We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place to stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Viandante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Viandante
Ranked #7 of 40 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

A great little place very rustic and homely and the owners are so helpful and kind. The bedrooms are generous and comfortable. The breakfast room offers amazing views of monteverde and is great for watching a storm or the stars! Would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    73
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
50
139
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years back now, but it was a great experience. The owner was really friendly and accommodating. He offered multiple suggestions of things to do in the area, including the climbing tree back in the forest. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello Nick B

we are very happy to know that after 2 years you still remember your stay with us!! Hope to see you son

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great place to stay in Monteverde and environs. The owners, Grace and Renzo, are informed and friendly. They suggested a "jungle night walk" on our first night which became the highlight of our trip! The breakfasts are great, the rooms clean and well appointed, and the location outstanding. That said, the roads to Monteverde really are "that bad!"
We did not get a 4x4 car rental, and should have, but you can make it in a sedan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galameade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello Galameade


thank you so much for your review. Hope you had a great time here in Monteverde

See you next time

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for our adventures in Monteverede. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Both speak English which was great for us since we don't speak Spanish. I believe in addition to English and Spanish, they speak Italian as he is from Italy. The room was average in size and appearance. The bathrooms are a bit small, but modern and very clean. It was perfect for this trip since most of our times was spent outside. We stayed two nights. The breakfasts were cooked fresh each morning and featured different items. The breakfast/eating area has a wonderful view for miles. At night, they gave us plenty of recommendations for restaurants which are very close to the hotel (some are even within walking distance if you don't mind a bit of a hill). It can be a little windy at night and the hill up to the hotel is pretty steep. The owners are very knowledgeable about the various activities (zip lines, ATVs, night walks, etc.) in the area and the companies that provide services. I appreciated the fact that they didn't try to push any particular company, but instead provided costs of activities and brochures so we could make an informed decision. Once we decided on an activity and company, we were free to go have fun. They took care of the rest, making the reservations for us. We had fun on the night walk and saw quite a few animals that we didn't see during the day (viper, tarantula, fox, sleeping birds, etc.) Be sure to ask about the strangler fig up the hill from the hotel. We had an hour to blow one day so she told us how to get to the tree. It was amazing and completely free. Don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAndTiffanyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello ChrisandTiffanyG

thank you so much for your review. Happy that you had great time in Monteverde.

Hope to see you in the future
Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were a party of nine and were thankful that someone recommended this place to us. We occupied most of the top (second) floor. Rooms are very comfortable and wide. The view out of the main room is spectacular! Renzo and his wife are very nice. Renzo recommended we have dinner at Tramonti at that was fantastic (check out my review of Tramonti). Next time I'm in the area, I will definitely stay there again. Oh, and nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Dan L

thank yo so much for your great review. Hope to see you again.

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

For only $55 a night I was very skeptical! However, what a pleasant surprise! This place was in a perfect location just a 10 minute walk in to the center of town, you don't need a car if you're staying at this place. My partner and I had a horrific experience with our rental car and Renzo couldn't have been more helpful. I don't know what we would have done without him. I love Monteverde and El Viandante was exactly what I was looking for. It's a great value with wonderful owners, very clean and very comfortable. I am definitely booking this place again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddHend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Propietario at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Toddhenk

thank you so much for your review. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel was truly memorable. The hotel is conveniently located, especially if you have a car. It is a short distance from the city center, and if you don't have a car, then it is still okay, as mentioned it is a 10-15 minute walk, and getting a cab is easy in Monteverde. The hotel had all the conveniences and the rooms were airy & big. The best part of the hotel are the owners, when we went we did not meet Grace as she was out of town, but Renzo was a perfect host, and went out of his way to make our stay amazing. We did go on a hike with him and it was truly a highlight of our stay in Monteverde. The breakfasts were great, and our family had all four rooms above the lobby, which also had a little sit out outside the rooms, so it felt like we had our own private area. There is no view from the rooms, but there are great views from the breakfast area. Would highly recommend and definitely stay there again if we visit Monteverde again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Propietario at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello traveltraps

i'm not tired to say that it's easy to give our best when we have great guests

Hope to see you next time.

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Viandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Viandante

Property: Hotel El Viandante
Address: Frente Hotel Sapo Dorado, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Viandante 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Viandante , 13 new rooms all with private bathroom , hot water(no electric showers), cable tv, wireless , free internet. New breakfast and dining room with amazing view of Nicoya's gulf and the forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Viandante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Viandante Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing