We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent for holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I could not find many things at this hotel which I could complain at. Probably, that the balconies are very small. The food is excellent, so is the service. We always could find a sunbed at the pool or at the beach. Maybe because it was september and the hotel was not full. A thing which we had for the first time: Now and then comes a friendly person along the pools and the beach and offers you a small, well cooled nice smelling towel for refreshing purposes.

Room Tip: if you want to avoid some noise from the night activities ask for a room towards the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    110
    37
    7
    11
See reviews for
287
222
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is possibly the best all inclusive hotel you will find. The standards are very high in all areas. The only disappointment was that the main languages spoken by the customer services manager and team are german and russian, english being a very poor third or fourth. However at reception there is always someone who speaks english very well and also in the entertainment team. There are Turkish lessons every day, and you will taste the ice cream and die! If you arrive late at night there is somewhere to get a snack, and all of the staff are extremely friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: All rooms are great tho you are hardly in them. Have had standard room, sea view and suiteAll were e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank violet31027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Only been staying at the hotel for 5 days but I think I have sampled and experienced what the hotel has to offer.Like most people I read plenty of reviews before arriving at the hotel so had I good idea what to expect.Rooms very clean but also basic,as I knew before hand,cleaned every day to a high standard.Food well prepared but I found you spend a lot time trying to work out what you are actually eating as the food descriptions are pretty basic.Also the evening dining experience in the main restaurant(the horizon)is best described as a feeding frenzy,you would think some of the guests hadn't eaten in days the way they push by and fly past you at high rates of speed to get to the next selection of food offerings.This is really down to the poor staff and the way it's set up .Stood waiting for a table with no help or communication from staff .Left waiting for drinks as no self service.Drink orders nearly always wrong.plates snatched from table as your last mouthful of food leaves the plate(due to not enough tables,so fast turn around needed)No pool side waiter service through the day ,call me lazy but for over 3000p pounds for a two week holiday I expect to have the odd drink brought to my sun lounger.Overall great weather ,most of the staff friendly but over worked and lack of commitment,probably due to low wages.Clean hotel ,average food ,value for money no had better for less .Maybe I'm a bit of a victor meldue but when work hard for a living as most of us do you expect something a bit special.Will update when I return home in ten days .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackbauer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We travelled to Turkey for the first time on 19th August and stayed for seven nights at the AMARA !!!! My sister and brother in law , myself and two kids aged 3 and 10 and absolutely loved it !! We arrived early hours after a great flight with thomson and the reception manager changed our rooms as we were allocated two rooms in different blocks and wanted to be close by, the suite that we were given was excellent two ensuite bedrooms one had a jaqcussi bath in it which they kids enjoyed !!!! a lounge and dining area and magnificent views over the beach and resort my youngster loved this as the 3 waterslides were in full view - the room was spotless and was cleaned daily and the mini bar restocked !!!

The hotel its self is a little tardis immaculate and very quiet and cool as the temperature outside was 40 plus every day, the pool area (beach towels provided clean each day) was clean and although the usual up early rules for sun beds apply we managed to get our sun beds round the childrens pool each day and the staff brought round cold flannels everyday which was a good touch.

Food excellent and we liked the variety available and you can order 24/7 at the bistro bar, the centre point cocktail bar was comfy and got a bit crowded after the evening entertainment ended. the week we were there the entertainment team performed Mamma Mia which we all thoroughly enjoyed

My youngsest enjoyed mini club and alena was brill and the covered sand play area with slides, swings etc was a nice shady area for the young ones to play

to sum up an excellent holiday, few too many brits so come on and book worth every penny !!!!

Room Tip: pool view rooms a must the front rooms overlook the local shops and not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had orginally booked our first holiday to Turkey to stay at the new Crystal Palace resort in Side, however after reading some of the horrific comments on here we paid extra to change to Amara Beach and we were so glad that we did!

We have stayed in most countries in Europe and also visited the Caribean and Egypt. We like nice hotels and always stay in at least 4 star or 5 star hotels and this hotel is definitely one of the best we have stayed in!

It is spotlessly clean, The food was lovely - we are very fussy eaters who enjoy good food and service and the staff could not do enough for you! We have never stayed anywhere before that seems to have such a high ratio of staff to guests. The manager was always visible every day mingiling with the guests listening to their feedback. The Beach/pool boy has got to be the most hardworking staff member I have ever met! No matter what time if day you arrived at the pool he would get you beds and parasols always with a smile and worked tirelessly in 40 degree heat!

It was a very family friendly hotel and the Entertainment staff worked very hard every day to ensure all age groups enjoyed themselves. We did not see any of the evening entertainment apart from the Gala night - but that was purely down to us, it's not really our thing on any holiday. We enjoyed the lobby bar called Centre point which was lovely and cool with comfy couches and waiter service providing lots of lovely cocktails. This area did get busy later on at night but we always managed to get a seat.

What was another great benefit of the hotel was the free wi-fi. It worked great in our room and it meant that we could have daily Skype calls home to our family for free - no horrific mobile bills to return home to! The wifi signal was a bit more tempermental at the pool area but most of the time it was fine.

The hotel was mostly full of other guests from Belgium who were all very polite and friendly. Lots of really nice families with well-behaved children - not a football top or lager lout in sight! We also did not see anyone taking full advantage of the all inclusive alcohol and ending up drunk! Very refreshing!!!

The wine and other alcholic were nice and drinkable - not like some all inclusives we have been to in the past!

If I had to be over critical and look to find fault in anything at this hotel it would be firstly the sun bed situation which has been discussed at length in previous reviews. There are two pools, a relaxation pool and a family pool. We never got a lounger at the relaxation pool as these appeared to be reserved from 5-6am every morning! There are rules saying beds shouldn't be reserved but what the guests would do is reserve 5 or so beds and have one person lying on one of the beds ensuring the towels weren't removed by staff until the rest of their family got up and headed to the pool!! Very sly - and who wants to get up at that time on holiday for a sun bed!!! Apart from the days we visited the beach we always got beds at the family pool even the days we got up around 12 ... We always had to ask the pool boy and he would place the beds wherever we wanted! What we did notice was that sone ignorant guests reserved beds at the pool and the beach and used to go between both!!

The second thing is the sea bed in the left hand side of the pier has large rocks not far from the beach. I scraped my legs quite badly on them as they were not visible and there were no warning signs - but that is nit a fault of the hotel!! It's just nature!!!

I would recommend to the hotel that they provide a small map - perhaps on the back of the room card wallet showing the guests the layout of the resort ... It's not a massive hotel but it would be handy as a reference for the first few days!

I would also recommend that the pool bar has at least two members of staff on as at times it could get quite busy.

Apart from that you really don't need to leave the resort if you don't want to ... And you don't need to take any other money apart from money for the airport or if u plan to leave the resort!

We are already looking to book up to return next year - something we have never done before!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

There seems to be a lot of unnecessary rules in this hotel, we had one experience where we went from the pool area to the 'hut', where they cook flat breads and pizza, and where told that we were not suitably dressed and we were refused entry! We could not believe it! Also we sat down for a pre dinner drink and started having a very quiet game of cards with our children and the waitress informed us that we were not allowed to play card games!! We were understandable put out as we paid a fortune to come on holiday and couldn't choose where we could eat or drink down to dress code and having a little fun with our children to keep them quiet!! :(

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hello2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

What can i say this was the Best all inclusive hotel i have ever been to well worth every single penny it cost to go.

I travelled with my husband and 3 year old son and we all had a fantastic time. The hotel could not do enough to entertain children and adults day and night. The entertainment team were so friendly they would go out of their way to talk to you. The evening entertainment was brilliant you could really come to this hotel and not take any spending money at all you wouldn't need to leave the complex.

We had a fantastic Room it had two bathrooms separate bath and big shower cubicle. The towels were changed daily, slippers and dresing gown provided. The bathroom had more Smellies Shampoo,shower , body creams etc than boots i was really impressed. You could even choose from 6 different types of pillows for your bed it was great.

I would say i am someone that has a OCD in cleaning and i could not fault this hotel one bit it was spotless throughout.

The one problem i have is that i am going to find it so differcult now to find anywhere as good as this hotel. The food was also amazing everything you good possibly want and if you go when the Gala night is on you are in for a really treat it is on once a fortnight.

If you read everyone moaning about the sunbeds and the Germans they really need to get over it becuase we managed to get a bed everyday no problem and if you just ask the staff they will get more beds for you. and half the guset were in fact from Belguim and they were very friendly and spoke fluent English i think sometimes its us English that maybe ignorant not being able to speak other languages.
Ice cold flannel's were given out by the pool daily which were amazing in the 40 degree heat.

Overall there is not one bad word i could say about the Amara beach. Well done to all the staff i will be back :0)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#3 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
8.3 mi away
Alva Donna Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.5 mi away
VONRESORT Golden Coast
VONRESORT Golden Coast
#6 of 40 in Colakli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.7 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort

Property: Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort
Address: Gundogdu Mevkii PK 139, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey (Formerly Amara Beach Resort)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#5 Family Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Beach Resort Side Hotel Colakli
Amara Beach Hotel Side
Amara Beach Manavgat
Alva Donna Beach Resort Comfort Turkey/Colakli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing