We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say? Excellent!”
Review of Speargrass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Speargrass Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Alexandra B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a totally impromptu visit for morning tea and had scrumptious scones and the best apricot conserve I have ever tasted. Coffee was brilliant, service exceptional - all in all 110 out of 100.

This place is a jewel and well worth popping in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We always make time to stop here as the food and atmosphere are awesome! Great kids meals too, was impressed that the chicken and chips had real chicken strips instead of processed chicken nuggets whichare usually on kids menus. Their brunch menu is lovely as are their steak and chicken sandwiches. The relaxed friendly service makes you wish to while away the hours and not leave. Ticks all the boxes...so do drop in!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was pouring down the day we had lunch here. The buildings are fantastic and the service and staff are excellent.
My only suggestion would be to add some local craft beers to augment the boring old major brewery faithfuls.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We always time our trips through to central Otago to ensure we stop at Speargrass Inn for at least a coffee but usually a meal, The service and food and surrounds are excellent. Dish of the day is always an interesting take on local seasonal produce. We nearly always end up taking some othe home made jams and preserves too. A must. Also well worth a 'destination' trip. Plan a sober driver and have some local wines with your meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 317BarryK317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the place for great food, coffee, and service. Good for every occasion and fitting for couples, families, and 'girls day out'. The staff are very friendly yet professional, and accommodating. Bonus to go on a Sunday in the summer when the markets are on and get a double deal. Sometimes have art exhibitions. Check their web-site, as they close for winter too, so don't expect them to be open 7 days all year round.
Accommodation - while I haven't stayed, I have had the privilege of having a look through, and it all looks fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We recently stayed here and had one of the best experiences ever (and we have travelled in NZ and Europe/Asia/Australia a lot). It is a delightful place to stay. It has a warm and inviting feel about it. The dinner and breakfast were superb, and the service provided (Anna) was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. The onion marmalade (available to purchase) is very good too. Am looking forward to a repeat visit.
Adrienne, Auckland, NZ

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24Adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed with my husband over Easter. A wonderful romantic weekend without the kids. This place is delightful. The service by Rebecca was superb & the in-house chef Joel is one of the best we know in Central Otago. Delicious dinner of scotch fillet, great local wine list, comfy bed so close (50 steps) to restaurant & then yummy eggs benedict for breakfast. I fully recommend this restaurant with boutique accommodation to others wanting to stop over in central otago for the night or to celebrate a special occasion. Just 10mins south of Alexandra on State Highway 8

Room Tip: The 3 rooms available are all similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna612500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandra hotels
8 mi away
Centennial Court Motor Inn
Centennial Court Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Alexandra
54 reviews
8.2 mi away
Almond Court Motel
Almond Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Alexandra
82 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mirabell Chalets
Mirabell Chalets
#1 of 8 in Alexandra
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Alexandra Motor Lodge
Alexandra Motor Lodge
#3 of 3 in Alexandra
17 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alexandra Garden Court Motel
8.1 mi away
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
#1 of 12 in Alexandra
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speargrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speargrass Inn

Address: 1300 Fruitlands-Roxburgh Road | State Highway 8, Alexandra 9392, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Alexandra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandra
Price Range: $121 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speargrass Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speargrass Inn is an upmarket cafe & restaurant offering delicious country fare and a boutique accommodation service. Located in Central Otago New Zealand near Alexandra, this beautifully restored historic stone cottage also offers wedding and meeting room facilities, and prides itself on warm and friendly Kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Speargrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing