We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local pub”

Monteiths Brewery Bar Alexandra
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Alexandra
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good local pub”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had lunch here: beers and burgers, on the outdoor patio. The patio is pleasant, there are a variety of beers on tap, everything arrived promptly, and the burgers were good. We would go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    51
    28
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had the seafood chowder and my husband the sausages (locally made) and mash which we both enjoyed very much. Good pub food and a great ambience, we would go there again when travelling in that area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dining”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I dined here with my husband during the week .. and although the restaurant wasn't busy ... the delay with food ordering and delivery was quite slow. The meals themselves were great - generally standard 'pub' type fare - fish and chips, steaks, burgers ... but nothing spectacular. Dessert was a major disappointment (and to be honest I am one of those people who decides on dessert before anything else !!) ... nothing that made me think Oooo I must try that.
I know that this is a pub in a rural-type area ... but I think that those in charge should draw the line at serving patrons in GUMBOOTS !! Not a good look !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRACKEN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukerau, Southland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great setting and experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We enjoyed the food and coffee in relaxed surroundings with ample room. Good for friends and families alike.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PukHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced, boring food”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I only ate here because it was the only restaurant open in town in the evening. It was warm , so that was something as it was very cold outside. If you are not into carbs, don't eat here. Most of the menu is hamburgers. I didn't want a steak or fish and chips so instead had a stir fry which cost about $28.50. I could have had a more delicious one for $9 at the foodcourt in Ponsonby.
This place has the monopoly of food in the evenings during winter and yet they just serve unimaginative, expensive fare. If only the Shakey Bridge Cafe was open at night.
I am in Alexandra quite often so next time will check out the various pubs. There must be blue cod somewhere which is not in batter?
The beer was good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatPonsTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbike, Owner at Monteiths Brewery Bar Alexandra, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Clearly whether or not the reviewer liked our stirfry is a matter of personal judgement, however they should have made more effort to get their facts right before making public announcements.

1) There are over 20 items on our menu of which only two are burgers.

2) By my count there are approximately 12 restaurants in Alexandra that are open for evening dining and while I cannot be sure they were all open on the night in question in seems unlikely that they were all closed. To suggest so is to unfair to our community.

3) Our food costings are very carefully worked out and lie within the industry norms.

4) Our menu clearly states that if customers have requirements not met by our menu they can ask for changes. When customers have asked for Blue Cod without batter we oven bake it for them.

Interestingly enough the two biggest sellers on our menu are the Blue cod and the Beef and Bacon Burger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteiths Brewery Bar Alexandra also viewed

Alexandra, Central Otago
 
Alexandra, Central Otago
 
Alexandra, Central Otago
Alexandra, Central Otago
 

Been to Monteiths Brewery Bar Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing