We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The reviews that I read before our trip were not very favorable, especially the coments on the staff. We had to stay at this hotel as part of our Gate 1 tour. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The wait staff in the restaurant were wonderful, as was the food. The only complaint that I had with the hotel was that there was no air conditioning and the weather is very humid. Also, my view was of the parking lot and was noisy. The internet service was hit or miss and drove my husband crazy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    206
    167
    68
    29
See reviews for
189
264
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel has a great view, although my room quality is just average as it does not have a window. Its location is convenient as it is close to the downtown of Monteverde. The price is reasonable give that it is in Monteverde. Also the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: ask for a room with window or view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yichuan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are small but the grounds are beautiful. We had small issue when checking in and staff was awesome with helping us out and correcting issue. The pool area is great and very nice hot tub. A complementary breakfast is included and is in walking distance from town. Hotel staff great with making arrangements for activities while in area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Danielle: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I read several negative reviews on this site, so I was a little nervous about our stay. We stayed at this hotel because our tour through Gate 1 Travel brought us here. I'm so glad it did! We really enjoyed the hotel. We adored the hot tub and the view. There were several restaurants and shops within a couple minutes walk. We ate at the on-site restaurant and loved it! Great food, and it was much more reasonably priced than we expected. The grounds were beautiful. We inquired about the sauna, and were told it was $25 for 25 minutes, so we passed on that. We ended up not using any spa services, and just enjoying the hot tub. The walls really are thin, but we didn't have any trouble-everyone was quiet after 9 pm. We didn't hear the music from the restaurant except when we were there-it was actually quite good-mellow and melodic. The bed was huge and very comfortable. They even had a computer for guests to borrow, which was good since my tablet charger didn't work. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Erinr: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, KY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel Poco a Poco suffered a bit in my review because it followed our stay in Lomas del Volcan in La Fortuna. Poco a Poco (little by little) was a series of buildings that have been built into the side of a hill in Santa Elena. The room did not have a view and the buildings there are not air conditioned which meant we did what the Costa Ricans do: we left the front door open when we were inside. The grounds are beautiful and the pool area and hot tub were a welcome relief after a very long day of adventure on the zip lines, hanging bridges and coffee plantation. The breakfast was good but by far the best part of staying here was the service we received from the hotel staff. My mother had the misfortune of leaving the lid on her oil-based makeup loose and when we arrived at Poco a Poco, there was brown oily stuff all over her clothes. No amount of hand washing made a difference so we asked for help from the hotel maids. They were very helpful and did a fabulous job of saving her clothes. The staff was absolutely wonderful and I'm glad we got to stayed there on our tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Mrs Sally: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Poco a Poco as part of a tour group.
The accommodation is very basic and this is your basic 2-3 star property.
The room was fairly clean, the shower not much so and the fixtures could use some upgrading. The water pressure in the shower kept switching from hot to cold.
There is no air conditioning and the location is very noisy from roadside traffic as well as the music from the lounge.
Walls are very thin and I could hear every word from the room next door which was super annoying.
I did eat breakfast at the restaurant and that was good. I heard from others that dinner was also good though I did not have dinner there.
On the last evening, I did attempt to order room service but given it was almost kitchen closing time, which did not work out.
We (group) agreed it was not what was expected and hoped not to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, we try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make this better next time.
thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful, hence the 5*. I paid 160$ per night for a room with 2 beds accomodating me and my teenage daughter, breakfast included.
There were comfy chairs and sofas outside the rooms, and near to the pool, walkways and pool areas were nicely protected against wind and rain.
Room and bathroom standard for the price range - a bit cramped if you wanted to stay for longer than a couple of days. Located close to village and attractions, but visitors need to know that the whole Montevierde area is via long dirt roads.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rejsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Mr Rejsharp: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Property: Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing