proves to be an ideal relaxing getaway which strives to offer patrons with a comforting experience. We are proud to learn that the location of our resort added a value to your stay. It is a delight to know that you appreciated the various aspects of our resort.

However, we did notice your concern over our pricing policy and we take this opportunity to inform you that our pricing is reflective of the par excellence services we offer.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed in Estuary Island Resort from 3rd to 5th Oct 2013. Some of the positives and areas of improvement are as stated below:
Positives:
1) The journey to estuary island resort is just too good. Estuary Island which is around 20 kms from Kovalam is located in a small town, Puvar. Once you park the car, there is a boat waiting to take the guests to the resort. The boat ride is through the back waters and is full of natural beauty. It takes around 10 mins to reach the resort.Though you have to call the resort to send the boat 30 mins prior to reaching the boat jetty else you have to wait for the boat.
2) The resort itself is very beautiful with coconut trees all around. The resort open ups to the backwaters and then there is the beach and then sea. So in essence you can see the back waters and sea all at the same time. Absolute bliss.
3) I upgraded my room from Cottage to Estuary view with a very minimal fee. The view from the balcony was just too good. One would not feel to go out of the resort at all.
4) There are many outdoor and Indoor activities in the resort like, Ayurveda (10 mins complimentary head massage free), heated swimming pool and host of other activities.
5) Food was good if not the best. The restaurant itself is located on the edge of the hotel which provides an excellent view of the estuary.

Areas of Improvement:
1) Though my room was pretty good however there were complaints about other room categories. One of my colleagues was also staying in the resort and they had to change there room twice. Once because of some drainage problem in the bathroom and second, there were big spiders in the room. I personally went and checked the rooms and they were correct. They were very disappointed because of the incident.
2) Though the boat ride to the hotel is complimentary only for the first time. For all subsequent rides, the hotel would charge 250/-, else they would ask the guest to take the road. The approach road to the hotel is not good at all and is little scary if coming after sunset.
3) Most of the activities in the activity room are chargeable, ideally it should have been complimentary.
4) Charges in the Ayurveda center was little higher than the market rate.

All in all our stay in Estuary island has been just too good. Only reason I am rating it 4 and not 5 is because of the bad experience my colleague had.

Room Tip: Go for Estuary View rooms. These are far better than any other rooms in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subhasish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for opting to stay with us recently and sharing your feedback.

Situated amidst a unique location, Estuary Island Resort offers a truly memorable experience to the guests where they can unwind and relax themselves. The guests can choose from various spacious accommodation options or explore the scenic attractions nearby. Though we strive to offer a best value to our patrons, we regret any kind of inconvenience caused to you and your colleague.

We would also like to inform you that we are taking corrective measures to avoid such instances in future. On a better note, it is a delight to note that you were able to enjoy and appreciate various other aspects of our property.

Once again we thank you for staying with us and look forward to accommodate you again with modified services.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
9.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.5 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.1 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Property: Estuary Island
Address: Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estuary Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing