We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Talk about great service! The front desk always had the answers we needed about local activities, and made numerous calls on our behalf. So helpful! Room was clean, with great selection of TV channels. Location ideal: short walk to Santa Elena & Monteverde sites like Cheese Factory still in walking distance. Walls are thin (heard large group of teenagers at night), but that seems typical for tropical hotels.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank blondieish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 696 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed here for three nights in December 2006, and given the reputation of the restaurant decided to have dinner on both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day in the hotel.
The hotel staff looked after us (a tour group of about 18) very well, and the power cut that took out the whole of Santa Elena for most of one evening didn't phase them. The rooms are clean and modern, the showers good, and the restaurant is excellent - the best food we had in Costa Rica.
Just down the road from the hotel is the excellent Frog World - definitely go!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar.t.d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

Visited Monteverde on the second leg of our trip. The hotel was very clean and well equipped with a helpful and friendly staff. The beds were quite hard, which made for a difficult night of sleep. Restaurant had a wide variety to choose from and the food was good. The location is at least a cab ride away from town, both Monteverde and the Santa Elana area. The DVD club was a welcome addition, as the weather was hit or miss during our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StrongTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerPocoaPoco, Gerente at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

Thank you so much for your comment. I'd like to inform you that all of our beds have been equipped with certified double-comfort orthopedic mattresses. Probably when you came, the road acces (even to get to the town) was really bad, nowdays there is a mall in front of the hotel and roads have been paved. We are located just 400 m from Santa Elena Downtown, in a walkable distance which would take you less than 5 minutes to get there. We have been improving also in personalized service and offering our guest a new wide variety of premium facilities.
We will be happily looking forward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

The rooms were great. Very clean. Provided nice amenities. The chemical used to clean the room was a bit overwhelming for us. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The restaurant was fantastic. One night, the chef decided to order for us and provided us with a fantastic dish of all different kinds of fresh fish. It was a treat. The location of the hotel was nice as well. We enjoyed walking around Monteverde. But, the location is in a windy spot so the wind would get quite loud when hitting the building. That would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily_in_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2006

We had moved to this hotel after being overcharged and wholly disappointed at the well known and lauded Monteverde Lodge. Located only a 2 minute walk from the Lodge - we called the day of to get a reservation and got a room at 1/2 the rate of the Lodge and was able to negotiate breakfast to be included. As such we probably got the worst room in the house (even though the premises was overall vacant) which was on the first floor with no view and facing the rear of the kitchen. They do have rooms on higher floors that will afford some views but since we checked in after dark and checked out early in the AM it made no difference. The rooms are new but only moderately appointed and that would have been satisfactory except there were more bugs than any hotel room we had ever stayed at in Costa Rica. It made for an uncomfortable sleep for the skittish.

We were fine with the staff - the breakfast was extremely basic but came v. promptly - and they let us use their internet even after 10PM and did not charge us (which was v. nice in a city that closes by 9PM).

Overall - I think this hotel is striving to be a more modern and pricing accomodation but it just doesn't hit the mark. it was the cheapest place we stayed in in CR but concurrently it was the worst room as well. If we had had a car we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmcc4137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerPocoaPoco, Gerente at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

This kind of comments allow us to compare how much we have improved through the past 5 years. Poco a Poco have been working hard on all the hotel areas, from cleanliness through Restaurant Service. All our efforts have been recognized by international institutions which recommend us as one of the best hotels in Monteverde, due to our personalized service, neatness in the rooms, exquisite food at the restaurant and extremely professional treatments at our new Spa, Beauty Salon and premium facilities as Fully Equiped Gym, Jacuzzi, Wet Bar, Live Music, Concierge desk, DVD Club & Kids Club. We would be honored to have you back with us soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

This hotel is pretty new and the people working there are not professional. They try to do their best to give expected service but, obviously, they are not good. They are never proactive and you will have to claim for everything you want: we had to wait 30 minutes before some came to serve the breakfast, all the tables were full of dishes, the tea was a chamomile, the hot chocolate was hot water with black powder, the toast where cold, the fruits were cut 3 days before, etc...

The room was very clean and newly refurbished but the view to the Pacific and the gulf is a dream. The view is obscured but trees.

When we arrived (3.00PM), works were in progress in the hotel. I called to front desk to advice about the construction. They promise to stop in a 10 minutes timeframe. Actually, they stopped working and drilling in the room at 10:45PM ... after several complains.... and they restarted drilling at 06.00AM. I was very upset! They apologized several time but never did what they promised. I got 25% off on the room and they accepted to cancel the reservation for the next day without penalties.

As they are not professional, do not do what they said and give wrong information on their website, I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND this hotel.

2  Thank Bengos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerPocoaPoco, Gerente at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

I am pleased to inform you that we finished construction two years ago. I'd like you to visit us again and see how well we are doing now. We've improved many standards provided by international consultors that have changed our protocols in order to make us into a high quality hospitality business. We have been awarded with 4 stars and 4 sustainability rewards. I'm sure if you come again your experience will be wide positive. Finally let me extend you the sincerest apology on behalf of the last management.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marinke-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $94 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing