We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway on a perfect Island in the backwaters of Kerala.”
Review of Estuary Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estuary Island
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Mumbai
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway on a perfect Island in the backwaters of Kerala.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I would love to be stranded on this Estuary Island Resort at Poorva Island Kerala.It was a romantic getaway for my hubby and me..not forgetting the family in tow. Your exciting holiday begins as the boatride which drops you off at the island takes you off the ground into this waterworld. Greenary everywhere.Spacious hotel complex, tow swimming pools to cool off as well as the ocean in front of you.
The restaurants are good, the buffet spread is exhaustive and filled with original Kerala cuisne.
Ofcourse the highlight of our trip was the fishing trip in a canoe specially arranged for us as we go angling the world over..... three mullets and few baby pomphrets was our prize catch of the night.....the backwaters boatride for two hours was an awesom birding experience....Of curse I got to dive into the backwaters along with the local boys and had the swim of a lifetime....you know they say when in rome...so Kerala backwaters are very inviting if you are brave enough..or crazy enough like me....Estuary Island Resort was an offbeat good break..try it....

Room Tip: Choose the cottages away from the pools and front desk.Ours was tucked away in the palms trees and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsieGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Elsie,

Thank You for choosing Estuary Island Resort for your recent stay in Kerala and sharing your feedback on this public forum. We are delighted to note your satisfaction with the services offered by us. The team at the Estuary Island Resort always makes it a point that our guests leave us on a very positive and happy note. We always look forward to making their stay truly memorable and eventful. Your feedback with regards to the restaurants has been noted, thanks for your valuable review.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on this public platform and will look forward to serving you again in future.

Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    230
    94
    56
    41
See reviews for
308
210
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
madurai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our 1971 MBBS students Madurai medical college batch family meet was organised in poovar island resort and the rooms were provided by Estuary Island Resorts. The rooms are neat and spacious. The swimming pool overlooking the estuary is wonderful. The service is very good. The staff are courteous. The landing jetty is very well maintained. We will come again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the estuary are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palanikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for organizing your recent event and stay at Estuary Island Resort. We are pleased to hear your kind words about our property, our support team and amenities. It would be an extreme pleasure to welcome you back once again and we look forward to that.

We are once again grateful for your encouraging feedback and recommendation.

Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

First thing I observed while checking in - never speak to anyone in malayalam, if you happen to be from Kerala. You may chose Hindi or English for a better service ! After all there was no service as such. Food was served cold and we had to fight with the flies for breakfast ! Only two positive points are the location and the pool. Try for a day trip only.

Room Tip: Never opt for the chalets. All the rooms have a view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobTrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had taken a day package at this resort. We found this place slightly different from the other resorts we had been to mainly because the route to it was through the backwaters by a short boat-ride. Once at the resort we were greeted in a friendly way and given a welcome drink. The room was quite large and well-maintained with a nice sit out overlooking a garden. The room, the washroom, pillows, sheets and blankets were all clean. Room was quiet and service was good...we had ordered some bhajias and tea at an additional cost....these came in fresh and piping hot. Lunch however was a bit delayed. We had asked for Keralite vegetarian and it was not ready until well past 2, and it was neither too good nor bad, but was served well. A nice place to spend at least a day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atajus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Estuary Island Resort and for sparing time to provide your feedback on this public forum. We are happy to learn that you had a nice stay with us. We are also thankful that you found our staff amiable and up to the mark. Guest review holds immense importance to us and we don’t leave any stone unturned to incorporate suggestions that are pointed by the guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to serve you again with our top-notch hospitality.

Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The resort is connected by road, but they have created approach for visitors only through backwaters. One need to take a good 2 KM ..10 min boat ride to reach the place...The place is scenic... lined with coconut trees..sea front opening into back waters. Topography is peculiar..resort, backwater river..land mass in front (you can reach there by boat) and then a beach and open sea...one would love this expereince...reception took long time for check in.. it's a resort so where is the hurry..? Restaurant food was OK... lack of options.. typical local Kerala test... people from other part may find it bit difficult to their taste.. room a tented one but very GOOD.. TV had choice of 15 channels... frequent power breakdowns in the evening though...Nice place to relax and enjoy backwaters if you want... nothing to do..lazy around here..!

Room Tip: ask for rooms above reception... you will get a sea view from here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samjo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Estuary Island Resort for your recent stay in Kerala. We are delighted to note your satisfaction with the services on offer along with the amenities available at the resort. Your feedback with regards to the kitchen have been noted, thanks for your valuable review.

We thank you once again for sharing your feedback on this public platform and will look forward to serving you again in future.


Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The check-in and Check out is smooth, South Indian Food was Good, They have a lot to improve on the North Indian delicacies, The Front office and The Restaurent Staffs are courteous, Visit this place for a very Relaxing holiday to enjoy..................

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddy07229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing your feedback on this public forum. We are glad that you found our facilities and staff up to the mark. We appreciate your feedback about the kitchen in the hotel. Guest feedback is of great importance to us and we do everything we can to incorporate suggestions that are put forward to us and the team will sincerely work towards adding more flavors to the Indian delicacies.

Once again, thank you for your patronage. We hope to be given the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the first week of our holiday. As it was the end of the season it was very quiet so we almost had the place to ourselves. The staff were all very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food that the Chef served up was some of the best we've had on holiday. There were dishes that you never see in an English curry house and with various breads and rice dishes we it was difficult to stop ourselves from eating too much. My wife had a very good massage at the hotel and was so impressed she had another a couple of days later.
If you are looking for a place to relax in Kerala then this hotel is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Estuary Island Resort. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We constantly endeavor to serve our guests with a perfect holiday experience and the team goes that extra mile to ensure that our guests have a satisfying stay.

We look forward to hosting you and your family again on your next visit to Kerala.

Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
9.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.5 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.1 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Property: Estuary Island
Address: Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estuary Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing