We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Villa Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Villa Verde
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Monteverde
Kloten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This Hotel is a little bit out of town, but you can just fall out of the door and you'll be in the reserva for a good hike or for perfect views of the province of Guanacaste and the Nicoya Peninsula. The rooms are easy but clean, it just might get a little bit cold at nights. A nice breakfast is included in the price (we paid 15$ pp per night in low season). Definitely the best thing about this place is the staff which is really friendly and helps out wherever they can. It's a quiet place and in the evenings you can enjoy sitting at the fire in the restaurant or play pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoesHairnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    6
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The Hotel Villa Verde was a beautiful place to rest our heads while we spent time exploring Monteverde. The grounds are lovely, and the buildings in excellent condition. I could not have been more impressed with the wonderful staff and the gracious owner of the Villa Verde--by far the hardest hotel to leave on our tour! The meals we ate at the hotel restaurant were delicious and plentiful, and served very professionally by an attentive staff. The amenities were very useful, such as laundry service and internet capability. Our experience at the Hotel Villa Verde was fabulous and I definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdimaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I spent 9 day's touring Costa Rica, we spent 2 nights here at Hotel Villa Verde, i would recommend this place to any body traveling to Monteverde . the manager Nils Fernandez is a very gracious host, they train young students to become hotel and restaurant employees and managers,they have a young trainee his name is Julio very helpful very personable.....
give them a try.... you will want to go back again...
ken billings

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecostarica050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Villa Verde for 2 nights. The location is nice if you are looking to spend most of your time in the reserve, however, it is not a good value overall. My room was the worst that I encountered in Costa Rica (and I paid far less for others). The room smelled, the shower was consistently cold and quite dirty. Beds, linens, pillows and towels were all quite old. When I called to make a reservation the front desk said that Breakfast was included. However, at checkout time I got hit w/ a charge for Breakfast that could only be paid in cash. I ended up paying over $200 for the two nights. Simply not a good value for what you get. The front desk was helpful in booking activities and future travel arrangements but I just didn't trust them. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Quincy, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed here with an Explorica group. The distance from town was a bit of an issue~it's not within walking distance. Although the front desk and dining room staff was friendly and helpful, the maid service was severely lacking. There were no hand towels or washcloths, and the pillows smelled moldy. A muddy bathmat used by maintenance was left on the floor of the bathroom, and we discovered a moldy coffee filter in the coffee maker. The supply of hot water was inconsistent at best, non-existent at worst. We arrived on a Tuesday evening and left Thursday morning...........I was one of the lucky ones and had a tepid shower Wednesday evening; some members of our group did not get showers at all. The poor maid service and moldy pillows were aggravating, but the lack of hot water was unacceptable.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenthumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

the manager was not helpful when it came to booking our trips and advising us on the local activities- did not tell us the office closed at 9:30
and they moved our room due to their mistake - the bathroom door was broken and when i complained moved us to another room the door was broken as well
we would very disappointed with the managing of the place- the place itself was very beautiful

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yjlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here with a high school group (EF Tours). The rooms are wood lined and very, very rustic. Beds were hard and there were mouse droppings on my bed spread. One of the kids had a live scorpion in their room, so there must be a room with a nest, as previous guests commented about it here on tripadvisor. It is chilly in Feb. in Monteverde, but the hotel was unable to provide additional blankets for us; however, we were able to get a few additional towels, so we laid those over us, as well as any extra jackets we had.
Dining area is cute, but also rustic. They had a fire in the fireplace in the evening, but it doesn't seem to draw at all so the entire room was very smokey. They serve the meals here, and they were pretty good - fruit, veggies plus two entree choices.
There is a pool table in this area, and a disco area on the resort where they unfortunately allowed the kids to purchase unlimited alcohol. Since it was exclusive for the hotel, we didn't think we had to hang out and hover over the kids that evening, but obviously we should have.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#11 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Villa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Villa Verde

Property: Hostel Villa Verde
Address: | 1.5 miles from Reserve, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Villa Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Villa Verde is set on a lush, well-manicured property where guests can enjoy the environment of Monteverde from their very own front door. An on-site restaurant serves up a tasty combination of local and international food, while the adjoining bar mixes, pops and uncorks a great variety of beverages. A complementary breakfast is available every morning, and occasionally, local musicians will come and play music for guests from the dining room. Should the weather get bad or some time need filling, the hotel's game room is stocked with a Foosball and ping-pong table. Villa Verde offers both standard rooms and villas. The standard rooms come equipped with two double beds, one single bed, and a private hot water bathroom. The villas have the same arrangement, but include a living area with a fireplace, refrigerator and breakfast table. All rooms have a small, connected front patio that is covered and equipped with benches. Villa Verde is a perfect hotel for those seeking a quiet and rustic place to stay while exploring the Monteverde area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hostel Villa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde Hotel Monteverde
Hostel Villa Verde Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing