We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Establo(Monteverde)
$231
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens(Monteverde)
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$34
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 60% below average rates

The price you found is 60% lower than this hotel's average rate of $87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$114
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
$94
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
176
18
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
18
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall cabinthe main houseregular lifecloud forestbeautiful poolminute drivestayed nightsbreakfast and dinnerbumpy roadwatching the sunsetgorgeous viewssaunaelizabethvalleynaturepropertyporch
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 207 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed two nights in the cabin at El Sol and loved every minute there. It was obvious from the beginning that Javier paid close attention to detail; we felt very well cared for. The cabin was a lovely, handcrafted, nurturing place to stay; cozy, and perfectly sized for two people. The pool was lovely. We had breakfast delivered to our cabin which was absolutely delicious, and we did utilize the laundry service they provided and that turned out well. One of the highlights was hiring Javier to take us on a night hike through the forest! He is extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna in the area as well as the history of Monteverde. We felt very safe with him in the forest and very much enjoyed his charming personality.
The location of El Sol is certainly a bit remote, we had our own car, and it took us about 15 minutes to get to town from El Sol, but the town itself is pretty tourist-y, so for us, the remoteness was an asset. El Sol was also the most expensive place that we stayed, but it was also the place with the most attentive hosts, (by far,) and the best accommodations, (by far,) so naturally it would be more expensive. We would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family of 4 (kids ages 9 & 11) spent 4 nights in the large cabin with the amazing views looking over the mountains. My son quickly settled into the hammock which hung on the porch and my daughter picked her bed right before the beautiful picturesque window. Javier was incredibly welcoming and a delicious lunch was ready for us upon our arrival which we had pre-ordered with Elisabeth. After a dip in the amazing infinity pool we talked with Javier about the activities we wanted to do over the next few days. He helped set everything up for us and even guided us on a couple of tours. Our highlights included the zip line at Selvatura and the private horseback ride to a nearby waterfall - absolutely breathtaking views & completely private. We like places off the beaten track which are beautiful and special. If that sounds like your style, then this is the place for you. It was about a 15 minute taxi ride into town, about $8-$10. I noted another reviewer's comments about it being too far from town, but we preferred the lovely views and tranquility to the busy and not as lovely town. We also didn't have any issues with bugs. Overall, a lovely place and highly recommended by us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are a family of four (two adults, two teenagers) who spent four night at El Sol in June 2012. We stayed in the large cabin (a house, really) and loved it. The location is beautiful, secluded and quiet. We loved the fact that we were away from town (although I disagree with the reviewer who complained about the drive--we had a 4X4 and found the 10-15 minute drive easy). Elizabeth, Javier and Dema were great hosts. Javier and Dema are a lovely young couple and they were so warm and welcoming. Dema brought us breakfast on the first morning and we sat on the rear patio and ate while watching hummingbirds and butterflies explore the garden.

El Sol is a reasonable drive to all area attractions. We hiked the Monteverde and Santa Elena reserves and ziplined at Selvatura. We also took a night hike with Javier where we saw some very interesting critters.

My wife is Spanish speaking and really hit it off with our hosts (although Javier's English is perfect). So much so that they invited us to attend a quinceanera (15th birthday party) for a friend at a hotel in town. We met about 25 local folks and they grilled up a feast. Everyone was so friendly. We even met an elderly gentleman for whom the Don Juan coffee tour is named. Apparently, he's named Don Juan for a reason; this guy has spawned enough kids to field a football team(American football) by way of enough women to form a knitting club! Overall, it was one of the highlights of our three week CR vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited Costarica trhee times in the last ten years e we can say that cabins el sol is the best hotel where we stay and one of the best of all our journey through the world!
The location is great. From the cabins you can see the monteverde hills.The garden is full of coffe and lemon trees and (like all costarica forest) a lot of birds! In front of our windows we see a Mot Mot, one of the most beatiful bird of latin america!
The house is warm and lovely. The walls are in dark brown wood and there are a lot of big windows that light the house. Paints,pillow and tents coloured by orange, yellow and red make the house very happy.
There is a rock pool like a balcony on the valley...
The food was delicious and very abundant.
The owner family is fantastic, very friendly.
Do you need know more to visit this place?!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This property is too far from town especially if you take into consideration the awful bumpy road that you have to drive on for 10-15 minutes to get to civilization. I can see if you have a lot of small kids and you really need to cook but if that isn't the case, stay near town and avoid the unpaved road. The cabin was very nice but we encountered salamanders and LOTS of bugs! I know what you are thinking but I live in the country so I am surrounded by nature. (I feared my husband's would wake up to a salamander in his mouth.. yikes) The food that they offered from the local family was good but very expensive compared to what you can get in the town of Monteverde. I found the location to be inconvenient, expensive, and nothing like the experience that was anticipated by the reviews and the interaction with the owners prior to the trip. Xavier is kind and lovely person but still thumbs down!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlbajek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews