We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of La Citadelle

La Citadelle
Ranked #3 of 77 Restaurants in Granville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $79
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant is just near the sea. You can eat sea food and fresh fishes.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Every aspect of this restaurant was a disappointment; the "harbour view" which we specially requested on booking was blocked by a tent-extension to the restaurant and no offer was made to move us to it. The service was beyond laughable; absolutely not due to the staff - who remained efficient and cheerful - but they were totally insufficient for the number of tables. Every single request took so long to action that we thought it had been forgotten. Yes it was busy - but that is presumably the normal state for a seaside restaurant on a Friday night in August. And then there was the food: across the board it was shockingly, unbelievably poor. For a seafood restaurant to overcook every item of seafood to such an extent is utterly pathetic. Langoustines were reduced to dry, tasteless blobs more reminiscent of cotton wool than the juicy, sweet morsels they should have been. A sea bream had the texture of rubber, a bass, like cardboard. (And, when I see "en croute de sel" on a menu I expect a whole fish in a salt crust, not just a thin (overcooked, of course) fillet with some pointless, inedible, "salt meringues" on top. There was an attempt at some sophistication with vegetable purees, jellies and reductions but they were served on a plate so hot that they dried out or melted into inedibility. The totality of this bleak experience could only be explained through poor management. Certainly every aspect of the operation needs review - from ordering and cooking to the delivery of (hopefully) properly cooked food in a timely fashion to the customers. I would very strongly recommend that no-one visit this establishment until an "under new management" banner appears on the outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mchumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    305
    82
    34
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow factor!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Amazing food, definitely worth the short walk from the downtown area. We go there everytime we are in Granville. Definitely a must if you like good food!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent seafood”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in a place 45 minutes away, but we went there twice during our 7-night stay. The seafood is superb. One of the best restaurants in La Manche we've been to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kreni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprising good!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

It's germ of the town, we tried seafood platter on 1st night then make booking for 2nd night immediately. Good food quality, sweet waitress, friendly environment, what else could demand for!!

Just to remind, make reservation online before you go, we're just lucky enough to have a table on 1st night as we arrived early. Sooner it's full house for whole night

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Seafood platter and contented chatter”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Granville is a town blessed with restaurants and the choice is difficult. At the end of the railway line from Paris it was once a popular resort for the wealthier from that city, and much of that earlier era has rubbed off. The shopping is good, especially if you love food, and there is so much to see, in the heart of town, in the upper town or alongside the harbour.

We chose the harbour for lunch and opted for the restaurant with the best looking menu, the smartest tables and by far the best apparent ambiance, La Citadelle, highly acclaimed in most gourmet guides.

They are not wrong, and it is advisable to book here.

We could not sit outside because the entire terrace, furniture and all, had recently been destroyed in the dark of night by an errant driver, or at least the car of which he had lost control, so our table was located in the “indoor terrace” looking out over the harbour. Normally, and unusually for this town, the exterior tables are still laid with the same good linen and tableware as indoors. The French always prefer to dine inside and restaurants generally seem to think that those with al fresco habits are not worthy of the same comforts, paper napkins being all they merit. They have not yet grasped that their euros are just the same as those of others.

Inside the maritime-themed décor also provides an extremely comfortable setting, enhanced by the alertness of the staff, who throughout our meal went about their tasks with smiling faces and polite efficiency.

There is an extensive seafood menu, which is so inevitable in such a seafaring town, other menus from €15 to €35 and a choice à la carte. A large proportion of the many lunchers opted for the seafood platter in its various forms, and they were clearly not disappointed. We decided to lunch “off piste” and not to test the chef too severely.

It should be said that the good-looking plate of piccatas de veau served to a neighbouring table looked delightful, as did the filets of quail stuffed with foie gras.

We began with a delectable carpaccio de boeuf, served in good oil with a copious quantity of crisp crudités, perhaps too much in fact. The beef was so finely sliced, as it should be, that perhaps a few parmesan shavings would have sufficed. I then enjoyed a splendid crab, a male tourteau in fact and not the araignée or spider crab which is more popular among the French. My companion had a very full bowl of fleshy langoustines, served without frills, but with frites.

Cheeses and desserts were fairly standard but tasty and rounded off an excellent repast, which we had enjoyed with a bottle of first-class rosé wine (a Marsannay from Louis Jadot) ordered from a comprehensive list.

We had parked our car beneath posters scrawled by a group of revolting fishermen, bemoaning the high cost of their fuel and the low cost of their catches. When they are working, rather than slagging their president, whom they blame for all their woes whoever he is or whatever his political leanings, they provide the diners of Granville, and elsewhere, with the finest any ocean has to offer. I should add that shellfish from the Bay of Mont St Michel and particularly the lobster caught around the islands of Chaussey cannot be beaten.

Those precious ingredients are served with obvious joy and clear professionalism in La Citadelle

Score: 15 out of 20

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trueciew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Citadelle also viewed

 
Granville, Manche
 

Been to La Citadelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing