We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth considering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well worth considering”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Located in Monteverde, Monteverde being one of the must places to Visit in Costa rica. 5 mins walking to town with restaurants if you want and if you are up for it 50 mins walk, 15 by car to the Rain forests we walked back all down hill, and 30mins walk to the childrens rain forest. Other People who stayed in Hotels higher up the mountain had issue with Wind noise we did not.
Rooms are fine nothing special but clean, very comfy large double beds, with every thing you need coffee and tea replaced when needed. No airconditioning but you dont forget you are in the mountains so its not needed. Clean shower with hot water. We ate in the restaurant over the three nights, as there was no need to find a better restaurant food was of good quality menu after three nights may be limited. If you book in advance you get a complimentary glass of wine, which made the meals incredable value. There was live music every night in the restaurant, very tanented young guitarists playing clasical spanish or seventies Clapton realy well!!!. You must do an evening walk the bridges and if you are up for is the Zips, we did two evening walks one through the childrens rain forrest and a private one ask for Francico he is a private guide, if the desk can get him, he took us to a private location which was incredable away from the crowds. All the staff are friendly and happy to serve you at the pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello Mr Kenshaw. Thank you for such a complete and helpful review, excellent approach to Monteverde and its importance as one of the “must see” places in Costa Rica and in the world!!
Hotel Poco a Poco is strategically located just 4 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, and we are in the middle of all different tours and attractions on the area, most of them provide free shuttles and if not, taxis are cheap and available all day. Thank you for your comment on our restaurant, we like to keep it simple, nevertheless every night we offer a special and we are quick with recommendations or suggestions. We do offer different discounts throughout the year, February has complementary glasses of house wine during dinner!! And we´ll offer other specials during the rest of the year. Our food is indeed very good and the ambience with live music and warm style, make us one of the best options in town. I´m glad you enjoyed the complementary coffee in your room, its locally grown here in Monteverde, and it is one of the many amenities available for our guests. Hotel Poco a Poco offer the biggest array of amenities for guests.
Our front desk staff is always ready to offer suggestions on which tours to take, times, prices, tips etc,, we are very glad you enjoyed your hike with Francisco, I´ll let him know about your review.
Thank you very much, we are very glad you enjoyed your time with us, happy travels and we look forward for your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    218
    179
    70
    32
See reviews for
203
285
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We enjoyed a two-night stay at this hotel, just outside the centre of Santa Elena. It was just adjacent to a large new local mall that had a good supermercado and several restaurants nearby.
On arrival, we were warmly greeted with a cold beverage then the concierge told us about the features of the property. Our room was quite spacious with a king-sized bed, a large armoire for storage and upon which the T.V. stood. The bathroom was also spacious with a half-walled tile shower, a make-up mirror and several small toiletries. There is a huge collection of DVDs in the lobby from which we selected one to view on the DVD player in the room our first night.

The property cascades down the hillside with extensive gardens, areas to sit near the pool and hot tub, and to view the sunset. There is a small gym where we enjoyed using the spinning bikes.

The restaurant served an extensive typical Costa Rican breakfast. The service was exceptional and waiters knew us by sight the second morning. We enjoyed a fabulous evening meal in the restaurant that seems to be quite well-known in the area. Food was beautifully presented, with once again, attentive service.

There are larger and more glitzy properties in Monteverde, but for us, Poco a Poco exceeded our expectations of a four-star lodging.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Canadakat.
Thank you for such a nice review on our property and its features, I believe you have summarized very nicely our essence: service, location, added values and comfort.
Thank you very much, indeed our restaurant is one of the most popular in Monteverde, live music, shows and great ambience are always part of the restaurant style. Food is great by the way and we have been working very hard to improve service and quality. Thanks for the comment on breakfast, we have made small changes and they seem to be working.
Our front desk personnel is always prompt to assist guests and make recommendations on tours, options in general, check in procedures include a brief summary on all of there is to do in Monteverde.
You stayed in one of our Quetzal rooms, they offer better views yet all of our rooms have the same amenities, all of them.
You sure gave our hotel a good and full use, we encourage our guests to enjoy all of our facilities and comforts, I’m glad you took the time to enjoy our gardens, pool, Jacuzzi, restaurant, gym etc..
Poco a Poco is the best choice when you want to have access to town, comfortable / well equipped rooms and great service. Music, Food, jacuzzi, gym, spa, pool, etc,, We are the best value place in Monteverde!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice to us & we were greeted with a cool welcome drink. Stayed on fourth floor (#47). We had a car so we parked at the second floor entrance & bellman took luggage to our room. It was very pretty. Nice bathroom, big shower, plenty of hot water, even a lighted magnified makeup mirror. Breakfast was fine every morning. We'd see a rainbow out our window toward the gulf. At night the hot tub felt great. Seemed really hot @ first but you adjust quickly. We enjoyed our stay @ Poco a Poco.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank butterscotch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi Mr / Mrs Butterscoth: thank you very much for your feedback, I think this one is going to be very helpful for readers and future guests.
we are trying very hard to provide the best service posible, we know the key to sucess is to provide the best experience posible for our guests. Thank you very much for your comments.
I particulary like your comments because you mention some of our amentinities and added values, These are of great value to us and we highly appreciate you pointed them out.
Muchas gracias,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We (the six friends from Canada) arrived at Poca a Poca a little (umm, maybe a lot) travel weary from our many days travelling and touring beautiful Costa Rica. The first thing that awesome reception senorita (I'm sorry I can't remember your name) did was change our fourth level pre-booked rooms to main level rooms. Our quads and hams dearly thank you!! That personal service only increased as we got to know a lot of the staff during our 2-night stay. The rooms are currently being renovated but we were still very comfortable in our pre-reno accommodation. Yes, the wind does blow, especially a lot during the night, but for us this is all part of learning about and experiencing Costa Rica! (Poor reviews about this hotel because of the wind are not warranted at all!!) The restaurant was beyond compare...probably the best food we enjoyed throughout the whole vacation! We do not remember the chef's name but she was amazing. The photos I took of our fabulous dinner are, sadly, in cyber land on my cell phone and unretrievable at this time. Presentation and taste definitely a 5-star! Then we had the privilege of listening to an extremely talented young man who should be sharing his music with the world! Gonzalo Gonzalez...mucho gracias! The servers were so helpful and, besides providing excellent service, were eager to help us with our translation and very forgiving of our mispronounciations! One last compliment goes out to the masseuse who did a wonderful job of trying to relax those tired muscles!

To the management of this quaint and comfy inn...your staff are keepers and are a large reason why you are getting the highest of ratings from myself and my friends. Again, mucho gracias! Pura vida!

Room Tip: As the upper rooms are accessed only by stairs, request lower level rooms if you're too sore fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hola nuestras amigas Canadienses!!!! Thank you very much for such review, we are all very proud of it and on behalf of all our staff: Lilliana our receptionist, Gloria and Mayi from our Spa, Wilberth, Alex, Jonathan and Ronald, Martitza and all the kitchen staff as well as Gonzalo our house musician we want to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and helpful review.
Thanks a lot because you have pointed out a couple of details that most Trip Advisor users do not mention ( maybe because there's nothing bad to comment!!! )
We are a small hotel with great service and amenities: Our Spa is very good despite the fact that is small and not so fancy, nevertheless, we strive to provide the best service and best array of products for our guests. Naroa Spa should be a highlight on all of our guest's visit to Monteverde.
Sauna, Jacuzzi, massages, facials, wraps and more....
Gonzalo and Josue: our house musicians !!! they are part of our team and every night they perform for our guests over dinner, we also play live music during BBQs by the pool terrace, and we can put together a lot of things involving live music. Despite the fact that everybody enjoys our shows, we haven't got a lot of comments about our musical ambiences.
We are trying very hard in all aspects of our operation to become better each day, as you wisely point out, service is the most important feature to achieve excellence, without great service everything else is just décor....
We had a great time with your visit, It was great meeting you all and to hear about your adventures down waterfalls, on horseback and up the mountains of Monteverde.

Thank you very much, say hi to all the ladies and happy travels to all of you.
the Staff at Poco a Poco!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is situated half way between the village of Monteverde and the Natural Reserve of the Cloud Forest. The rooms are a bit old, but nevertheless, comfortable. No lift to get to the first floor makes a bit painful to carry the luggage, until we discovered that there is a way of going from the room to the reception going out to the street and go through the sidewalk (in which in any case there were works going on). There were also works in the spa. But in any case, the stay was pleasant, the breakfast buffet was good and in the evenings they have living music in the restaurant.
Be aware that if you go to Monteverde by car, you need a 4x4, because the road from Tilarán is awful

Room Tip: Better choose a room at the Ground floor to avoid luggage carrying problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Greetings Mr Lopezia:
Thank you for your review we are very glad you enjoyed your time spent with us, We have carried out a slow renovation in our rooms, the oldest are 12 years old and we did the bathrooms and a couple or other details and will continue with the fixing throughout the rest of the year.
It sounds like no one helped you with your luggage, we have instructed our front desk personnel to always offer help with luggage, our maintenance team or the waiters always help with luggage. It is also strange no one pointed out the second access ( by the side walk ) perhaps we did not offer it because there were works carried out on that section.
The works by the spa are all done, we fixed the outside wall, put a new garden section, did all the decks, and a new lounge area with benches and tables etc..
We are very glad with the results of the renovations by the spa section, it makes the pool / Jacuzzi area look much nicer now.
Music is the new added value for our guests, we have live music every night and special shows regularly, our guests may enjoy music during dinner, during happy hour by the pool bar and on special occasions we perform serenades, private shows and more. We are the home of the music in Monteverde.
Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here Dec. 22 & 23, 2013, as part of a 10-day Gate 1 tour. It was a letdown after the terrific Volcano Lodge & Gardens in Arenal.
Getting to Monteverde is quite an adventure, driving up a dirt road on the spines of several mountains with views on both sides...beautiful!
I think we were all surprised by the high level of development in the town, considering the remote, isolated location.
GOOD: The hotel was staffed by friendly and helpful people. The view was great. Supermarket across the street. Easy walk into town. Live music in the lobby, restaurant, and recorded music by the pool.
BAD: No hot water in the shower, no hot, or even warm water in Jacuzzi or pool (which smelled of garlic). We got in the Jacuzzi after zip-lining at Selvatura Park, and soon had goose-flesh. We asked several employees to turn up the heat, but nothing was done. Finally, while shivering, we made a dash to the private Jacuzzi at their Spa.
Breakfast: adequate, but the only meat was diced hot dogs: Yuck!
Dinner at the hotel: We ordered our meal 24 hours in advance. I was among the first seated, and the very LAST person served. Most of our group arrived after me, had dinner, dessert, and left before I was served. I was told it was because mine was a "special dish". (Rice with a few shrimp, scallops, etc.) They simply screwed up and tried to cover.
Our room was crowded with two (decent) queen-sized beds but no closet. We had what appeared to be the largest balcony, but the only one with no chairs. It was adequate though.
How did they EVER get 4 stars?
NOTE: I recommend the Tree House Restaurant in town. Great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Futuremauian: Thank you for your comments on Monteverde, we are very glad you enjoyed the area and the drive up here. You are right with your perception of Monteverde being a much more developed area despite the fact of absence of government’s infrastructure and better access conditions. It has been in hands of the Monteverde people to create a large and varied array of services for guests. We have been a leading destination for natural tourism for many decades so far.
Thank you for pointing out all the good things, our staff and management really thank you for your comments. Sadly, your BAD comments are also focused during the same period of time when other guests and Trip Advisor users had the same problems. We are very sorry for the troubles; we really had a “bad luck strike” on all water systems: heaters and pool… As for now, we did fix all of that.
New electric heaters on rooms and Jacuzzi,, and extra back-up heater at pool. We are very sorry for what happened with you at dinner, I wish I´d found out before, we could have provided you with a great discount of even with a full compensation. I´m very sorry to hear that. Is too bad you did not have the chance to really enjoy our restaurant and ambience,. (live music, etc ) we are always complimented on our food.
We really wished our guests would approach the Front desk to alert us about these kinds of situations, there’s a lot we can do to better one’s stay if we are aware of the inconsistencies. We’ll be more vigilant, indeed you mention how no one really helped with the Jacuzzi situation, and nevertheless I remember I offered a bunch of our guests the chance to use the spa’s Jacuzzi and also our sauna.
Thank you for your comments. We´ll definitely work to be uo to our 4 stars standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

the big problem here is the LACK OF HOT WATER for your shower!!!! NICE breakfast and great pool ! Lovely environment... but for the WIND!! which is everywhere in Monteverde! It affects your sleep 100% WEAR EARPLUGS!

Room Tip: do not go to the top floor, more likely for a COLD shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, General Manager at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello JP, we have fixed our BIG PROBLEM, we just doubled the water heating capacity of our systems and now, we have a much better response. In our defence, we did have a series of solar heating systems that are very enviromentaly friendly but there were moments when the demand exceeded our capacity... as for right now, we have incorporated more heaters and in the expense of a little more energy, we´ll be able to provide our guests with the service and quiality they expect.
As for our service, thank you for letting all the readers know that we are trying our best, all our staff is higly dedicated and commited. Thank you for noticing.
The upper floor rooms are the ones that are really exposed to wind, it is true that it blows hard and it does make sence to request a lower rooms in the event of heavy winds during your stay.. thank you, We have found your review very helpfull.
best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Property: Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing