We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Cabins El Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins El Sol
Ranked #12 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had 2 lovely nights stay at El Sol in the big cabin. Lovely cabin and views. Great delivered lunch to our cabin. Amazing night tour with Javier. The grounds and pool are beautiful. We felt real peace and relaxation at El Sol. Elizabeth, Javier and Dema are all lovely and welcoming. A real treat.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank lauren1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 203 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Loved the house, it really is in an idyllic location and the views from the pool will take your worries away. Javier and Elizabeth are the best hosts and offer a variety of options to keep your mind and body fully active, otherwise you can just relax in the hammock and and look at the stars at night, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Nos encantó la casa, es idílica y las vistas desde la piscina son increíbles. El lugar se siente auténtico y no para turistas, Javier nos llevó a un río con aguas termales que queda cerca, lo pasamos genial. Igual hasta veís algún animalillo en las inmediaciones. Lo recomendamos con los ojos cerrados

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the small cabin for two nights. We really enjoyed the overall privacy and serenity of the cabin and property. You could enjoy the moon/stars in the evenings and the sunrise with chirping birds in the mornings without hearing the sounds of other guests or road traffic. The room was comfortable but the bed linens and pillows really need to be replaced as they appeared and smelled to be very old. There was also no mattress pad on the bed which I found a little gross and not so comfortable since there was just a thin jersey knit sheet on the bed. We had a little visitor one night (I assume a mouse) that indulged in a good portion of our mango which was sitting on the kitchen counter so don't leave any food items sitting out. The pool was very lovely. We had one dinner and one breakfast brought to us by the neighbors which we found rather bland and overpriced for what we got. The dinner consisted of pieces of flavorless boiled bone in chicken--all dark meat--with beans/rice, fruit, and fried plantains. Breakfast was a little better with scrambled eggs, rice/beans, fruit, and juice. I would recommend finding a restaurant in town unless you're totally exhausted and don't want to drive the 15 minutes back into town on the those bumpy dirt roads. For the price and overall convenience, we would probably opt for somewhere closer to town if we were to visit again. I'm a little confused as to why this property is so highly rated on tripadvisor but I assume it is because the owner Elisabeth is so welcoming as long as you don't mind lots of hugs. ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

While Visiting Costa Rica, our family stayed 4 nights at the El Sol cabins. This place is a little piece of heaven. Elizabeth, Javier and his family are very gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. The day we arrived it was my oldest Daughters 16th birthday. They greeted her with hugs, sang happy birthday and made orange cake for us.

The cabin was very clean. It was stocked with coffee, coco, milk, sugar salt pepper and everything needed to cook. While on the property we enjoyed the pool and sitting on the back porch enjoying the sunset.

Javier took us on the night tour (I highly recommend this). It was fantastic. His skills as a naturalist are amazing. We saw so much wildlife with his assistance. If you tried this on your own, I doubt you would see anything.

I highly recommend bypassing any hotel or lodge in the area, and stay at El Sol, you won’t regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

El Sol was exactly the place we needed: great food, amazing little lodge away from touristy places, the perfect place to rest, with amazing activities. We did the horse trek with Manuel (the neighbour - highly recommended), enjoyed delicious home-made Costa Rican food everyday + yummy pancakes in the morning. Javier and his family were amazing hosts and a great help in setting our activities and transport. Not to be missed are the night walk and the horse-ridding to the waterfall: those 2 activities were the highlight of our trip. We stayed in the little cabin which had great views over the mountain and were we had our own little garden + hammock to rest... Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the little cabin: perfect for 2 (huge bed!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place is so beautiful! Elizabeth and her son Javier are gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. The villa is decorated with colorful accents and is well equipped with everything you need. It was immaculate and we did not encounter any bugs/insects despite having the windows open most of the time.

We particularly enjoyed the pool area (which was super clean!); Elizabeth ordered a picnic lunch for us the day we arrived which was delivered to the pool… in was a perfect welcome. We spent most of our days out exploring the forests and doing high-adrenalin activities, but enjoyed just as much returning to our little home and sipping a cold beer at the pool or having our coffee while swinging in a hammock on the porch.

Javier helped us select/schedule and book all of our activities and we also did the night tour with him. He is awesome!! That was a very special experience, highly recommended. And all of his advice on things to do was great, it really made our stay in Monteverde memorable and fun.

El Sol cabins are ~10 min drive outside of St. Elena, but that did not bother us at all. It’s a quick drive and once you know your way around everything is pretty close. Being a bit out of town makes this place so unique and serene… loved it. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Israeli-winelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at El Sol and it was the highlight of our trip. We stayed in the big cabin - with three children and 2 parents.
The cabin was perfect for us! The view over the Guancanaste Mountains was incredible - and sitting on our porch enjoying the sunset was perfect for us!
We loved the property and Javier and Elisabeth were perfect hosts. We didn't see Elisabeth much, as Javier now manages the property. Our kids did say that it seemed like Elisabeth's body was filled with love to the entire World. :)
Javier was a fantastic host! He was attentive and listened - and our night hike with him was the best of our 5 hikes during our trip! The animals are his passion and that shows in the way he talks about them. Our kids spent hours trekking at night, and Javier taught them to love it! They still talk about his demonstrations months after.
Re. the property - We used both the laundry service and the meals. ALL the meals were delicious. Freshly cooked and good standard fare. We discovered that we could order for 3 people and have plenty. It was a nice change of pace for the entire Family to chill out and relax.
Laundry perfect as well.
The cabin was cleaned and made up each day! The decor was friendly and happy - and the natural furniture such a pleasure to look at.
We had experiences of huge grasshoppers, salamanders, fireflies and walking Sticks in the cabin. Nothing dangerous - but certainly ALL part of the fun of living in the Woods away from it all!
The town of Santa Elena was a 10 minute, 4000 Colonos cab drive away. No sweat.
For us - the joy of staying at such a beautiful property - with a stunning pool (filled with FRESH cool spring Water) - on our own, was a joy!
We also did the horse ride Down to the waterfall!! What a fantastic experience as well! The guides were great - food terrific - and it was such an adventure!

Our best suggestion - plan to spend a day extra - just hanging out and relaxing!

Room Tip: The villa is huge and has two bathrooms and more rooms - the Little cabin is SO romantic - and the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
2.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,356 reviews
2.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
3.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins El Sol

Address: La Lindora, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cabins El Sol Hotel Monteverde
Cabins El Sol Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing