We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Akyarlar
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here last week and was very happy overall. We arrived late as our flight was delayed but even though the kitchen was closed they rustled us up a great meal with side salad and loads of bread - we were expecting to go to bed hungry. Rooms were clean and tidy and of a good size. All staff were very helpful and when we had a problem with the air con were moved to a larger room the next morning with no fuss whatsoever. When the time came for us to leave they even booked our transfers for us without us having to mess around doing it ourselves. Pool was of a good size with plenty of loungers for guests. If you fancy some peace and quiet then this could well be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmParkJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    53
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
86
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

In June my daughter and I went to this hotel for a week because our favorite hotel, Medis Hotel was closed due to renovations. Though we made our reservation in advance, we were asked to stay the first two nights in a lousy room three steep flights of stairs up because the hotel was sold out (we later learned that the room was ordinarily used by staff, not by guests). My daughter is very good-natured and did not complain about our room, but I was very disappointed and ready to move to another hotel. Two days later, though, we were given a regular room which was nice, clean and spacious (however, we were charged the full price at the end, though for the first two nights our room was worthless). After the large tourist group left, the hotel was all of a sudden almost empty and they did not It got much better once more guests arrived and buffet dinners came back. The staff was friendly, though I thought they were a little too chummy with the hotel guests at times. Some of the young men working there should change their shirts every once in a while and/or use a deodorant.
The hotel is about 150-200 m from the beach. Luckily we were picked up every morning and again brought back to our hotel (Sunny Garden) in the evenings by the very friendly and professional staff of Medis Hotel (the beach and the snack bar/cafe of Medis Hotel was open for our vacation in Bodrum/Karaincir. Next summer, though, we will go back to Medis Hotel (new name Liv Hotel).
Overall, Nilufer Sunny Garden Hotel is a nice, mid-range hotel which did not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FI_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a great holiday and my daughter has not stopped talking about it for a year now,the staff were very friendly especially Elvis who was great,the food was lovely and as my wife is Turkish I was so used to the Turkish food,lovely room,also nice bar with music being played all day,probably the only disappointment was the distance to beach but only a 10min walk,I would reccomend for families but not for young party animals overall good marks.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reikiman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean tidy simply decorated which provided a soothing backdrop for a chilled out stay. I was looking for peace and quiet and was not disappointed. The nearest town is only 20mins on the local bus which picks up just outside the hotel. 30mins the other way to Bodrum. No entertainment at hotel thank goodness, I went in the last week of may , perhaps its livelier later on in the season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband Perry and I and our 4 year old son Calum stayed at the Sunny Garden Hotel on the 17TH - 24 May 2012. We wanted a relaxing holiday and this is EXACTLY what we got here.

1) HOW WERE THE STAFF? The manager Adviye is such a kind lady with a big heart! As soon as we got there we were greeted by her and after a short conversation Adviye kindly offered us a free upgrade from a standard room to a suite! This literally made my first day. We were then shown into our room whilst our luggage was carried into our room for us. .

All staff were really friendly and always there to help you, from serving food and drink to grabbing you a sunbed cushion or teaching you how to speak Turkish! One night we arrive backed from Bodrum town quite late ( after ten o'clock) but the kind chef still whipped us up a chicken meal.

Everyone was always so cheerful and happy.

Adviye also helped us to arrive activities during the week like going for a boat cruise and taking us fishing - Very helpful.

1) How clean is the hotel?
This hotel is immaculate,we really don't understand why its given 3 stars? The bedroom was literally cleaned out everyday, new towels and bedsheets everyday. the hotel pool area was cleaned out every morning and the kitchen was spotless. ( Note: this hotel has quite a few cats so if your not a cat person it might bug you ) The view from our balcony was breath taking, as it looked out onto the mountains. The second morning we went into town and came back to a beautiful surprise, the cleaner had made up our bed with flowers and heart shaped towels, our son also got a swan made out of towels too.

2) How was the food? The food was really good. the first night we came the chef cooked us chicken pasta and salad with a moose dessert, although it was nice we spoke to the chef and said that we love Turkish food and if he wouldn't mind cooking us that during the stay and that is exactly what we got! My son Calum loved the desserts and at times they even gave him 2x desserts per night! One night the manager Adviye took us fishing and my husband caught a massive fish and the chef cooked it for us as soon as we got back to the hotel, we had never eaten such fresh fish before.( if you ever wanted to eat out there are plenty of great restaurants in the town centre.) We went half board which meant breakfast and dinner. For breakfast you have an option of cereal, but usually there are boiled eggs, fresh bread, olives, fresh tomatos and cucumber,cheeses and a selection of ham. If you like honey don't forget to ask for the pine honey - it's amazing. There was also a large selection of spreads like jam, butter, chocolate spread and cheese spreads.

3) How was the location? There is a massive supermarket just next door so you can always grab fruit or snacks there. There is one cafe beside the hotel and two by the beach.There is a small beach literally a minute walk away, the sand is not fine and is quite dark, as they were preparing for the June period the beach was empty and we found that the Turgutreis Beach to be more beautiful and relaxing which is just a bus away. You can catch a bus there within 15-20 mins right outside the hotel. Buses to Bodrum centre was also very esay to catch out side the hotel which took 30mins. The bus journeys were very reasonably priced at just £1 per way so we were going into town everyday.

4) Bodrum: if you miss home at all whilst your out there in Bodrum there is a cinema and park area for children and lots of bars and cafes which have british TV nights like football matches.

5) Turgutreis: There is an amazing food market in Turgutreis on saturdays where you can find all the nuts and dried fruits and fresh fruits in the world! we brought a big bag of saffron for about £4 which would have costed alot more in London. It's Three liras to the british pound so we found most things to be quite cheap.

We went on a boat trip in Turgutreis for my husbands birthday and it was very cheap. worked out to be £12 per adult for a 6 hour boat trip, swimming in the ocean was an amazing experience.

6) Advice: we were told that at the start of june - august is when the hotel is at it's busiest so if you want to fully relax we would reccommend to go before the june period or in september, but go ahead between june-Augest if you don't mind it being busier!

Also we travelled in May and the first couple of days rained so make sure you pack some warm clothes too. i found the first couple of nights to be quite cold and needed an extra blanket. i'm sure it's fine in the warmer periods.

It is very easy to change money in Turkey, we changed our money as the days went by, and got about 280 liras which works out to be £100

When going to Turkey you will need to purchase a visa which costs £10 per person.

We booked with easyjet and when we arrived at the airport we were charged an extra £15 for transfers which were paid for already so make sure you double check if your flying with easyjet.

The people generally in Turkey are very lovely people, you couldnt walk pass someone in the street without smiling or saying hello, completely different to the English way. You will really enjoy Turkey and especially staying at this hotel, The people in this hotel MADE our holiday and we are very grateful for all of the kindness they gave us during the stay. And we are ready to go back there again pretty soon!

Hope this review helped you!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view, that way you can look out at the mountains every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynnfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Arrived to a warm welcome from Adviye (the owner) and her staff. The hotel is ideal if you want to relax and enjoy the best of Turkish hospitality.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful - this includes the smiling cleaning staff. It really made the holiday to be able to engage Turkish staff in conversation - they have a great sense of humour!
The food was great with excellent choice of dishes including amazing selection of messy salad which was delicious. Food was so good on site there is no need to find local restaurants, although there are plenty locally and in the local town of Turgutreis - 9km away by very cheap 'Dolmus' bus which stops right outside the hotel.
The room was very spacious with VERY comfortable bed and excellent air conditioning. We even had a sea view without even asking for. It appears many rooms have this.
The pool was superb, cleaned every evening and nice temperature (not too hot). Bar area was nicely designed with shade if you need it. Drink selection good and not expensive at all. Bar menu for lunch offered good choice and again was great value and quality food - portion sizes were very generous.
We enjoyed our 9 days and are looking forward to returning in 2012. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If you want good value, great comfort, great food, friendly encounters and above all the chance to chill out and relax, then this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_Spink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed here with my family (8 year old and 9 month old baby) & we really liked this hotel & the atmosphere. From initial email contact onwards, the hotel was very efficient & quickly arranged the transfer from Bodrum airport. Our room was spotless with simple but very stylish decor. The bathroom was also very clean & the beds very comfy with well-sprung mattresses. The pool is great & is in very well-kept & pretty gardens. We found the staff all very friendly & helpful. Good, large buffet breakfast - mostly Turkish style with some excellent local cheeses, olives etc- but some hot food too, usually egg- based. The buffet dinners were generally OK with plenty of food and some good salads and veg dishes. The homemade soups were consistently very good whereas some of the choice of hot main courses weren't that exciting. Very nice touch to have access to free tea & coffee all day. Free parking outside in the hotel in a small car park. As a tourism professor I really appreciated this hotel & what they are doing as it isn't just another faceless one for the mass market around Bodrum. It does have a character & the pool/garden are has great views of the local hills and coast. It has great potential. One small thing: the large 'no outside food' sign on each entrance door is not a welcoming sight for arriving guests especially since the hotel is only 20m from the local supermarket!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubaguyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akyarlar
0.2 mi away
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
#2 of 13 in Akyarlar
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Bellazure
SENTIDO Bellazure
#3 of 13 in Akyarlar
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
#6 of 13 in Akyarlar
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bendis Beach Hotel
Bendis Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Akyarlar
325 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bodrum Imperial
Bodrum Imperial
#4 of 13 in Akyarlar
1,190 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#5 of 54 in Turgutreis
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel

Property: Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel
Address: Ataturk Caddesi No: 281, Akyarlar 48960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Akyarlar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akyarlar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akyarlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel is a friendly, family-run, boutique style hotel situated 200 metres (225 yards) from one of the most beautiful, unspoilt, sandy bays on the Bodrum Peninsula. Under Sunny Garden Hotels management, the Nilufer Hotel is ideal for couples, families and is especially for children. If you are looking for a truly enjoyable holiday experience in Turkey, this is the ideal location. Situated just 40 km. (25 miles) from Bodrum International Airport, you will have easy access to both the popular town centres of Turgutreis (8 km./5 miles) and Bodrum (19km./12 miles). Both Turgutreis and Bodrum can be accessed using the local dolmuses (buses) which pass by the front of the hotel several times an hour. Along with a 24-hour service, the Hotel facilities include swimming pool (including children's pool), indoor and outdoor restaurants (serving both British and International food), poolside bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Garden Nilufer Akyarlar
Hotel Sunny Garden Nilufer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing