We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Good Location, Great holiday - a relaxing experience”
Review of Estuary Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estuary Island
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The resort has an excellent location and a lovely ambience, The check-in and Check out is smooth, South Indian Food was Good, They have a lot to improve on the North Indian delicacies, The Front office and The Restaurent Staffs are courteous, Visit this place for a very Relaxing holiday to enjoy the place you have to be around for at least 3 nights and 4 days

Room Tip: The location is Very good, The south indian and the Continental food is good, Do not try the North i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing your feedback on this public forum. We are glad that you found our facilities and staff up to the mark. We appreciate your feedback about the kitchen in the hotel. Guest feedback is of great importance to us and we do everything we can to incorporate suggestions that are put forward to us and the team will sincerely work towards adding more flavors to the Indian delicacies.

Once again, thank you for your patronage. We hope to be given the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 735 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent 14 nights at the Estuary Island March 2012 all inclusive. Despite many of the negative reviews on here we had a brilliant time. The food was excellent with a really nice mix of Indian and western cuisine. The food was served in a combination of buffet and a la carte which proved very enjoyable. The staff were extremley attentive and we were very well looked after. Pool was fantastic, rooms were clean and tidy with good air con. Bathrooms a little tired but OK for budget paid. This hotel is great if you want a quiet relaxing getaway however, not a lot to do unless you go on trips. I would recommend it and would revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The resort is beautifully located and has a lovely ambiance. The check-in and check-out was smooth. They have a nice Ayurvedic centre. The food was good and the rooms are well kept and clean. The junior staff are okay but the senior staff were somewhat rude and not so friendly with Indian guests. Overall a nice and comfortable stay...

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at Estuary Island for 11 nights in February 2012. On arrival we were upgraded to a sea view room which was lovely, clean,spacious and lots of hot water in the large bathroom. The bed was so comfortable and king size.
There was a lot of building work going on behind the hotel but this did not bother us and we would not have even known about it apart form waiting for a taxi at the rear of the hotel one day.
Our only disapointment was that the restaurant overlooking the sea was closed for refurbishment which we thought Mercury Direct should have informed us of prior to the holiday as it would have been lovely to sit there in the evening as the sunsets were beautiful.
The service on some occasions in the restaurant was slow but all the staff were so lovely and worked so hard.
All in all the resort is set in beautiful surroundings with nice gardens and a choice of whether to sun bathe by the pool or overlooking the lagoon under a palm tree every day what a problem!!! Wish I was back there now!

Room Tip: Sea view room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have just spent 5 nights at the Estuary Island on the final part of our long fascinating tour of Southern India. Whilst we stayed in a wide variety of lodgings on our tour from really fantastic to mediocre, the Estuary Island was quite definitely the most disappointing. The hotel is undergoing huge extensions and the building work was constant and very noisy with chain saws and tile grinders going all day from 7.45am (even on a Sunday). We made our booking with the hotel in July 2011 and neither we or our Indian agent were notified of the building works. The current manager who has only been in his position for a couple of months was very understanding and did try to stop the builders from working on the new poolside house when we were trying to relax by the pool but it really was in vain as they were working on at least three other buildings at the same time. When the new buildings are finished, they will be a great advantage to the hotel but in the meantime, the Thomas group should close completely and not try to operate as normal. It is quite simply NOT FAIR to the paying guests.
Contrary to many other reviews, we enjoyed the food we ate in the Spices restaurant although the service was very slow. The staff were all very polite and helpful and the Chef and restaurant manager particularly approachable.
Our rooms were quite comfortable although tired and in need of updating. To top it all, the builders cut through the water pipes on our last day so we had to bathe with a big bucket of hot water provided by the hotel.
In general the outdoor areas were OK but the poolside was quite dirty and in need of a good sweep and wash down. The hotel have a huge problem with crows and pigeons which is difficult for them to manage but their droppings are everywhere.
The hotel provides a free boat ride to the beach but unfortunately they do not say in the small print that it is very dangerous to swim in the sea because of the strong surf and rips. Or that the locals use the beach as a rubbish tip and a general toilet. We thought we could use the beach for nice early morning walks but after the first time picking our way through the dead dogs, human excrement and bags of chicken waste thrown into the sea we decided that it was not a very healthy exercise.
OK it's India, but having travelled the country quite extensively and seen the good and the bad, the Estuary Island could do a lot better.

Room Tip: Don't accept any room until you have seen it and avoid the top floor of the main hotel and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karrageen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks and found it really relaxing. The food was excellent and the staff brilliant, they could not do enough for you. We cannot believe that some reviews said the staff were rude, all we can say is we did not come across one member of staff who was less than helpful. We both had birthdays out there and had our rooms decorated with balloons and a cake made for us both and flowers for my wife. The location is great & anyone that moans obviously didn't read the brochure or do there homework. This is a three star hotel so if you want five star stay somewhere else and pay five star prices. This was the best three star hotel we have ever stayed in and would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: We had room 208 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

ignore all bad review estuary island hotel is not as bad as they say we was there for 2weeks we was a party of 6 , 3 couples yes we did have a few issues but minor , the main issue is with mercury direct and the rep (waste of time ) hotel management sorted our issues , hotel is clean and our rooms clean to, we had a very quiet 2 weeks which at time was very relaxing the staff were brilliant and yes there is a slight language barrier, maybe in a few yrs time it will be catered for europeans, a very scenic hotel, we met some lovely people at estuary hotel ,, carol and pete if you read this ive lost ur e.mail address would love to get in touch with you x

Room Tip: we was in room 111 excellent view and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
9.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,036 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#12 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
608 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.1 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
0.1 mi away
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Address: Kp-xv/583-647 | Poovar, Puvar 695525, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range: $83 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Estuary Island 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IBC Hospitality, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing