We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit El Sol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabins El Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins El Sol
Ranked #8 of 40 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Must visit El Sol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

1) Javier is the MAN and if you don't take at least 2 tours with him, you are missing out.
2) His wife Dema is one of the lovliest ladies I have ever met.
3) His children could not be more adorable/welcoming/engaging/friendly.
4) This is by far the coolest place my boyfriend and I have ever stayed in and we are pretty well traveled.

It is a gem-of-a-find and you will have a hard time leaving Monteverde after your stay at El Sol. The cabins are so incredibly unique and made with such thought for detail and loving care. The view from each cabin is breath taking. If you can, stay in the large cabin that overlooks the entire mountain. You will enjoy a huge panoramic view of the mountain vista, sun filled wooden cabin, hammocks galore, sky lights, lounge area, etc.

The meals they provide are also amazing and everything that is done at El Sol is just so laid back, leisurely, comforting, and familiar.

Javier made the best recommendations and took only took us on amazing tours of the forest where we interacted with wildlife, but recommended awesome tours like horse back riding to the hot springs, milking cows, and ziplining through the cloud forest.

Also, don't forget to visit the infinity pool (freshwater) and the beautiful sauna.

It was a trip I will never forget and I cannot wait to head back there!

Room Tip: The large cabin or shared cabin! Both are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    18
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had an action packed Honeymoon to Costa Rica, and our stay at 3 night stay at El Sol was stunning and relaxed. We went on a number of trips arranged by Javier including horse back riding to the waterfall, and day and night hikes and zip lining - these were great and highly recommended. We stayed in a beautiful cabin over looking the mountain view which felt totally secluded, and it was like a home away from home.

The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and helped make the trip as special as it was.

Thanks El Sol

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah-Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Everything about El Sol exudes comfort, peace and relaxation, from the shuttle drivers they recommend (Ernyk) to the trips they suggest. We stayed in the larger cabin with amazing views and took advantage of a few of their many suggestions - The Cloud Forest (Javier is a most knowledgeable guide) and the horseback riding to the hot springs. We ordered dinner one night which was enough to feed us for two!! The nurturing yet not cloying caretaking of every single person we met at El Sol, from Elisabeth, to Javier and his wonderful family, to the groundskeepers couldn't have been more welcome. One of the highest compliments we can pay is that El Sol felt like a home away from home and Javier and his family felt like our own. We'd highly, highly recommend El Sol if you're looking for a "loving embrace" in a very relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: There were three of us and we loved the "big cabin." The privacy and views from this cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berruezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved our stay at El Sol. The cabins were so cozy with incredible views.
The grounds are gorgerous. We had the breakfast and it was so delicious and more than filling.
We travelled with 2 young children (7 and 5) and the set up of the cabin was perfect.
Javier was so very helpful and made fantastic recommendations for activities that were also kid appropriate. This is great place to stay if visiting Monteverde - close but away from the tourist hub. I would highly recommended it. It was my favourite place to stay in all of our travels in Costa Rica

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mere_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Of all of my travels, El Sol was the most relaxing beautiful place I've ever been. I stayed at El Sol for 4 days in July 2012. Javier and his wife were excellent hosts who even borrowed my son a pair of socks for a horseback ride with the neighbors. The neighbors took my son and I on on a horseback ride down the mountains that was an adventure of a life time. Javier always offered ti take us into town so that I wouldn't have to call a taxi. I decided on El Sol by reading comments written by others and it is a place I will remember for the rest of my life. I highly suggest you read reviews on this place and visit yourself. This place really lives up to all of the wonderful things said. El Sol will forever be in our hearts.

Room Tip: The small cabin has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbmiller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at El Sol in October 2012. I am an avid traveler who has stayed all over the world and will say 100% hands down that this is the most magical, relaxing and beautiful place I have ever stayed at. The pictures and words do not do it justice. Costa Rica is an enigmatic country, and EL Sol is as close to heaven upon the clouds as you can get. The rooms, views, food, staff accommodations are remarkable, as it the peace and tranquility one discovers when staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

It's peaceful, beautiful, relaxing. Most wonderful setting overlooking the mountains. As mentioned in other reviews, the cabins are lovely, clean and comfortable. The kitchen offers all the basics if you feel like cooking but the food delivered from the neighbors is delicious, no need to cook really. We enjoyed the pool and sauna, the amazing sky at night and the quiet surroundings. You will need a rental car as El Sol is outside Santa Elena. And the streets really are an adventure, try to arrive before it gets dark.
Javier and Elisabeth are very special hosts and made our stay pleasant and relaxing.
Yes there are cheaper options in the town. But when we return we will make sure to stay at El Sol again. It's just one of a kind. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
3.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
18.6 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#4 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins El Sol

Property: Cabins El Sol
Address: La Lindora, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cabins El Sol Hotel Monteverde
Cabins El Sol Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing