We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nancy the owner of La Colina is one of the sweetest most helpful ladies I have ever met!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Colina Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colina Lodge
Save
You added La Colina Lodge to your Saves list
150 meters north of The Cheese Factory, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nancy the owner of La Colina is one of the sweetest most helpful ladies I have ever met!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

There are lots of outdoor activities to do in Monteverde such as horseback riding, zip lining, touring coffee plantations, hiking to the waterfalls and so much more. La Colina is a very homey place to stay. The owner Nancy is extremely friendly and very helpful. She is a very caring and giving person. Staying at La Colina is like staying in a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajancz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    13
    8
    17
See reviews for
20
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you want to stay in a Private and confortable place whit an easy acces to the most beutiful atractions in Monteverde town.. This is your place.. We enjoy it....¡¡¡
Is a very nice place clean and safe.. If you want to cook or order any drink or meal Nancy the owner is a very nice girl, shes going to be there for you... And a nice price for a really good and healthy breakfast....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabio3787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stopping in Monteverde for a week doing yoga training we stayed at La Colina Lodge. Nanci is so hospitable and accomodating. She really makes you feel at home. We felt like we were just hanging out at her house even though she was putting in a tremendous amount of work to pull the whole thing together. We were doing yoga in a beautiful space with a wooden floor and windows looking out into the cloud forest. I believe she had converted her own bedroom/apartment space to accomodate our group. It was a very special spot. The rooms and accomodations are modest, if you're looking for 5 star you're barking up the wrong tree. If you want to hang out, relax and be at peace in the cloud forest with a laid back hostess, this place is highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RRRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We was a NY couple that was eager to explore costs rica to the fullest. We stayed at this lodge for 5 days and we absolutely loved it. Nancy the owner always have gave us great service and accommodated us when we needed . They offer breakfast for only 5 bucks per person and the room with private bathroom is only 35 bucks which is very affordable. Will say their is animals located throughout the lodge so if you are allergic to cats and dogs it not recommended you choose this place. Unless you just don't go in the living room. Nana a employee working their offered great service, did laundry service for us, and gave us great insight on costa rica places and culture. Overall, experience was amazing here. WIll say the owner daughter could be a bit friendlier, as she seem"s isolated to the guess that stays their. Will say if their any problems the owner will always accommodate you if you want a different room, more food, and overall any type of service she will try her best to make sure your cormfortable. Great perks you can go to a jacuzzi for just staying their for free, get coffee delivered if you want to buy for super cheap, and get connections to places for super cheap.! Thank you for everything !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

La Colina Lodge is a very, very special place.

My friend and I stayed for one night & drove away wishing we could have stayed for a week. We were greeted by the owner, Nanci, who was so incredibly sweet and accommodating. She greeted us with offers of fresh coffee (there was a torrential downpour outside), helped us call our Zipline Tour company, offered to do our laundry(!), and asked if we'd like to join her and the other guests for dinner that night... her daughter had just baked some fresh bread and she was cooking up some organic lentil soup.

ALSO, there happened to be a yoga teacher training (shout out to the amazing Ashley Ludman!) at the lodge while we were there, so we were able to jump in on their morning class the next day!

In a word, this place was HEAVEN. The room was small, clean, and exactly what we needed... we're low-maintenance travelers, so if you prefer the extra muss & fuss that normally come along with hotels, then this is not the place for you. La Colina feels less like a hotel and more like you're just staying at Nanci's place for the night!

Also, prepare to be greeted by 2 cats and about 8 (+/-) dogs when you arrive - all of whom are very friendly. Turns out Nanci has a heart for the animals and will take them in, get them fixed, and try to adopt them out once they've been nursed to health. Don't be surprised to find a cuddly cat or an eager dog in your lap the minute you sit down!

Can't wait to go back and spend more time in the magical Monteverde. Highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

People who wrote a bad review of this place clearly have not stayed in many budget hotels in Costa Rica! Our room in La Colina was VERY clean, and the furnishings were adequate and eclectic. We spent over a month in Costa Rica, and this was the best, actual HOT water shower we found in any hotel in this category in the entire country! The owner, Nanci, is not only pleasant and funny, but she is an artist as well, and there is amazing and unique tile work everywhere. It is not convenient to "town", but it does not need to be.. it is within a short walk to the Quaker meeting, the Cheese Factory, the fascinating Bat Museum, one of the reserves and a lovely little village with galleries (including artist´s co-op) and good restaurants. One needs to take transport for anything else anyway, so why not stay in a lovely place where you can see hummingbirds and other wildlife right outside your window? The road outside will be dusty in the dry season, and muddy in the wet season, but this is rural Costa Rica, and we, at least, felt that this is what we were here to see, not a town developed for the single purpose of housing tourists (St. Elena). And the breakfast was good... the best breakfast potatoes I ever ate. And the dogs and cats were well mannered.

Room Tip: ask to be shown a few.. they are each different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juju50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here two nights and had a excellent second floor room. The balcony has seating and tables to sit out with a beer or wine. Owners are in contact with all local tour operators so can help with planning activities.
Good value and great staff. Only gripe I had was the shower which ran either hot or cold at it's own whim....you had to take advantage of brief periods of transition from one to the other.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#10 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Villa Verde
Hostel Villa Verde
#18 of 22 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Villa Ocotea Monteverde
Villa Ocotea Monteverde
#45 of 61 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel BellBird
Hotel BellBird
#24 of 61 in Monteverde
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina Lodge

Property: La Colina Lodge
Address: 150 meters north of The Cheese Factory, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Colina Lodge is a beautiful mountain lodge located at the edge of the Monteverde Cloud Forest. 150 Meters from the Monteverde Cheese Factory, you will find our rustic, log cabin style hotel full of art and bright colors, with a cozy warmth in our dining room where most nights you will find an old wood stove burning. The views and sounds are simply breathtaking! You will wake up every morning to the sound of the famous Bellbird, fresh air and a view of biodiversity like you wouldn't believe. At La Colina Lodge, you will find art, music, beautiful community, great staff, nature at your doorstep, and lots of love! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Colina Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing