We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
186
78
12
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
78
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room costa rica santa elena friendly hosts wonderful owners steep climb cloud forest every morning plenty of hot water hotel is located room was large his wife grace hill activities town tours
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 287 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2011

It’s hard to believe how cheap is this B&B compared with the quality of the place. Rooms are big, well decorated and clean. Breakfast is at the first floor and while you are enjoying fresh fruit, you have the opportunity to see a nice view of the town.
Renzo and Grace are awesome. They are very helpful. They guided us really well about the best things to do in a short space of time (we had just a couple of days). They recommended us the San Luis waterfall and the hike was amazing! They recommended us an Italian restaurant that it was excellent!
I read several reviews about other places in Monteverde before to make a reservation in El Viandante and after spend to days on it, I understand why is so well rated. It’s excellent!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuisandSilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in 4 different cities during our trip to Costa Rica and I have to say that Monteverde was the best out of San Jose, La Fortuna and Guanacaste. What made our stay more enjoyable was El Viandante. Prices are reasonable, and rooms are so comfy. Renzo and Grace are so accommodating and hospitable. :) we also loved the breakfast she prepared for us every morning. Highly recommended!!!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you so much for your review.

Hope you had a great time in Monteverde.

Pura Vida

Renzo & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

nice and comfortable rooms!
clean and really nice couple running the hostel!
great service and amazing brakfast!
Thanks!
Marta

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you Marta for your review.

Hope to see you again.

Saludos
Renzo & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at El Viandante! Renzo and Grace could not have been more welcoming throughout our stay, with exceptional personal and friendly service. They went above and beyond to accommodate any needs we had during our stay. They had several suggestions for wonderful restaurants and activities in the area, making our stay in Monteverde outstanding and memorable. The rooms were immaculate and cozy with a rustic ambience. Breakfast was excellent, made to order in the common room of the B&B which is surrounded by magnificent views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. As a group of 5 we all agreed this was our favorite stay in Costa Rica during our trip because of the excellent hospitality provided by Grace and Renzo. If I ever get the opportunity to return to Costa Rica, I will definitely stay at El Viandante.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23O_H_I_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you so much for your great review.

It was a pleasure to have you in our small hotel.

Hope to see you again.

Pura Vida

Grace & Renzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at Hotel El Viandante June 2-6. This is a great no frills little bed and breakfast for the money. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms are large, and the breakfast every morning was tasty and ample. The owners were extremely helpful, making good suggestions for activities and restaurants and then making all the arrangements for us. The hotel is a little difficult to get to, but everything in Monteverde is. The area is a beautiful, mountainous rain forest. The breakfast room has windows on three sides looking out on the green mountains. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in visiting the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve or doing a zipline. Also, I really suggest that you would follow the advice that Grace gives regarding the tours and the restaurants. Our stay was perfect.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews