We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We came to Monteverde without having booked a reservation. After checking out several options online and driving around the area, we decided on Hotel Poco a Poco due to its truly lovely grounds and its very reasonable prices. The rooms are clean and charming, with wifi, TV, free coffee, and eco friendly soap/shampoo is provided. It has all the amenities you would want in a hotel including a restaurant with delicious food and live music every night, a reasonably priced spa, an enclosed gazebo Jacuzzi, and a pretty pool with swim-up bar. The staff is friendly, and they make it easy to book the best tours in the area. Poco a Poco is well located, just a few minutes from most of the attractions in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 696 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, we took our Aunt and Uncle and we had a great time. It rained for two days it was nice to have a restaurant on site they had a great menu and the breakfast was a buffet. Wireless internet and free movies. We saw white face monkeys as they visited the property. Nice walk to grocery store and downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay there. It rained for two days so it was nice to have the restaurant open for all our meals. Great food. They also had wireless internet and free movies to select from the office. Would recommend it to anyone. The White faced monkey's visited the property one morning. Easy to walk around the town from this location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLynn32244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

All and all, I'd say this is a decent place to stay. I would try another hotel next time I go but it is clean and convenient.

The food isn't good and it's way overpriced. However, I don't expect it to be cheap there because it takes 4 hours on horrible roads to get there. It's a pretty view to look over the valley. Next to a cool terrarium.

The indoor pool is warm and relaxing which is great because it's cold in Monteverde. The hot tub is even better.

It's safe and average.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank husker3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This Hotel is in santa elena, so you have easy access to everywhere in Monteverde. This makes it easier for getting around.

This hotel is a small family owned hotel, which makes it perfect, the attention you get is great.
the rooms are soo comfortable and with the cold weather from monteverde all you want to do is to stay in bed

aside from all this i had a great time, you can go to the pool, which has warm water so you wont have to worry if its cold, dvd library in case you want to stay in the night

the food is delicious, well worth the money in my opinion.

when you visit i would advise you take on a canopy tour, dont forget to visit the rainforest!!

Room Tip: Go buy your self some Monteverde Ice Cream at santa elena,(about 5 minutes away by foot)
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We really liked this hotel. They were helpful. We liked the bathroom. Beds were soft which was wonderful!! Pool was under construction last year, but the hot tub was nice and we made some friends drinking our wine in the hot tub. They helped us book activities. We went on a zip lining adventure and they picked us up from our hotel. We went into town to eat and even found some good ice cream and fun little shops. The Cloud Rainforest was beautiful and we hiked to the Continental Divide. Didn't see a lot of animals like I expected but it was still worth it!!! Saw lots of butterflies which I love. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tldarby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia Genera... H, Manager at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hello Darby, Thank you for your comments, we are very glad you spent a great time whit us. At Poco a Poco we are always working to better our amenities and added values. We did replace the tile around the pool, and just recently we improved the pool area with a new deck, a small lounge area and most important: a small stage for live music shows a the pool. More space for guests, more room around the top facilities an a more lively ambience.
Glad to know you made new freinds and enjoyed the hot tub. Thanks again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We got a really good rate in low season, so our stay was the best value for money we got in Costa Rica.
This place is a 3 star hotel, which in some countries could easily be nominated for 5. It has a great covered swimming pool & jacuzy, a new fitness room and a very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korneevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia Genera... H, Manager at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Friends, thank you for your nice comments. Hotel Poco a Poco not only has a great value/price relationship, we are also prompt to take actions when it comes to atracting more guests. For the months for Sept and October, we lauched a 2x1 promo, pay 1 night and stay 2!,
Promo ends by Oct 31st, so if someone else is reading this: go aehad and reserve!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $94 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing