We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC !”
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alba Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is our second holiday at the Alba Royal and having read some of the reviews, we were concerned that things may have changed from last year.

This is not a place for young people unless they want to just switch off and relax in the sun but for 40's plus, this is a wonderful hotel.

The food is first class, such variety and you never get fed up with it, ice creams Cornetto's, Twisters etc etc available all day as well as pancakes by the pool cafe, every drink imaginable and a little tea and cake area in the afternoons. The hotel and pool and all outside areas are spotlessly clean.

This is a perfect holiday for relaxation, there was never a shortage of sun beds, did not have to go and put towels down first thing, the staff did not favour the German people as one of your reviews said and the private beach, with a beautiful restaurant and coffee and drinks machine on the beach were perfect. No problems with air conditioning.

The animation team have been cut from about 8 people to four, this made no difference, there was still the water gym in the morning and usual activities and different shows, dances, live music on an evening, all geared towards the 40 plus age group.

My husband took ill and had to be hospitalised whilst we were there and the staff were so helpful and kind, especially the hospitality lady and Helena and Petra.

I could highly recommend this hotel if you want to switch off, lie in the sun and be pampered.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navigatorSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 935 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at the alba royal and I have to say it seems some people on here just try to find fault, however I can safely say it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Check-in was flawless and easy esp after arriving at 6am due to delays. Hotel is lovely inside and out. mini bar in room with a choice of soft drinks and filled up daily free of charge. I read reviews which said the air con was only at certain times, this was not the case for us, the air con was fantastic and worked all the time we had the key in the room.
The meals are good too, I am a fussy eater but I still found plenty to keep me going, the soups are especially tasty. It is true that some waiters/waitresses only give good service if you tip immediately, I do not think that that should be the case, and I never tipped to receive good service, instead I discovered the ones who enjoyed providing the good service and tipped them on my last day as a thank you.
The sun bed situation at the pool is no where near as dramatic as some people have made out. I was generally out as the pool between 8:45-9am and had a choice of spots. The beach is also full of sunbeds which are shaded, as temps soared daily into the high 30s.
The entertainment was good fun at night, not too loud but just enough. The clientèle is more into the 40-60s, however we are 25 and 28 and we still had great fun. after all the holiday is what you make of it, if you want to dwell on the negatives you may find then ultimately you will have a less enjoyable time. I would definitely return to the alba royal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fifi34198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our first time in turkey and therefore cannot make any comparisons.have been many Caribbean all inclusives and this hotel compares favourably in many areas.spotlessly clean everywhere.nice bedrooms with good air con and minibar restocked daily with soft drinks,beer and snacks.buffet restaurant was good with an excellent choice of hot food every night.did all 3 a la carte restaurants and all good with the fish one excellent.only let down was evening entertainment (or lack of it some nights) but the small team this year did the best they could.mustapha was a star.one thing we really liked was the availability of freshly cooked food from 11.00 to 5.30 each day at the beach cafe and pool cafe.overall it was excellent and would we return? - definitely!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trev602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

On the whole an excellent hotel.

Bedrooms -very good and great air conditioning that actually works and is not too noisy. Worth having a sea view room. No alcohol in the room mini-bar but perhaps this is a general thing with all inclusive.

Food -very good always plenty of choice for all tastes. Beer and wine choice not extensive but what they had was good quality.

Entertainment - not generally our thing but there seemed to be enough going on for most. Apparently it has been reduced this year then that’s fine by us. The reason we picked an adult hotel was for some peace. If you want non stop entertainment then go somewhere else. Interesting that people moan about the lack of entertainment but any shows always seemed poorly attended.

Sunbeds- we always managed to get a couple of beds together at any time of day around the pool. Even more beds on the beach. Seems that people often come and go so there’s always something available and we never bothered with the dawn ‘towel’ rush to reserve beds which is always ridiculous and quite unnecessary here

Tipping -some have moaned about this. Seems to us this is a very German thing and they tip everything! We did tip sometimes which was obviously appreciated but we never felt any pressure to tip or any less service if we didn’t.

Local shopping was poor, usual tat plus everything is priced in euros which is annoying if you have managed to get a good deal on your lira but then are subject to whatever dodgy lira-euro exchange rate the shop decides to apply.

Also there seem some very aggressive shop assistants in the nearby shops and we felt quite threatened once for daring to walk away. Never seen anything like it in other parts of Turkey! Persistent yes, aggressive no!

In summary we found the hotel was very good, no doubt some would disagree and its always subjective which is the problem with this website. We had a very relaxing holiday in comfortable hotel. Don’t be put off by other moaning minnies!

Room Tip: Get sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinwilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the area but the first time at the Alba Royal.
From booking in to the last day we were delighted with all aspects of this hotel and are surprised at some of the negative reviews recently. The rooms are spotlessly clean - we were given a standard room in block 1 facing the sea and pool on floor 2 which was perfect for us. We did not experience any noise problems from the nearby zoo as was suggested by previous guests. Food in main restauant good quality,plentiful and lots of variety. A special thanks to Aydin the waiter who made our dining special each evening with our own bottle of wine in an ice bucket!! We went to two of the a la carte restaurants, the Turkish and the Cuban and both were fantastic! (we do not eat fish so gave the fish one a miss!) All staff in the bars and restaurants have an amazing ability to remember what you have to drink - even after just one evening!! We understand that the animation team have been vastly reduced this year and yes, the evening entertainment is not exactly lively but to be honest, that is not what we went away for and the atmosphere at the pool bar each evening was lovely and relaxing. We also always managed to get sunbeds by the pool but would say that if you want beds with a brolley ( a must in the heat!) then it is wise to reserve them by 9 o clock in the morning. We made some lovely new friends and we will be returning to the Alba Royal next year!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and sea on first or second floor. I understand the top floor rooms ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina M, Guest Relations Manager at Alba Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Our dear Friend,

thank you so much for your lovely review on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday!

We hope to welcome you to Alba Royal Hotel again some day!

We wish you a good year!

Sunny greetings from Turkey

Your Alba Royal Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Alba and although there were a few changes it was still a fab holiday.The animation team had been cut back from 12 last year to 4 this year so obviously they struggled to do the same as last year but they did try. The entertainment at night wasn't as good as previous years but then again we'd seen the same shows every year. A trio played a couple of nights & there was taped music some nights but you could get up & dance if you wanted to.I felt quite sorry for Mustafa & Anna as everyone was moaning at them about the changes which were nothing to do with them. The food was as good as ever with loads of choice. We used all 3 a la carte restaurants & they were all excellent.Special mention to Halil who recognised us from last year... He does a fantastic job in the restaurant & the pool bar. We met about 15 couples who have been there the last few years... Most said they wouldn't be going back next year because of the changes. Personally nothing that had changed spoilt our holiday & we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Alba Royal and despite an eleven hour homeward bound delay the whole hotel experience was as good as ever. We spend most of the day on the beach or retire to the beach bar in the afternoon
so do not utilise the entertainment offered by the animation team.However given much reduced numbers I thought Anna and her team did as much as they could.
All staff in bars and restaurant and a la carte deserve all the applause and no one should be singled out. We would however like to thank Suat and Suleyman. (Mr Hoo!)
The chefs also continue to produce a superb variation of food on a daily basis when it cannot be easy to please everyone and different nationalities.
Management team also deserves mention as with their input things seem to happen in a seamless fashion.
We may well be back again next year and thank all for our sheer enjoyment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugh_patcochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colakli hotels
0.1 mi away
Alba Queen Hotel
Alba Queen Hotel
#12 of 44 in Colakli
840 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamelya Selin Hotel
Kamelya Selin Hotel
#8 of 44 in Colakli
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Alhambra Palace
Royal Alhambra Palace
#5 of 44 in Colakli
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Can Garden Resort
Can Garden Resort
#6 of 44 in Colakli
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Max Holiday Hotels Side Stone Palace
0.2 mi away
Club Grand Side
Club Grand Side
#13 of 44 in Colakli
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#1 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#2 Family Hotel in Colakli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#3 Best Value Hotel in Colakli
Price Range: $64 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing