We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
186
78
12
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
78
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room costa rica santa elena friendly hosts wonderful owners steep climb cloud forest every morning plenty of hot water hotel is located room was large his wife grace hill activities town tours
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 287 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Welcome stop after the arduous drive in from Arenal Volcano. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful. Advice on hiking was offered as well as the numerous attractions found in Monteverde. Breakfast was adequate. The location was within walking distance of many restaurants and activities as long as you were willing to tackle the short but steep hill into downtown (we walked down and then paid the 900C to taxi back as I was 6 months pregnant). It was a little noisy with the neighborhood dogs and some traffic but nothing that was really an annoyance.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swamp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

There is a lot to like about this place: breakfast was good, the rooms are clean and the bathroom in excellent condition. Wifi was decent and the TV had a number of channels, including several in English. Centrally located and the people who run it are very nice and helpful. Also some impressive views from which one can see the ocean. The only thing I would knock them for is a bed that wasn't the most comfortable in the world -- rather stiff -- and a lack of adequate drainage in the shower that resulted in water quickly rising around one's ankles. That said, I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraruiztomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

After spending 10 days in a luxurious rented house on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, I was worried that this budget option (all the other hotels were overbooked in Monteverde for Christmas) was going to be a downer for the end of our trip. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised : the familily room was large and bright, we had room to "expand" with our suitcases, beach bags and mess. There was TV in English and French, which was handy one night after a hiking day. We slept very well with and without the wind (weather was trrible the 1st night), the room was clean and safe (we left our belongings in a locked suitcase when on the beach we had to lock everything in a special closet before leaving anywhere) and enjoyed the breakfasts. The Italiano-American couple was very nice and helpful in giving us advice on fun things to do. Free high speed internet on 2 computers in the entrance. I recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed at El Viandante for two nights. The couple that owns the hotel are very pleasant and extremely helpful. They gave us great suggestions for things to do and helped us book two tours and a shuttle van to our next destination as well. The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. The water in the shower wasn't very hot but it didn't bother us. The breakfast is fresh and tasty. This hotel is a quick 10 minute walk to the town below where there were some very good restaurants. A great value for the price, I highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

Date of stay: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matty1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a night at El Viandante last week. The owners (and their young daughter who we met) were lovely and made every effort to be helpful. The room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom had several packaged bars of soap and a hair dryer. The decor left something to be desired (e.g., a very cheap lamp that looked like it was purchased with no regard to its appearnce), but that was not a problem. Breakfast was good (cereal, fruit, eggs, toast, coffee, juice) though the milk was starting to turn (I admit I'm especially sensitive to this). Computers, books, and magazines were available for general use.

The biggest problem was that we were there on a cold night (55 degrees F outside) and there was no heat on in our room. We had to sleep in several layers of clothing. There was also no air conditioner, though that of course was not a problem. There was limited warm water. Finally, while trying to be helpful, several pieces of information the owners provided about major nearby attractions were inaccurate (e.g., group tours at Monteverde Cloud Forest are only available at certain very limited hours, but when we showed up there were official guides standing ready to take anyone for the group rate).

So while these were not my favorite accomodations in Costa Rica, we found El Viandante to be suitable and a good value.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crims0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews