We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
186
78
12
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
78
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room costa rica santa elena friendly hosts wonderful owners steep climb cloud forest every morning plenty of hot water hotel is located room was large his wife grace hill activities town tours
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 287 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2011

4 stars for the wonderful care & service provided by Grace & Renzo.

Since taking over they have re-modeled the place into a small rustic mountain hotel. They used light wood to cover ceilings & walls; modernized the electrical, plumbing & heating; provide free WIFI; & free parking.

They prepare breakfast to order, & serve it in a spacious common room with breathtaking views. The view before you spreads from the nearby mountains & valleys...all the way to the Nicoya peninsula & the Pacific ocean!

It is walking distance to St. Elena, although the hill on the way back is pretty steep. We liked all of G&R's recommendations on restaurants & activities.

Please note, any hotel in this area located on an exposed mountain top can be very windy, & the wind can be loud. We found it difficult to sleep when the wind howled. So fabulous views may be accompanied by howling winds.

During our stay we noticed the accommodations in this area are designed for guests to go out & enjoy Monteverde National Park & the surrounding areas. They are not designed for guests to stay on the grounds all day...no inclusive style resorts.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

The hosts make this a most special place to stay. The place was clean, the bed comfortable, the breakfast just fine, the view wow!!! Grace knew just the places to tell us to visit. They had prepared a great map that got us around with no trouble. We had a great time and would go back again.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imricki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

El Viandente is a wonderfully cozy lodge that my husband & I thoroughly enjoyed during our 2-night stay there. We arrived late after being driven through pouring rain & were kindly welcomed by the owners who suggested we help ourselves to a hot cup of tea or coffee upstairs (there is always coffee & tea brewed in the dining area - which has big windows and beautiful sunset views). The rooms are cozy with pine walls & ceilings and cute wooden beds. You will wake up to the sound of roosters crowing nearby (which you think may be annoying but is actually refreshing & makes you realize how far away and in what a beautiful place you are in!). The town of Monteverde is really beautiful - you can walk around the areas from this hotel and explore which is great for those without a car. There are a number of restaurants nearby to enjoy too.

Also worth raving about are the breakfasts here - tons of delicious food to enjoy each morning! This place had the biggest breakfasts of all the places we stayed at in Costa Rica. They even made it a bit earlier for us one day when we had an early tour. Fresh cooked sausage, local cheese, eggs, toast, cereal & a hot cup of coffee... great way to start off the day!

Overall, we loved this hotel. It had a cozy lodge feel & the owners were wonderful. If we ever return to Costa Rica and Monteverde (which I hope we do!) then we will DEFINITELY be coming back to this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thriftynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Welcome stop after the arduous drive in from Arenal Volcano. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful. Advice on hiking was offered as well as the numerous attractions found in Monteverde. Breakfast was adequate. The location was within walking distance of many restaurants and activities as long as you were willing to tackle the short but steep hill into downtown (we walked down and then paid the 900C to taxi back as I was 6 months pregnant). It was a little noisy with the neighborhood dogs and some traffic but nothing that was really an annoyance.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swamp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

There is a lot to like about this place: breakfast was good, the rooms are clean and the bathroom in excellent condition. Wifi was decent and the TV had a number of channels, including several in English. Centrally located and the people who run it are very nice and helpful. Also some impressive views from which one can see the ocean. The only thing I would knock them for is a bed that wasn't the most comfortable in the world -- rather stiff -- and a lack of adequate drainage in the shower that resulted in water quickly rising around one's ankles. That said, I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraruiztomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews