We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean rooms and very friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Villa Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Villa Verde
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Monteverde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean rooms and very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few months ago while traveling with my boyfriend. It was a very pleasant place to stay, very clean and a pretty area with very friendly staff! We had never been to the area before and a very friendly employee, maybe the manager? believe his name was Nils? Gave us directions to some of the places we were headed to and have several suggestions on things to do while we were there, thank you!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnbwgltr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    6
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in Villa verde hotel for two days and we enjoy our time there, room are cery confortable and quiet, food very delcious and services one of the best in our trip in Costa Rica, Nils the manager was very helpfull. We recomemded this lovely place

Room Tip: do you have visite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjuan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

we been in Villa Verde Hotel for three days and we enjoy everything there, the rooms are very confortables , very clean and quite with full hot water, the food is very delicious and very good services at the restaurant, we enjoy ours dinner infriont to the such fireplace in the center of the restaurant, Nils ( the manager) was very helpfull with all ours activities and always he is smilling, everythin at villa verde were very nice. We enjoy a lot becouse we can see Tucan, Quetzals, sloth and we enjoy the ziplinning ( canopy tour), we recommnended this place

Room Tip: Try to stay en on the left side between roon 8 and 17 they are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed our time in Villa Verde Hotel. It was affordable, clean, friendly and close to all area attractions. The location is very quiet and peaceful and great place to relax after a full day of adventures. Neils is a great host and was very helpful explaining the different options available. I highly reccomend staying here. While in Monteverde be sure to check ou 100% Adventures Canopy Tours and doing the Superman line. Thrilling and breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshima, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

excelente atmosfer breackfast kindnes staff.
confatable bed room.
to cloud forest 15min walk.
we can get there befor anyother people in the morning.
I saw oring mapaches , hammingbirds an many others animals :I ac recomende this place for stay and enjoy the good anture in Villa verde Hotel

Room Tip: Just go and check rooms and beds infront to the mountain in Villa Verde
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinichilo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel when we visited Monteverde recently. The hotel is in a real need of an overhaul! The rooms are runned down and dirty! There was no telephones in the rooms, our room had no door to the bathroom and we didn't have running water from time to time. My daughter had stayed at this hotel a year ago and said that it had changed for the worse. The only positive thing I can say is that the food was good. I was very disappointed with my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I do visit this place for last 15 years, with groups and never had any complaints, the people who work at the Hotel are very nice, there is hot water, and yes there are no swimming pools in Monteverde Hotels, and yes you can found some time scorpions (no poison) and other insects, off course you are in the Clouf Forest, and for sure this is not a 5 stars hotel this is a Humble Place, and they try the best way to please all the visitors,
Last week I was there with Bill Wegman -former M-L-B-pitcher for the Milwake Brewers,
He is a Christian Pastor in Ohio now , we went there with some members of He's Churh,
and He was very happy with Villa Verde Hotel,
Ronald Gonzalez R--Ronnie--Tourist Driver/Guide

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#11 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Villa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Villa Verde

Property: Hostel Villa Verde
Address: | 1.5 miles from Reserve, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Villa Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Villa Verde is set on a lush, well-manicured property where guests can enjoy the environment of Monteverde from their very own front door. An on-site restaurant serves up a tasty combination of local and international food, while the adjoining bar mixes, pops and uncorks a great variety of beverages. A complementary breakfast is available every morning, and occasionally, local musicians will come and play music for guests from the dining room. Should the weather get bad or some time need filling, the hotel's game room is stocked with a Foosball and ping-pong table. Villa Verde offers both standard rooms and villas. The standard rooms come equipped with two double beds, one single bed, and a private hot water bathroom. The villas have the same arrangement, but include a living area with a fireplace, refrigerator and breakfast table. All rooms have a small, connected front patio that is covered and equipped with benches. Villa Verde is a perfect hotel for those seeking a quiet and rustic place to stay while exploring the Monteverde area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Villa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde Hotel Monteverde
Hostel Villa Verde Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing