We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Time!!!!”
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alba Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Time!!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Me and my husband went here for our honeymoon,we kept an open mind in regards to what the hotel would be like as we had not been to turkey in a long time, needless to say when we got there it was WOW....OMG the Hotel is gorg, we had a fab time here, the weather was soooo hot, hotel staff are lovely the buffet style dinner,lunch and breakfast has so much choice it would be hard not too find anything to eat...the only negative side to the holiday is the A LA CARTE resteraunts the service was vry poor, the entertainment during the day was vry repetetive every day......and sunbeds, we were getting up at 5.30am just to secure a sunbed with our towels thers just not enough, the beach is stunning and the sea is very warm,my only bit of advise would be, when you are leaving dependant on your flight if you have the opp to extend your room i would, we had a night flight and didn't take the opp and had to get changed in the hotel gym shower room, which had No Air Conditioning so itwas like getting dressed in a sauna.......anyone who stays at this hotel will have a fab time......we did, would go back.....take care....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    189
    71
    14
    14
See reviews for
127
563
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool ( las vegas of the north )
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

my hubby and i was so looking forward to our holiday
the only neg thing ican say of thetrip is it was not long enough
absolutley fantastic hotel and staff
words are no enough will def go back
thanku to all the staff at alba royal

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smile1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Having arrived at the hotel at 6pm after a delayed Thomas Cook flight we were taken to our room. The first room shown had 2 single beds and we immediately asked to change as we had explicitly booked a superior sea view room with a king size bed. The second room shown did have a double bed but was situated on the ground floor at the back of the hotel with overgrown shrubs on the terrace! Eventually after going back to reception again, the rude manageress said there were no more rooms. We stood our ground and said it was not acceptable until the very helpful bellboy said there was a room available. It makes you wonder who is running the hotel. The 3rd room was acceptable with a seaview and a king sized bed and we settled in. That night there was a strange beeping noise that we could hear through the headboard which made for an unsettled nights sleep. There was also some sort of zoo/farmyard under our room with some extremely loud cockerels crowing at all times of day. We reported this to guest relations in the morning and it transpired there was a problem with the telephone in the room next door. This was not sorted until the afternoon and only by the maid who pulled the phone cable out of the plug! The room itself was of a good standard although given that it was a superior room I wouldn't have wanted to stay in a standard room given the small size. The problems started again on the 3rd night with the external sound from the neighbouring hotel- the Alba Resort. The music was blaring out till nearly 1am making it impossible to sleep. The room was almost shaking with the bass even with the doors shut. This went on every night. I now know the lyrics for hokey cokey and other such cheesy delights off by heart now!!
We reported this to management again and they said as it wasn't their hotel they couldn't do much about it. (It is the same chain!). We were then moved a 4th time to a supposed upgraded room which was exactly the same as the previous room. This time the noise was still booming but now from the other Alba hotel- the Alba Queen. We basically just had to put up with it and realise that we were not going to get a good nights sleep at this hotel. Dont get me wrong, there were many positives about this hotel : the food is excellent with a wide range to suit all tastes and some excellent salads. The pool area is nice although very overcrowded. The usual rush to get up and bag a sunbed is in operation here. Fortunately my wife liked to go for a run early morning so she could get a bed before 7.30am. The drinks service and friendliness of staff is exceptional and a real credit to the hotel. I was very impressed with the quality of the Red and White wine on offer which was very drinkable although avoid the sparkling!! Champagne it is not. The 3 A la carte restaurants were good and made a nice change from the buffet. The cuban was a particular favourite although not exactly authentic. We actually managed to get Wifi in our room which was a bonus as it gave me something to do whilst enduring the 200db noise from outside.
Overall, I would say this is a good hotel if you get drunk every night and go to bed after 1am but if you want a peaceful relaxing break then forget it!
There is basically nothing to do outside of the hotel although we did go to Side one night although left after a few hours after getting fed up with the constant harrassment and rudeness of the restaurant and shop owners. If you like buying complete tat then this is the place for you. I may possibly go back to Turkey in the future but will pick my hotel and location carefully.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Just arrived back from the Alba Royal - what a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean surroundings, lovely room and the food is to die for. Mehmet the Guest Manager was very helpful and always there to deal with restaurant bookings etc. Pool and staff in the bars were great and friendly and we all felt very relaxed from the moment we arrived greeted with a cornetto ice cream at midnight!!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mgwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Have just returned from 2 weeks in the Alba Royal with my wife and had a wonderful time. Check-in was quick and painless and the staff were very efficient and friendly. We booked a superior room which had the extra king sized bed and a really big balcony overlooking the hotel gardens with a sea view. Nicely fitted, big flat screen TV, mini bar that was re-stocked daily - all in all very ncie room and very good air con. Only gripe was the bathroom a little on the small side.

The buffet restaurants were excellent and although we don't eat meat we do eat fish and there were normally plenty of options for us. I think maybe a strict vegetarian might struggle but for the meat eaters it looked like heaven. The desserts were especially good. The local wines are good and the beer is on draft and is nice and cold and not a bad drop. The staff in the restaurant were excellent - attentive most of the time but very accommodating if you asked for anything. We tipped a little but during our stay and then again at the end for those we really appreciated. We took some Turkish Lira and gave between 5 and 10 (about £2-£5) and it was really appreciated.

The pool area is very relaxed and spotlessly clean, the pool itself absolutely beautiful and so warm. The surrounding gardens are immaculately kept and a real credit to the little gardener chap who is out there in the blazing sun working his socks off. The animation team are very friendly, very hard working but not too pushy. They put on a variety of shows during a two-week cycle and they are all very enjoyable.

We knew it would be hot and we were not disappointed but what we were not so prepared for was the humidity - around 85% most evenings, which can make things a little uncomfortable. We'd been told by our travel agent that gents were expected to wear long trousers in the restaurants in the evenings but this was not the case, so I was glad I took some tailored shorts and 3/4 lengths as these were a lot more comfortable once you got outside and away from the air-con.

The "no under 14's" policy means that the atmosphere is just generally more relaxed and quiet but the animators will make sure you have plenty to do if you want it. There is a well equipped gym which we used quite a lot (air-conned) and just down the corridor from that is the spa which has a gorgeous in-door pool but also a jacuzzi which was quite cold at first but was a lovely place to cool off in.

There are two bars inside and one pool bar. The bar on the lower level stays open 24 hours while the one above closes at midnight. Both are nicely furnished and quite elegant and the bar staff are very friendly and will keep the cocktails and beer flowing. We used two of the three available "a la carte" restaurants (the Turkish one and the fish one) and whilst both were very good we decided to use only the main restaurant afterwards as the choice is better and the only real difference is the waiter service. We really like the buffet style approach and were really pleased with all three daily services in the main restaurants.

There are always funny quirks and things to improve upon but really they are too minor to mention. All in all, we were really pleased and impressed with the hotel, the staff and the facilities and had a really relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andrew19771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I can only say one negative thing about this holiday as everything else was just fantastic. The negative point is the standard rooms especially on the ground floor are only just big enough for two adults. So if you want to have three people in a room make sure you pay the small supplement and get a superior room. These are OK for three people. The food is lovely - we used all three of the a la carte restaurants - lovely food but too much. The hotel waiters are all fabulous - they cannot do enough to please you. One of the best things about this hotel was the animation team. They are all just BRILLIANT. They do not pester you but if you want to be active there is something to do for everyone all through the day. It is great just to be a bystander watching all the activities. The evening entertainment was very professional not some local cabaret. The live singers were a bit monotonous though. It really is a 24 hour all inclusive - but a classy one!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkshireVixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I travelled to this hotel with my partner and another couple and I can confidently say it is one of the best holidays I have ever been on.

The standard of the hotel is excellent and it was constantly being cleaned and maintained during our stay. It is luxurious and beautifully presented.

Our room was a pool/sea view room, with kingsize bed and balcony. Along with the rest of the hotel, the room was air conditioned (just for your information, the balcony door had to be shut for a minute before the air con would start working) which was a god send as it was very humid at night with it being August. The rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard and towels replaced if required. I had the best night sleep - the hotel is quiet and the beds are the so comfy!

The all-inclusive food and drink are all fantastic and you feel very spoilt! The buffet was plentiful with an excellent range of foods to suit all. The a la carte restaurants are amazing! There is Cuban, Turkish and Fish. Each is open for two nights (e.g. Tuesday and Wednesday = fish, Thursday and Friday =Cuban, etc) and you need to book these. Do this at the start of the holiday as you can only go to each one once during the week. They are very romantic, with three/four courses, candle light and excellent service: our drinks were filled almost as soon as we finished the last sip! You will definitely feel spoilt! It is a bit smarter in the a la carte so my partner wore black linen trousers with a shirt and some leather sandals. You can wear 3/4s in the buffet.

The pool area is kept very clean and tidy. As the week went on it became busier and busier and it can be difficult to get sunbeds after 9ish, expecially as we were trying to get four beds together. We were told at the welcome meeting that you shouldnt reserve beds before 8 but this was ignored and people got up early to get beds together. There is a choice of some lovely big parasols or some regular smaller ones. You will definitely need one - it was 36 in the shade when we went!

The only annoying thing about the being round the pool was the animation team who organise the games. They come round every hour asking you to take part in something - archery, rifle, pool game, darts, etc which is a bit annoying!

The beach is a mere 2 min walk from the hotel (if that!) and there are beds that belong to Alba Royal so you dont pay for them. There is a beach bar just round the corner from the pool bar along a path and it is definitely worth going to - the food is amazing!

At night there is some entertainment by the animation team, a selection of bars and a nightclub. You cant hear the night club in the hotel as it is soundproofed and to be honest it was rubbish, it was nearly empty most nights. We didnt go to this hotel for clubbing and it was much nicer to sit in the bar over looking the pool, sipping fantastic cocktails! The bar staff are lovely and chatty but be aware there is no concept of measures and the cocktails can be quite strong! Not that we were complaining...!

We went out of the hotel on evening to Side on a little bus (around 2E each one way) and had a look at the genuine fakes. You can barter prices down to almost 1 third of the price they originally give you. There were some lovely items but the shop keepers can be a bit pushy and will follow you around if you are not firm with them. The island takes lira and euros so either currency will do. Lira is just double euro.

This hotel was lovely for a romantic break. It is well worth the money and you will not be disappointed! We would defintely go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank en06ajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
0.1 mi away
Alba Queen Hotel
Alba Queen Hotel
#8 of 42 in Colakli
795 reviews
1.7 mi away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#6 of 42 in Colakli
822 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
0.7 mi away
Royal Alhambra Palace
Royal Alhambra Palace
#4 of 42 in Colakli
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Can Garden Resort
Can Garden Resort
#5 of 42 in Colakli
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Property: Alba Royal Hotel
Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#2 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#2 Family Hotel in Colakli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing