We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking,lovely food and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Akyarlar
Certificate of Excellence
Broadwoodkelly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice looking,lovely food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights at end of 2 week holiday. Arrived 6pm after struggling to find it, we used sat nav and asking other hotels. They didn't have the standard room we booked so got upgraded to family suite. The room was clean with one bedroom with double bed and single bed and a living room/kitchen with single bed. The kitchen had a good sized fridge but no kettle but the restaurant where you eat had hot water,tea etc all day. The main cook spoke good English and was helpful and all the staff we encountered were lovely. The pool looked clean and the hotel was attractive with the flowered covered buildings. There is a car park around the back which has some shade. There is a lot of stairs which makes it difficult to get bags up to rooms and they wash the stairs to get rid of the petals and it is very easy to slip on them so be careful. The beach isn't too far away and there is buses that go past frequently.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    57
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
102
89
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at Sunny Gardens for ten days with partner and two sons (aged 13 and 8). We had a fantastic holiday all round and the hotel was perfect for our needs. Our room was downstairs (near the pool) and children slept in lounge area (separate room). It was basic, but very clean and had a fridge big enough for our needs. The pool was perfect, the other guests and indeed the staff were lovely and the food was yummy and varied so there was something for everyone. Air con is extra but we knew that before we left and so weren't surprised by this. Sunny Garden was not overly fussy and pretentious, but we weren't looking for that. It was fairly small, pretty and quaint with a lovely atmosphere and represents great value for money. We would recommend and stay again. Thanks Ahmet and the team. Rach, Jun and the boys x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rach k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Myself and husband and two young children (5 and 2) had a lovely, relaxing time at this hotel. The outlook of the hotel is lovely, nestled into the hillside with a group of 4 or 5 attractive, flower covered buildings surrounding a pool and bar area.

We stayed in one of the suites that seemed fairly spacious and you had a room for the adults and the children slept in a lounge area that also had a fridge, wardrobe etc. Our balcony was very small and you couldn't sit out but it was fine for drying towels etc. The rooms were cleaned daily and you could get air con for 5 pounds which was definitely needed in a very hot August. There were a lot of stairs up to our room and if I came again I would ask to have one of the lower level rooms by the pool as it made us hard for us to use the pushchair. Rooms were clean and simple. Water pressure could be a problem on occasion, probably as we were at the top of the building. We had a nice view over to the sea and across to the surrounding mountains.

The pool area was nice - a bigger pool and a children's paddling pool which my kids loved and the pool area was kept spotlessly clean. We travelled in August, high season yet there were always plenty of beds. Take your own towels as they are not supplied. The beach is a short 5 min walk away but is very busy and is dark sand so we tended to stay at the pool.

We had a great boat trip - get the Hotel to book it for you (NOT the rep). This boat trip was only 40TL pp (half price for kids), picks you up from the hotel and goes from the little marina at Akylarlar which saves the bother of going into Turgutries. And they will even drop you on the jetty of the beach opposite - almost a door to door service.

The Dolmas run from outside the hotel and are a great way to get around. About 11TL for all 4 of us to get into Bodrum (with the kids on our laps). Bodrum castle well worth a visit and the market in Turgutreis.

I really enjoyed the food. It is very Turkish so look elsewhere if you would prefer chips with everything, Brits abroad-type cuisine. But always two main courses with rice or potatoes and then a huge array of salads and cold dishes. Breakfasts consisted of selection of breads, an egg dish, olives, cheeses, cold meats etc. Some cereals although not great and I would have liked a good muesli to be on offer. Free tea and coffee all day long which was a nice touch. I would have liked to see some jugs of juice out at breakfast for the children. For lunches there was a pool menu which was fine or you could get stuff from the supermarket over the road and picnic which is really good - lots of choice.

With two under-sixes we weren't really looking for a kicking nightlife and it is very pleasant to drink a cold beer in the bar after dinner before getting the little ones to bed. We didn't really want to wander too far at night as the roads are pretty dark and would have been worried about the traffic. Although I assume the dolmas would still be running if you wanted to go further into Turgutries. There are a a few other restaurants quite close by if you wanted to explore.

Staff were all very helpful and friendly (although some do not speak much English) but Ahmed does and they would go and fetch him when they needed to translate!

All in all we had a great time and I would definitely recommend this Hotel if you are looking for a relaxing place to spend a holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuisieSiouxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

my wife and myself really enjoyed our 2 weeks holiday at the sunny gardens nilufer hotel the turkish food was excellant the hotel was clean the staff was very helpful i especially want to thank mustafa from gaziantep at the reception desk thank you to all the staff from mustafa and canev from london

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69mustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is very average and if its complete nothing to do you is what you want then this is the place to go! We had room 601 and its the equivalent of a double bedroom in caravan . No facilities had to ask for a fridge . And buy paper cups ! It's clean and the staff are very helpful there is a very small bar and I emphasize the small and although there for 2weeks seen no entertainment. All this said if your prepared to use it as a base and spend some of your time on the local bus to get out and about a pleasant holiday can be achieved ,or stay on site relax read a book and catch a suntan air on is very poor and at 5pound a night ????? You can buy a large fan next door for 49tl

Room Tip: I use the fitness centre as a1because there are soooooo many steps you have to be in good health x
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are looking for a holiday in the sun in a clean, very friendly hotel with plentiful but basic food then this is the place for you. If, like me, you also like an evening stroll along a seafront, and a choice of restaurants, or more than 2 people in the bar after 9pm then look elsewhere.
Sunny Garden is a good 15 minute walk from a small selection of restaurants ranging from fairly pricey (but good quality) seafood to poor quality cafes. The road is badly lit and pot-holed, has no pavement and traffic is fast. This road also makes transfers to Bodrum for day trips arduous, uncomfortable and up to 90 mins long (the local bus is great and takes much less time).
The supermarket next door is excellent and the small fridge in the room means you can stock up with orange juice, milk and water. Important, especially if you have children as none are served at breakfast.
The pool area is lovely and generally very quiet, but beware the surfaces are very slippery in bare feet and I saw a couple of accidents. There are also lots of concrete steps to the pool and bar area and to most rooms which would make life very difficult for some.
This hotel is like Marmite - you either love the peace and quiet and return many times, or find it too quiet and isolated. Take your pick!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DroitwichBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Arrived at 3am to be greated by a young man wasnt given a welcome pack or told what time breakfast was or dinner as we was half board, but told air con was £5 a day (which didnt work properly! ) room was clean but small cleaner came most days, breakfast.... shocking scrabbled or hard boiled every day n fruit dinner was more so shocking beat balls n rice salad chicken one night could of knocked one of many cats that sit with u at breakfast n dinner no fruit juice or water but as I found out by the end if my hoilday tea n coffee is free, but after staying there for a week ive lost half a stone!!!! Pool is lovely very quiet, not the best place to stay if unable to climb uo stair as thwre is soooo many!!! When we left we had no help with suitcases or a goodbye!! Area is quite beaches there are horrible unless you dont mind sitting on someone s lap!!!! Boat trips was the best thing ever which I wish we did every day cost £15 got feed well to!!! Overall wouldnt go back again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahsm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akyarlar
0.2 mi away
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
#1 of 14 in Akyarlar
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Bellazure
SENTIDO Bellazure
#3 of 14 in Akyarlar
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
#6 of 14 in Akyarlar
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bendis Beach Hotel
Bendis Beach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Akyarlar
354 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bodrum Imperial
Bodrum Imperial
#4 of 14 in Akyarlar
1,384 reviews
9.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel

Property: Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel
Address: Ataturk Caddesi No: 281, Akyarlar 48960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Akyarlar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akyarlar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akyarlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel is a friendly, family-run, boutique style hotel situated 200 metres (225 yards) from one of the most beautiful, unspoilt, sandy bays on the Bodrum Peninsula. Under Sunny Garden Hotels management, the Nilufer Hotel is ideal for couples, families and is especially for children. If you are looking for a truly enjoyable holiday experience in Turkey, this is the ideal location. Situated just 40 km. (25 miles) from Bodrum International Airport, you will have easy access to both the popular town centres of Turgutreis (8 km./5 miles) and Bodrum (19km./12 miles). Both Turgutreis and Bodrum can be accessed using the local dolmuses (buses) which pass by the front of the hotel several times an hour. Along with a 24-hour service, the Hotel facilities include swimming pool (including children's pool), indoor and outdoor restaurants (serving both British and International food), poolside bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Garden Nilufer Akyarlar
Hotel Sunny Garden Nilufer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing