We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Establo(Monteverde)
$231
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens(Monteverde)
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
$110
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
176
18
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
18
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall cabinthe main houseregular lifecloud forestbeautiful poolminute drivestayed nightsbreakfast and dinnerbumpy roadwatching the sunsetgorgeous viewssaunaelizabethvalleynaturepropertyporch
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 207 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed in the smaller cabin for 2 nights in April. Elisabeth and Javier gave us a very warm welcome, and were extremely helpful. The cabin was great - everything made of wood so quite quirky, and had fantastic views over the valley. Food was good (brought to the cabin by the family next door). Lovely pool. Good, quiet location - several kms outside the main town but very easy to get there by taxi. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_DLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

It has been nearly two years since we stayed at Cabins El Sol, and we still recall our visit with a big smile. Although our family of 5 only stayed for one night, our visit provided memories to last a lifetime. Our cabin in the forest overlooked the mountains and the incredible valley below. The Grand Canyon has nothing over this view! The cabins and grounds are a work of art, seamlessly merging nature with function. We stayed in the smaller cabin--rustic, but spacious and artistic--and had the world to ourselves. We swam in the pool overlooking the panoramic view. Breakfast was exotic, plentiful and delicious. Our children loved the horses on the spacious grounds. Elisabeth and her son are absolute sweethearts. Upon our leaving, Elisabeth gave my wife a gorgeous, wooded beaded necklace; she wears it frequently to relive our memories. Hospitality and friendliness are arts that she and her son have mastered well. One of our favorite trips, by far. Colorful and lush--a nature lovers' paradise. We could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We spent three nights at El Sol during our stay in Costa rica and had an awesome time. Hidden away, about 10 minutes out of town, it is a magical place with small cabins set in the most stunning scenery. Our cabin was set apart from everything and looked out over the most amazing view - surrounded by hummingbirds and toucans.

As well as a beautiful room, there is a lovely private infinity pool and a sauna. But one of the highlights was the owner, Elisabeth and her son Javier, who wer the most kind and welcoming hosts! They helped arrange tours for us, recommended places to eat and advised on the rest of our trip, even calling to check room availability for our next hotel.

One evening we ordered food made by a local family which was delivered to our cabin in a basket. It was top-notch food, beautifully prepared and presented and really made our evening special. On our final morning we joined Elisabeth and Javier for breakfast in the main house - it was one of the best breakfasts we've ever eaten!

The whole atmosphere of this place is also very nice and peaceful - even if you don't visit the cloud forest it's a lovely place to relax and recharge your batteries. We would definitely go back and thoroughly recommend it to other travellers!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We visited El SOl NUESTRO with our two children (10, 8) and our niece (14) last summer. The owner, Elizabeth welcomed us as if she had known us for ever. Every day there was magical. We felt so peaceful surrounded by so much nature and beauty. What a magical place and beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed in the large cabin, and the view was breath-taking. The atmosphere of El Sol created a feeling of serenity and calm. It was a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of regular life. We loved Elisabeth and Javier for their graciousness and hospitality. We also had two dinners cooked by their neighbors, and they were absolutely delicious! We will definitely come back if we visit Monteverde again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devotee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews