We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Stadium Tavern

Stadium Tavern
Ranked #5 of 5 Quick Bites in Alexandra
Price range: $5 - $19
Description: We are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner - Saturdays we are open right through from 11.00 am until approx. 9.30 pm -
Restaurant details
Description: We are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner - Saturdays we are open right through from 11.00 am until approx. 9.30 pm -
Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

We have dined here in the past and always found it to be good. However on this occasion we were disappointed. We ordered 3 meals, the steak, chicken filo and also chicken schnitzel. The steak was amazing, cooked well and a very generous meal. Unfortunately that is where the compliments end. The chicken schnitzel was 2 chicken patties like the Tegel takeouts you buy at the supermarket, not the big freshly crumbed schnitzel we expected. The filo was a different flavour to what was advertised and had obviously been microwaved as the pastry was tough and rubbery rather then buttery and crumbly. The atmosphere was good, typical to any pub but unfortunately we will not be eating here again.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 124taniap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

This tavern has plenty of space, service is great, and a good family atmosphere. What I especially like about this place is that they will mix and match food for you if the menu options are not exactly what you are after.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 563GavinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyC3697, Owner at Stadium Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Thank you Gavin - I will pass this onto my staff - We try on most occasions to keep our customers happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Down for the Alex 7's and this is where everyone gathers. They do have food and drinks are not cheap with a cider being $10 for a small handle. Couple of pool tables with pokies.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 422iana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Excellent bistro menu, but I wanted something a little different, and it was no trouble to have that organised. Huge portions. Chef came out several times to check how our meal was. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 563GavinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, Owner at Stadium Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you for that - Will pass onto our staff. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

A very good local Tavern with an excellent Restaurant , Plenty of Parking , a comfortable place to stop for a meal .

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank OliverWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, Owner at Stadium Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Very much appreciated will pass onto my staff (in particular my kitchen staff) - Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stadium Tavern also viewed

 
Alexandra, Central Otago
 
Alexandra, Central Otago
 

Been to Stadium Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing