We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. I was in room 27. It is near the road but there is so much wind noise (Monteverde/St Elena is seriously windy - like a hurricane at times) it made no difference at all.

I found the room to be large with a decent bathroom. King size bed, LCD tv and very clean. It felt boutique

The front staff are efficient and helped with booking events for me. One cloud forest tour operator screwed up and didn't pick me up - the hotel paid half of the taxi to get me to the cloud forest regardless. (reservations falling through has been a VERY common experience for me in Costa Rica).

Best of all is the restaurant - really great food, great live music and well priced.

I needed to recharge at this place and I did just that. The hotel is walking distance to 'town' if you want a drink or to eat at a local restaurant - there's a bit of a hill to negotiate but it's not too bad unless you are ancient.

Breakfast is good and served in the restaurant.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onesimusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    218
    178
    70
    32
See reviews for
202
285
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

5 of us shared a room with 3 beds (that was great thanks) and although the hotel is nothing fancy, it was clean, well maintained and sufficient for our needs. The location is excellent and you can walk into town. The pool was clean and the hot tub was nice after a long day doing tourist things. We would book here again if back in the area.

Jonathan??? the waiter was exceptional. Very attentive even at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egaquaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. The pictures are much nicer than the actual rooms and property. The rooms are VERY small and the walls are paper thin.You hear everything, including the howling wind, so sleeping wasn't great as well.The breakfast is very mediocre. This is the only place where I found the coffee to be subpar. The best thing about this hotel was the staff --who were very kind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, We try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
I know how important is to provide our guests with the quality and service they expect, and sadly, there are not second chances for a first impression.
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
Each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make things better next time.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 in our room and my only complaint was that the room was very small. We barely fit the luggage with all 4 of us. We loved the location we could walk into town and the views are great. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was mediocre but the staff there is great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeffrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Only spent one night here. The hotel was nice enough... clean room, typical CR buffet breakfast which was fine by me, 5 minute walk to next town, Santa Elena which had more amenities and stores. The staff were pleasant and helpful. As someone else mentioned, the cloud forest was a bit of a disappointment but I am glad that I went. No need to go back, though. I can easily recommend the Poco A Poco for a place to stay.

Room Tip: I did not notice that room location might affect the comfort or noise level as this is not a busy ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramorristoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Monteverde in general was a disappointment, but this is the place to visit in order to visit the magnificent cloud forest and go on canopy tours.

Room was average. Bed was good, but no fridge to keep fresh food and drinks.
The bathroom was second-rated and dirty and not worthy a "4-star hotel".

What the hotel calls spa is in fact an average-sized jacuzzi and a tiny children's pool. You can get overpriced cocktails from the bar if you can find the bartender.
The included breakfast is excellent. A typical Tico buffet with delicious fresh fruit.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and arranged both tours and transport for us.
When checking out, I discoverex that they had added 13% to the bill which was never mentioned before. The rates were already ridiculously overpriced for an average standard hotel set in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not big. However, it makes up for it through a well designed layout. Our kids loved the heated and covered pool tucked into a corner with enough sitting room. The breakfast was good with just enough choices of food - typical fare of fruit juice, fresh tropical fruits, Fried plantains, a rice and bean dish, scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast, cinnamon rolls and a tropical fruit chutney. The restaurant is somewhat expensive for dinner or lunch. However, the hotel is walking distance from the downtown district which has plenty of restaurants. The front desk and the staff were friendly and polite, and knowledgeable about the area. We had a great time and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanglefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Property: Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing