We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Monteverde
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
35
21
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
35
21
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jose pancakes costa rica walking distance pura vida edith hostel balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Upon arrival, the hostel was locked up and no one was inside. There was a note that said to text her on whatsapp. 10 min later she arrived and we got settled in. When checking, in she tells us that instead of the 2 nights we had booked (back in Oct) she could only put us up for 1 night......there was no apology about the mix up.

She did find us another place to stay further down the road and was nice enough to book our trip to the cloud forest. She told us to leave our luggages here and she would meet us back at the hostel to take us to the new place we'd be staying at. After having a great afternoon at the cloudforest we arrive back to the hostel, but once again it's locked up. I texted and called for a good 40 min.

Long story short, we walked to the next place we'd be staying at, our luggage still wasn't there. It took another 2 hours for her to show up, and at this point my partner and I were freaking out since our passports were in there. Once again, no apology or explanation for what happened.

Thankfully, our new place was great, and our host was lovely.

Chillout House looked lovely, but I can't write a positive review due to the horrible service and experience we had.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Service
Thank Jroy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

As a family of 11, this was a great spot to gather for Christmas 2019. We were there for 4 nights. Edith was an amazing host. She look after us very well. Served us breakfast, made us a packed lunch and provide a great authentic Costa Rican Christmas dinner. Exceptional host. She was available to book tours as well, however we had already booked ours. There were 6 bedrooms, all we adequate, except the back two rooms were musty smelling. We had a gathering area to hang out and balcony for a view. It is a simple decor and appreciated that it has all been made by Edith from many recycled items.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank panddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

Great hostel!!! my favorite so far in costa rica. if you are going to visit monteverde/santa elena stay here for sure. Unbelievably helpful and nice! rooms were clean and food/coffee was the best! They even mailed my phone to san jose when i forgot it on the counter, whoops (5 am bus) thank you again for that by the way! Look forward to seeing you guys again next time we are nearby! Pura vida

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Josegone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

Monteverde was our last stop during our 2 week trip through Costa Rica and I am really happy that we found this little gem. It is a little bit hidden in a really nice neighborhood, about 15 minute walking distance from Monteverde city center. Cabs into the city center will cost about 2000 colones. The common area is really great, you have a lot of space, huge kitchen. I especially loved the style and design it have, you can see the love for the detail. :) Breakfast was amazing!! We had pancakes and toast & eggs with fresh fruits and coffee it was so delicious and freshly made in the morning. Esther and her daughter were rocking it!! In case we ever come back to Monteverde, we'll book the Chillout House again!!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessainthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2018 via mobile

This nice hostel is just outside the centre of the village. We received a warm welcome and a introduction to everything we could do in Monteverde. Breakfast was really good and staff was very nice! This family owned hostel is a nice place to stay when in Monteverde!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Paul5678Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews