We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hot holiday”
Review of Alba Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alba Queen Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and my friend chose the Alba Queen for a weeks holiday, as we needed some sun and relaxation. The hotel looked attractive and we certainly were not disappointed when we got there. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were helpful.
The pool was lovely, but did get quite crowded and unless you were there very early on it was hard to get a decent spot... We found the breakfast very nice, and the food in the pool bar was good as well... there were some 'unusual' looking items on the menu some evenings but we just stuck to what we knew and were fine. I really enjoyed the a la carte restaurants and they seemed to have quite a good selection to chose from.
The hotel was a good distance from the beach which seemed clean and had a good number of loungers. Definitely a more relaxing area than the pool where there did seem to be a bit of a tendency for the staff to pester you into joining in the activities.
Me and my friend would definitely recommend the spa in the hotel, we went for a proper turkish bath and it was so relaxing and very professional.
The evening entertainment was more aimed at families and therefore wasn't really to my taste but i can see that people would enjoy it. The area surrounding the hotel didn't really have much to offer but we did take a trip into Side and the harbor which was beautiful and well worth a trip. We had a bit of trouble due to being 2 women alone and were accosted on several occasions by men that wouldn't take no for an answer, and although we were told by our travel rep to ALWAYS barter the price on items we found a lot of the people in the town were offended by this.
I would recommend that if you are looking for a holiday where you spend the majority of time in the hotel then this is a good place to go, but if you are looking for places to explore and especially for nights out then this is not really the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be disturbed by the nightly disco in the pool bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 838 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for 14 nights, very busy hotel, excellent facilities, excellent entertainment, food good. Staff gererally really helpful. Very busy around the pool area and very loud. Great for kids our son had a fantastic time here and we struggled to get him out of the hotel. We would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank curlytop26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It was our first vacation in Turkey but I have to say, that after spending almost 2 weeks at Alba Queen hotel I dont think I want to go anywhere else (in Turkey at least) :)

the room was spacious, we got an apartment on the side of the hotel, with view over the sea and also the other hotel and surrounding mountains. they were cleaned every day.

food was amazing! that variety ... and high quality... fresh fruit, different types of meat, and all the different types of vegentables you can ask for. even vegetarians can find something for themselves :)

the pool was huge! and i mean huge, clean and sometimes a really nice refreshment from the warmer sea! :) there were also slides for children, but you could see also some adults sliding down :D

beach was always clean and so was the sea, with sand gradually going into the sea so if you are not a great swimmer, you dont have to worry. the water was warm and I dont think I´ve spend so much time in water during other vacations as I did here.

for the sports minded, there are different types of water sports too and every day they organize trips with boats (if you dont want to go with your tour operator).

dont pack too much stuff as you´ll end up buying clothes, accessories, shoes and other things at local "bazars" for pretty good price and if you get a chance, take the "dolmush" to Side or Manavgat and explore.

overall, I was very satisfied and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Returned back on the 20th october after a 2wk holiday,checking in very quick staff were friendly but we were greeted at first in german.The rooms were cleaned everyday,the whole of the hotel was clean from the pool down to the beach,if you like laying on the beach and don't like feeling cramped in best to get down early to get the best spots,beds were gone by 10am because people used to save them with towels then dissapear untill much later in the day.Most of the staff speak to you first in german untill they realise your english as most of the hotel was 85% german.we went to kumkoy for shopping as there was more choice there then colakli bus stops outside and costs 2.50 lire each everything is in euros but we took turkish lire and got better deals. Food was great in all the snack bars and main restaurant and the a la cartes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kazbar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A group of 7, ages from 20 to 65. We arrived at the Alba Queen early on the 7th September and came home the 16th. The hotel overall was fabulous, great service, lovely food and the animation/waiters work their socks off to keep you happy. The hotel in all was great, we just had a small hitch that made it look bad. One thing I'd advise is when they ask you if you're wanting a safety security box, get one. We had our daughter and her friend in one room while we were in another so we decided to get one safe and put all our passports etc in that one. Unknown to us, our daughters friend had left some Turkish money in her hand luggage bag which was placed in the wardrobe. We arrived on the Friday morning and she had 800 (turkish lira), by Monday afternoon there was only 300 left. Not putting the blame on any particular person but the only people to enter the room were maids and the guy who filled the fridge daily. Told management about this and all we got was 'if it wasn't in the safe then nothing can be done'. Fair enough, our mistake but the money did go at the end of the day and someone was looking through bags they shouldn't be.

Apart from this, I don't see any problems with the hotel. Plenty of food on offer, even though it was repetitive, you could enjoy it everynight. Rooms were great, the refillable fridge came in very handy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just arrived back from a week at Alba Queen. The rooms were nice, but just a little cramped around the table and chair section, otherwise nice and clean. The hotel was located by a beautiful beach, very sandy and lots of sun beds. It could be diificult to find an available sun bed if we arrived in the afternoon, so we usually went down around 10 am. The buffet restaurant had a very good selection, and the pool bar as well as the beach bar had an ok menu, if one wanted to avoid the buffet at lunch time. The critical issue we had were the two a la carte restaurants, one of the reasons that we chose Alba Queen, because we did not want to eat in the same restaurant every day. There was a caribbean and a thai for choices. But we were informed the morning after our arrival, that the only available table was on our last evening. We noticed that the a la carte restaurants took turns being open, so they were not open at the same time. We "chose" the thai, as it was the only avalable option. The service was very good, but the food had very little to do with Thai cuisine. The staff at the hotel were attentive, but we wery quickly aware that they were used to German guests, as most were more comfortable with speaking German than English. We had great service at the lobby bar, which was thanks to Mustafa and the other bartenders. I was offered a massage by the spa staff. The price was 50 euro(normally 60) for a 60 minute massage. I at first agreed. I then noticed that if you walk to the shopping area (10 minutes away), you can receive a combination package of 2½ hrs. for 18 euros. I was still planning on sticking with the massage at the hotel, but then my 19 yr. old daughter was offered a massage, body scrub and facial (by the same member of staff)for the price of 45 euros. I cancelled my appointment, because I think a hotel should offer the same rates to their guests, and the situation annoyed me. I would rate this hotel a good four star. I only gave it a four here due to the a la carte restaurants and the spa situation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLJDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The group of 14 ,ages from, 6 to 60 travelled to Turkey with Thomascook for a week the last week in Aug and we had a great time!
The staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived offering us drinks and cake while we checked in. The rooms where a bit dated ( ah oh who lives in the room) but clean.Rooms tidy everyday clean towels and pool towels changed everyday.
Our bags where bought up by the bell boy, we put stuff in the safe( small charge) and meet up in the resturant for a mid night snack, then a drink in the pool bar (24hr) There was no entertainment that night due to paying respect for the hotel owners son who had died on that day (22 aug) so if you are going next year on that date this may well be the case again.
Known as the sun bed queen( I get up early ) I got 12 sun beds saved at the top end of the pool near to bar and jucie machine ,you can help yourself to water juice as much as you like dring the day .This became our spot.
By 9.00 we had all gathered on the sun beds, here like everywhere some poeple put towels on sun beds and didnt use them till the afternoon .
Breakfast was great plenty of it ,fresh eggs cooked omletes even bacon one day !
We had a great time in the clean pool on the water shoots and joining in the pool games and dance .The entertaiment staff where great always stopping to talk ,if we didnt want to join in they where fine about it, most of the time one of us would join something shooting,archery, football waterpolo.
Lunch time we went into the pool bar on our first day we wanted to put 3 tables toghther (lots of tables not in use ) the staff where fine but the assistant manager Yasin wasnt very happy but we did managed it doing it with a waiter the food choice was not that great but what there was was good and you could have as much as you wanted. After the first day we went into the main resturant due to the heat (air con inside ).
Evening time we meet up for our meal we again wanted to sit together this seemed a problem to Yasin who said he has 900 people to feed but hang on he would still have 900 people to feed if we all sat on our own at different tables or all toghther at one .. again the waiters where great putting tables together for us this did result in Yasin giving us evil looks (with his sun glasses on his head). The waiters coudnt do enough for us yep maybe the euros helped but well worth it .
We went to the shows and some are good and some are not but your in Turkey not Broadway!
We joint in the Blues Brothers making idoits of oursleves but we where on holiday . The teenagers went to the dicso which is held at the Alba resort hotel bit of a walk but they enjoyed it .
We went to the beach bit of a walk down more of a walk back up but well worth it the beach the best we have been to in Turkey. We used the water sports, who gave us a good deal Great speed boat trip for my birthday and para sailing for Katys Jet skis got some wonderful pictures you can buy disc from the water sports man.
It was mine and little Katys birthdays while we where there and for a small fee quest relations sorted decoration and cake. For mine we all eat in the chinese the table was lovely and the waiter was so good, it was like a private party ok the choice of chinese wouldnt be the same as at home but it was good and tasted lovely and plenty of it.The cake ,what can i say there was 14 of us it would have feed 24.For Katys we had a table in the main resturant again the decoration was lovely and the staff where great only Yasin looking over but he didnt spoil the night. The cake again was big and lovely the waiters sang happy birthday.
We did complain about Yasin.That evening we walked into the resturant and where treated like the royal family the table was decorated and yes we had another cake which we shared with other quests.
We did have a problem on our pick up Thomas cook forgot to pick us up which made us late at the airport check in so we where all split up, shame they didnt even say sorry didnt seem bothered, will it stop us booking again, No .
We went with the mind set to have a good time and we did, ok we could have moaned about a few little things but why ? why let something so small spoil the holiday when you have ice cream 2 hours when you can eat as much as you want and we did !
We did feel we had to say something about Yasin.
Go with the idea to join in, You will have a good time. its not 5 star but we didnt pay 5 star money
Would we go back Yes we would.
Oh to answer the lady who said the beer /lager was cold thank heaven you wouldnt want hot when the temp is in the 40s and it may well have been my Husband who was saving 12 sun beds at 5.30 in the morning fixing banners and balloons for my birthday and katys ...
Great group holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agedangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
1.8 mi away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#7 of 44 in Colakli
965 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Alhambra Palace
Royal Alhambra Palace
#5 of 44 in Colakli
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kamelya Selin Hotel
Kamelya Selin Hotel
#9 of 44 in Colakli
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.2 mi away
VONRESORT Golden Coast
VONRESORT Golden Coast
#10 of 44 in Colakli
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alba Resort Hotel
Alba Resort Hotel
#14 of 44 in Colakli
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Queen Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Boulevard, No: 6, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#10 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#11 Family Hotel in Colakli
#11 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
Price Range: $67 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Queen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alba Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Queen Colakli
Alba Queen Hotel Colakli
Alba Queen Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing