We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Nidia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nidia Lodge
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Monteverde area. The room was a nice size and we felt very safe. Each room has a nice little balcony overlooking the forest next door, which was a great place to sit and relax. We did not have any trouble with noise and found the sound of rain on the roof to be very soothing. There is free internet, which was a huge plus, and the breakfasts were varied and delicious. The hotel is located on a back road, and I would also recommend carrying a flashlight if you're going out at night. There are several restaurants within walking distance I would recommend (Johnny's, Moon Shiva, Sabores ice cream) and some nice art galleries are also in the area.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank darcydu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

When we first arrived here we loved the place as it was a little out of the way and the building seemed new and nice overall. The room is large (we had a junior suite which had a coffee maker, fridge, microwave, king bed, etc) however like most places in Monteverde didn't have AC. No AC is fine, however there were no screens on the windows so when trying to cool the place down the first night, the place filled w/ bugs shortly after opening the windows.

Also, the lighting is very bad and the rooms are pretty dark day/night. In addition, the rooms smell musty and weren't immaculate overall.

Lastly, the walls are PAPER THIN and we heard EVERYTHING in the hotel. There's zero insulation and it made it difficult to sleep w/ any sort of activity in the hotel. The rain coming down hard on the roof was also VERY noisy.

On a positive note, the hosts were terrific and the breakfast was very good. In most places they just feed you breakfast, but here they let you order whatever you'd like off their menu, which was nice. Free internet and wifi is a definite plus too.

If coming back to Monteverde we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Our stay at Nidia Lodge was excellent. Nidia and her team were very helpful and accomodating. The room was clean and the food was very good too and reasonably priced. Nidia helped us book most of our tours including the arrangement of taxis which was very helpful.
There are a few restaurants nearby (go to Jonnhy's for excellent pizzas) and it's a short drive away from Monteverde. The only thing I would recommend is to carry a torch with you if you plan to return late at night.

  • Liked — The staff and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — There are no street lights so you have to remember to carry a torch with you in the evenings.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TopiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

The family owned Nidia Lodge is a great find! The family lives on site and they are always around to answer questions, book tours, make calls, etc. Their attention to customer service is way above outstanding. The place is spic and span clean and so quiet. The restaurant on-site serves good food and the on-site spa offers reasonably priced massages. We liked everything about Nidia Lodge. It is away from the busy streets, yet close enough to walk to a few restaurants, bakery, etc. The owner is a naturalist guide and is very informative about the area. Stay at Nidia Lodge and you will have a very peaceful, relaxing experience.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank texanchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fischamend
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at the apartment of Nidia Lodge. It was a very nice stay. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly, the apartment was perfect for 4 people! The price was ok!
The best of all was the breakfast! It was the only hotel we stayed where we got such a large choice of things to eat, and everything was included!!!!! Also the rest of the menu is perfect, so if you don`t want to waste time to find a expensive restaurant in the surrounding, stay at Nidia Lodge, the prices are cheaper and the food is perfect.
It is a family run hotel. The rooms are nice but the walls are very thin so you can hear the people next door talking, but thats a Costa Rican problem I think. Also it can become very cold during nighttime! So don`t forget to take long things with you!
Internet is included!
The location is a 2000 Colones taxi drive away from Santa Elena, but you can also walk a road down hill. Its inbetween the nature, so if you have nothing to do, just walk around and enjoy the nature, you see many animals that you can see at the could forest Monteverde!

All in all it was a perfect stay and we would come again!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lela07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed here for one night, then moved to the Slepers Sleep Cheaper hostel that the rest of our group was staying at. We found the Nidia to be overpriced with a poor location and not that great of a room. We paid close to $100 for one night at the Nidia. At Sleepers, we paid $40 for our own room and private bathroom! Furthermore, Sleepers had a better location, better and more knowledgeable host, better breakfast, all for a much lower cost.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RedskinsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

The hotel is on a gravel road off the main road to the MV reserve. The road to Hidden Valley is walkable next door. $2 taxi from SE and $7 to MV reserve. Tiny grocery walkable near the ice cream.

The photos others have posted are accurate. Wooden paneling, balcony over interior yard/back of restaurant. The rooms we had were clean with hot water in shower. The pillows are made of uncomfortable foam pieces and the sheets are worn. One sheet had a stain. The hotel did have a major problem while we were there, but the staff was quick to respond, so I think that is to their credit.

We could hear children running and crying in front of the doors.

Restaurant was basic, but OK.

Staff very friendly throughout.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nidia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nidia Lodge

Property: Nidia Lodge
Address: PO Box 99-5655, 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidia Lodge is the perfect place to rest in Monteverde. It's a clean, quiet and tranquil place. It's located in close proximity to most tourist centers of importance in the region. Offering three types of room: Standard, Deluxe and Junior suites. Free Internet access and Wireless internet service. SPA, conference room, restaurant. Guided tour, Laundry, safe parking lot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nidia Hotel Monteverde
Nidia Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing