We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
77
34
27
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
34
27
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cerro plano rooms are big hot water in the shower beautiful hotel main building cloud forest reserve rooms are clean zip line santa elena dampness los hike lodging
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 189 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We decided to go to Moteverde on a bit of a lark, so when we arrived it was all we could do to find someplace to stay. It's amazing that such an out-of-the-way place would have so many rooms taken (Monteverde, that is).

We finally found a room here, and were sold mostly on the view - it is pretty spectacular. Also nice was the fact that they offered an Internet connection, something that we hadn't had for a few days.

The staff was nice, and the room was decent, if a bit dated. What was really strange was the breakfast "sausage". It was a hot dog. We just passed and went out for breakfast instead.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We were there in the beginning of December 2008. A little early in the season. We were almost the only guests and got excellent service. The beds were good, the rooms clean and plenty of hot water in the shower. Good breakfast. The hotel staff was very helpful and booked all tours for us, as well as the return trip to San Jose. They did not serve dinner but could fix hot pizza and beer from a cooperating joint. From the terrrace in front of the room we had a wonderful view of the Gulf of Nicoya (when it was not too clouded) as well as a couple of spectaclular sunsets. We could also admire the fascinating humming birds close up.
The weather was not good while we were there. Rain and strong winds most of the time. But that is not the hotel's fault

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Svenanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

This is a rather new hotel and we would have never stayed here had it not been for a fortunate happenstance. Travelling with a friend through Costa Rica in January 2005, we were on the Jeep-Boat-Jeep trip from LaFortuna to Monteverde (without any room reservations) along with who happened to be the husband of the owner of Hotel Los Jardines. He was going to the various tourist locations to promote their new hotel. So we (along with a couple of other guys who hadn't made reservations either) decided to give this hotel a go for the night (and it was only about 30$ US). What a smart move! Not so much a hotel as it is a beautiful large home, perched on the top of the cliffs (as is much of Monteverde) with a spectacular view of the valley and views all the way to the Pacific Ocean. The rooms were warm and inviting, more like staying at a friend's house than a hotel and a hot, home made breakfast was included in the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful, Grace (the owner) called to made reservations for a night hike in the rain forest on our behalf and she took me around her garden, showing me the orchids she had grown. Sadly we only had one night in Monteverde, but the same fellow who we met on the jeep the day earlier, rode with us in the cab to Jaco (our next destination). He had the cab stop and pointed out all sorts of sight for us that we would have missed, bought us some drinks and helped us find a decent hotel in Jaco (and haggled the price down for us!). We had a great experience here and would highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews