We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent a morning with the local fishermen when you are there”
Review of Estuary Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estuary Island
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spent a morning with the local fishermen when you are there”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The resort is reachable only after a short boat-ride (max ten persons) of about fifteen minutes. The hotel rooms are housed in large villas on the resorts. Our room was sparsely furnished. Like all the places I stayed in Kerala, black-out was common and it is a good idea to have a torch with you. You may get a few mosquitoes so be prepared also. I had breakfast and dinner there. Breakfast was simple affair and dinner was more interesting with a good spread of Indian and western cuisine.

What I like most of the resort is that it’s you can take a five minutes boat-ride to a beach where fishermen still cast their net to the sea in the morning. It takes around fifteen to twenty people to pull the net back in and you are welcomed to give a helping hand. I tried my hand at it and it was a tiring exercise. It was hard labor with potential little reward and I got to appreciate a little more of the life of the local fishermen.

I am not sure how many comparable accommodations are nearby but the opportunity to spend some time with the local fishermen in the early morning is attractive enough for anyone to consider this resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjw0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    236
    97
    58
    41
See reviews for
318
212
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at Estuary Island for 3 days the hotel service was poor, we were served a warm "Welcome drink" on a hot afternoon, The bathrooms were smelly and the corners of the tiles were lined with fungus growth. The pool was in bad shape as the water was dirty, the kids pool was out of order. We ordered a fried fish that was under cooked and was smelling bad, as it was out last stay of our 14 day long vacation so the possibility of not aware of the Keralite cuisine can be ruled out, we had the same fish at Backwater Ripples Kumarakom and Muthoot Cardamom county and the taste was mouth watering. It seems the Chef did not report the issue to the management as were charged for the same fish when we checked out and the worst part was that the Chef tried to pacify us with a free chocolate pudding. I would say that people with kids and looking for a quite vacation should stay away from it as the place is bustling with corporate groups who keep the hotel resources to themselves, and the hotel is happy to serve them only as they are easier to please I guess. There are better options available in the same location avoid this place.

Room Tip: The cottages do not have any view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KhanMehboob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Kovalam was the first place on my honeymoon trip and Hotel Estuary Island was the choice given to me by my package advisor (www.plantripindia.com). The access to resort is through an estuary traveled by boat (provided by resort). The beautiful scenic beauty during the small trip to resort confirmed the lovely stay that we were looking for. The entry in the resort was warm and the manager explained our package to us to remove any ambiguities. The room was spacious and the bathroom was nice and clean. The resort provided us wit.h hot water kettle and packs of tea, coffee, sugar and milk, thus making us independent from regular calling for room service. The room also had a small fridge, stuffed with beer, cold drink, soda etc (chargeable at hotel rates).

The package included breakfast and lunch/dinner. Both the times buffet was arranged beautifully, and the quality and quantity of dishes was stupendous. The meals were good and the staff was always smiling and helping. The package also included a candle-light dinner, which was arranged beautifully and we enjoyed it as well.

The scenic beauty around the resort was breathtaking; the resort was surrounded with water from three sides and the view from the hotel room (209) was lovely. The beach could be seen with the naked eyes and the access to beach was easy (using hotel speed boats). The beach was clean (most clean beach ever seen by me; probably because it is situated away from the crowded areas) and the tourist inflow was minimum. The time spent on the beach was the best and we enjoyed every second there.

Overall the stay in the resort was very comfortable and exceeded all my expectations. I would strongly recommend the resort to all the couples and beach lovers

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanocarpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Immediately after my marriage, next week we went to Kerala. I had been to Kerala along with my friends, but it was a great pleasure to visit as a couple.
Our Journey starts with 15 min country boating to the hotel, then with the warm welcome we had been invited. I have opted for 4 days & 3 nights. Some of the special moments i would like to share with you all is
1. Candle light dinner
2. Seashore hotel
3. Complement food (Break fast & dinner).
4. Rs3000/- worth voucher
5. Free Oil massage (it was 1st time in my life :) full body)

Staffs are so friendly, bcas they are asking to name one of best employee which we like, so obviously everybody is so please to u.(of course tough job). Food is really excellent with all type of foods.

In overall it was an unforgettable honeymoon for me..hope u all enjoy..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makam2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We are a fan of Kerala so Estuary Island offers an amazing experience for any relaxing vacation! It starts with the lovely boat trip to the island and continues with the scenery of the sea, lake and river uniting. The facilities are of 5* standard, and service is of high quality offered by friendly staff. The Ayurveda treatments are to die for and you live from there as good as new. A hotel ideal for romantic holidays.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

126849100

we like this hotel very much when we stay with Group in Jan 2011 , we alosmost have all seniro citzens with us , there service is too good with simle and taking care of senior citzens

Regards
Raakesh

Room Tip: take pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHREERAJYASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The view from this place will erase out all the resorts few short comings. They said it right when they said ,'where river meets island meets lake meets beach meets sea'. Trust me ,its all there.We had gone for a family reunion with around 25 people attending.The staff were extra helpful in setting our lunch menu and arranging for transport,etc.
The few problems.Well,one was the distance from the airport which we underestimated.It takes a good hour and half from Trivandrum town and a 15 minute boat ride to the resort which I should say was beautiful.Then there were some shortcomings in the plumbing but they upgraded us to better rooms free of charge.The chipped tiles in the pool will be gone as the whole pool area will being renovated in August.Whatever...the stay was great ,food was good and the scenery a must see.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angellahMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
9.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
945 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
9.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#10 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
584 reviews
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.1 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Property: Estuary Island
Address: | Poovar, Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Estuary Island 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing