We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isolated, but peaceful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirador Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mirador Lodge
Minneapolis
1 review
“Isolated, but peaceful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Mirador Lodge is a family-run establishment that offers simple accomodations and a quiet atmosphere. Electricity can be sparce, but all part of the eco-package since it depends on the flow of the waterfalls for its electricity. The food was delicious and made up of unique twists on local fare using common ingredients (we had a fabulous ayote soup one night and their banana pancakes are fabulous), though quite pricey since there is such a high transport cost out to the lodge. We had a great night view of Arenal volcano erupting in the distance, after a disappointing cloudy view in La Fortuna. It is a long journey to and from the lodge and I wouldn't recommend it if you are playing on hitting up the night life in town. It can become quite foggy at night and difficult to maneuver the winding path back to the lodge.

  • Liked — The view and the food.
  • Disliked — The price and the humidity.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

This a hotel for adventure. The must is the fantaastic view to the volcano. In clear nights you can see the lava coming down.
Unfortunately the hotel is quite basic, although the big rooms.
The hotel is located 20 minutes away from the town on a mountain road (signs quite poor)
Restaurant quite expensive for offered quality, although good breakfast

  • Liked — Arenal's volcano night view
  • Disliked — dinner and it's cost
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGGJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

carolina del sur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

We just got back from a trip to Costa Rica and spent 3 nights at the Mirador and absolutely LOVED this place. We stayed here two years ago and were afraid that things had changed, but happily it is still the same!! We were with teenagers and all of them said that they did not want to leave, and of all the places we stayed (beach, Arenal, San Jose) this was their favorite. The food is some of the best we have ever had in Costa Rica and the chefs were so accomodating with all of the kids. The bar is great, we bought wine in town and they kept it cold for us , and then served it to us at dinner. We also ended up mixing our own drinks with some of the best juices ever!! (Try the guava strawberry!!) The cabins are great, very clean. We knew going in that the electricity goes off at 10 pm, so we made sure everyone brought flashlights . The kids LOVED this, we all said that we can stay in Hampton Inn etc anytime, but this was really different for them. The water was nice and hot in the morning. The staff was so sweet, very accommodating. They booked horseback riding for the kids at a great rate, and massages for my friend and I. The recepcionist called a taxi to take us to the massage and then into Santa Elena.Very reasonable. We also celebrated a birthday and they hid the cake in the kitchen and helped us with the candles etc. I really can't say enough about this place. I was very disappointed that so much of Costa Rica has become even more americanized (this is my 3rd trip) , but happy to see that the Mirador is still a COSTA RICAN mountain lodge with great views, nice people, good accommodations, and great food. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — the cabins, the staff, the food
  • Disliked — not enough road signs
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maestra646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

stayed here for four nights. staff made us feel as if we were a nuisance. cabin was dirty with blocked shower, bedlinen was more holes than sheets and mildewy. logburner was so rusty, cabin filled with smoke and food appalling, not a pleasant experience at all. after three months still trying to get some satisfaction over our complaints.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank EMDREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

We stayed for one night, which was perfect. That way, we were able to walk the incredible trails (the one to the waterfall is awesome) and experience the spectacular view (we could see Volcan Arenal right out of our window!) I wouldn't consider the Mirador for an extended stay because it is damp and uncomfortable. And the on-sight restaurant is way overpriced for what you get. But whatever, we just split a couple of meals there and hit up the heavenly santa elena bakery on our way out of town. It was definitely worth the stay, but I was satisfied with the one night.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

The El mirador Hotel has a great view, offers many activities, and has a friendly staff, but if mildew bothers you, I would avoid this hotel. The pillows and bed linens are extemely mildewed. My husband, who doesn't have allergies, was bothered. After a horrible night, we checked out early and found another hotel. We had no problem getting our refund and the staff was very nice about it, but we wish we had been warned.

Helpful?
Thank IGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2006

We had reservations for 2 nights and when we got there (after a tough ride from San Jose), they said they did not have room for us and moved us to another hotel. Same thing happened to 2 other couples we met at the other hotel. The other hotel was not so great but from what I am reading about the Mirador here, it seems that the Mirador is overrated too.
I emailed them after I got back for an explanation and they said that they were expecting that some new cabanas there were building would be ready by the time we got there but they were not. I wish I had checked so I would not have been in the position to take whatever place they put us because we could have stayed in Arenal or in Santa Elena for a lot less and had a better time.
Be careful and read the other reviews for an accurate description of the place before you book.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.1 mi away
Nina"s Place
Nina"s Place
#22 of 69 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador Lodge

Property: Mirador Lodge
Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mirador Hotel Monteverde
Mirador Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing