We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good atmosphere and out of World experience”
Review of Estuary Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estuary Island
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Pros:
It was very first time we saw a resort with all amenities and friendly staff and beautiful atmosphere. Very good place for kids to enjoy in the play area. Altogether a different experience. Accolades to the staff and keep improving.. All the Best

Cons:
Please clean the area (outside of the room - after one had Lunch/Dinner/Snacks) immediately as this is spoiling the beauty of the area

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s74b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 714 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

Great service, food fantastic, room - biggest bed we have ever slept in. The staff are so friendly and genuinely interested in you and your holiday. Location is reached by boat but great trip to get there. Bird life in abundance, if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay - this is it. Banana lassi and mint tea very refreshing! Dragon chicken very tasty. French wine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandV69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thrhotels, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Dear Sir

It gives me a great satisfaction to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay and that the associates of our resort ensured that your trip to Esyuary Island was a perfect one. I have personally passed on your appreciation to all the associates and I have shared your comments with them as it is important to me to show them the results of their services as an outstanding job. It is the feedback like yours, that make our efforts 100% worthwhile.

On behalf of all associates, I would like to extend my gratitude and we all look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Kerala

Regards

Cherian Joseph
General Manager
Estuary Island
Poovar

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

A beautiful place with a great scenic backdrop,The location and setting is great.
The service quality just does not match up to the charges.Food is a cropper.They charge five star rates but unfortunately quality is the worst imaginable.
Mughlai dishes are made in kerala style...need i say more
We had to inform the staff to cover the fruit platters as flies were sitting on them.It should have come as second nature to them,a guest should not be informing about hygiene standards.
Room ambience and cleanliness is good and the swimming pool is really great.
Other than food and service quality vis-a vis charges ,a great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikon757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thrhotels, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review on Trip Advisor. We do value all feedback from our guests both positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and evolve as a business. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was unpleasant and we will defiantly look into improving the services mentioned.

Thank you for your understanding and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Estuary Island Resort, so that we may display the type of hospitality and service we are certainly capable of delivering.

If there is anything further to that, I can assist you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm.estuary@thrhotels.com


Yours sincerely,

Cherian Joseph
General Manager
Estuary Island
Poovar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Hotel has plenty of green and open space and play area. Staffs are helpful. Breakfast area is good, breakfast is also good. Rooms are good in size , but there was electricity problem in room and bathroom flush problem also. Bathroom was okay in size and had simple toiletries. Food was not okay. Also the Food serving area is not nicely weather controlled. Sports item can be taken from reception for play. Natural Scenery is good here and there , but nothing great very near by. Ferry service is good , but sometime there is resource constrain and waiting is required.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar-Suman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thrhotels, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Estuary Island Resort .

We like to thank you for your positive comments and feedback about the Estuary Island Resort, and we regret about the power outage and plumbing which happened during your stay, it was a rare incident which has been fixed now.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards

Cherian Joseph
General Manager
Estuary Island Resort
Poovar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Terrible quality of service and indifferent attitude of staff.
Went for company conference had a bad experience with indifferent and impolite staff with poor sense of guest service. Even the audio system in the conference hall was terrible. Electricity fails every one hour.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raj_22_2000_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thrhotels, General Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding the experiences of your recent stay at Estaury Island Resort.

We regret about the power failures, which resulted in unsatisfactory performance of the audio system during your conference. It was a rare incident which has been fixed on the same day.

I would like to apologise for the shortcoming you have encountered during your stay. I very much appreciate the details you have provided as they allow us to improve on our service standards and use them as training material for our associates. It is the feedback like your's that make our efforts 100% worthwhile.

Regards

Cherian Joseph
General Manager
Estuary Island
Poovar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in Feb 09, and it is in a beautiful setting, however I was disappointed in the holiday as a whole.
Various parts of the hotel and the bar on the front were closed to paying guests on a number of days as there was a training conference on. The other guests were incredibly rude to the 'western' tourists, so much so that 20 of us decided to eat out at the floating restarant just outside of the hotel on many nights, even though we were inclusive!
Having been to Goa im not sure whether I had too high an expectation for this hotel, but I would not recommend this hotel to any friends, and I wish I had read reviews before booking the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenyamtoto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thrhotels, Management Representative at Estuary Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and taking the time to post a review. Most times we do not have issues managing conferences as the property is well spread with multiple restaurants and facilities.
We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Our management has taken constructive actions to ensure happy holidaying experience at Estuary Island for everyone.

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we do hope that you will visit us again in the near future and experience the new Estuary Island.

Cherian Joseph
General Manager
Estuary Island Resort
Thomas Hotels & Resorts Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

"Got to ask yourself the question. Where are you now?". Well, in India.... So do you expect to have electric power 24x7? Do you mind waiting 10 minutes for the boat at the jetty to pick you up and bring you to the hotel? Do you mind the rooms are somewhat out of date, or a few missing tiles in the swimming pool? We didn't mind at all and we had a perfect week at Estuary Island Resort!

Just adjust to the India way of life, relax, enjoy the local kitchen (great curry for every meal) and you'll have a great stay at this place. Nature is stunning and right in front of you when you leave your room. The children loved the huge pool, the yoga which is offered for free each morning and the magician doing his tricks in the lobby. There is an abundance of staff, friendly and eager to be of help and support. If you want to leave you need to go by boat and, no doubt, you will spot a few sea eagles and king fishers. If it rains you may get wet...... but is that a problem at 25+ degrees Celsius?.....Just ignore all those negative reviews on this place, these are simply due wrong levels of expectation.....Got to ask yourself the question. Where are you now? Well, in a pretty damn good place in India.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _Rein_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
9.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
988 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#12 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
596 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.1 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Address: | Poovar, Puvar 695525, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range: $103 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Estuary Island 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IBC Hospitality, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Kerala/Puvar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing