We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, rustic accomodations, CHARMING innkeepers”
Review of Hotel El Viandante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Viandante
Ranked #7 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, rustic accomodations, CHARMING innkeepers”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed in one of the poshest resorts at Arenal (my one splurge on my vacation) a few days before I arrived in Monteverde, and found the difference in 'concierge' service and vacation planning help to be quite shocking. Grace and Renzo, the lovely owners of the rustic, charming and modest El Viandante, were leaps and bounds ahead of that posh, quite expensive resort. Grace helped me plan my entire stay, right down to a last minute "I know someone...I'll make a quick call" horse ride timed just for me so that I could still make my shuttle out of town. She gave me a detailed overview of various establishments, restaurants and guide services throughout the town, with great suggestions and ideas, including off-the-beaten path breathtaking waterfalls.
On top of that, breakfast was simple, tasty and hearty... and accompanied by great conversation, if desired, with the lovely hosts who speak multiple languages and have lived in the US, Asia and Europe. The rooms, while simple, are homey and comfortable, offering a view of the Gulf of Nicoya on a clear day. It is a quick but STEEP walk into downtown...cabs are easily called from the inn or from restaurants if needed. If you're looking for a quaint, warm and friendly place to stay on a budget, you'll be happy if you stay here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello the gbb

thank you to spent time to write a review.

Happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Monteverde

Hope to see you next time

Renzo & Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    75
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
50
143
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. Grace and Renzo were enthusiastic and very helpful with local insights, arranging tours, and advice on the many actvities and sites in Monteverde. Our room was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were a perfect start to our days. Many thanks for the hospitality, and we highly recommend this to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranb503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello ranb503

thank you so much for your great review. Happy that you really enjoyed your stay herewith us

Hope to see you next time

Renzo & Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewanee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Grace and Renzo are the perfect hosts. They were very knowledgeable of all the best places to visit in Monteverde. Renzo led us on a spectacular hike on back trails up into the cloud forest. Room was spacious with a great morning view. Breakfasts were delightful and what a morning view! We looked at other options in Monteverde but this was the best for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello Jon E

we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Hope to see you next time

Renzo & Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a great place to stay... Grace and Renzo were the perfect hosts. Great recommendations and advice about what to do, where to eat etc. They were able to arrange trips for us at very short notice and even advised us on where to go next!

Great value, a magnificent part of Costa Rica and brilliant hospitality.

Thanks both for a brilliant time.

Ceri & Bob

Room Tip: Would recommend in a heartbeat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello Robert S

thank you a lot for your review. Hope to see you next time.

Renzo & Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Annie & I loved our too brief stay at your lovely B&B. Thanks for your good advice, nice room, hearty breakfast and infectious smiles. Santa Elena is a sweet little town and Viandante a great place to stay. And the price is right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello Ric S

thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you next time

Renzo & Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days, 2 nights. It was a great experience, and our favorite hotel in Costa Rica. Renzo and Grace were incredible hosts. We also went on a 5 hour hike with Renzo and loved it; we were able to find 7 frogs, a record for Renzo. I would recommend it without any hesitations or concerns. They offer great advice on activities (some companies are better than others), and they served delicious breakfasts every morning. We have nothing but great things to say about this hotel and Renzo and Grace. If we go back to Monteverde, this is where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfernand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello gfernand

thank you so much for you great review. Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us

Hope to see you next time

renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Friendliness and helpfulness were boundless. We had wonderful days here and Renzo and Grace were very responsive to our needs. We would visit this hotel again immediately and this time stay longer! Renzo showed us the interesting corners of Monte Verde and a biologist (entomologist) I must say I was absolutely overwhelmed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello sascha

thank you so much for your great review. Hope to see you again.

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Viandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Viandante

Property: Hotel El Viandante
Address: Frente Hotel Sapo Dorado, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Viandante 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Viandante , 13 new rooms all with private bathroom , hot water(no electric showers), cable tv, wireless , free internet. New breakfast and dining room with amazing view of Nicoya's gulf and the forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Viandante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Viandante Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing