We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, atmospheric, recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena

Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena
Ranked #7 of 62 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is a community non profit project, located near Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica. The Reserve has an extension of 310 hectares, covered by a majestic Cloud Forest, in which you can observe a great variety of plants, Orchids, trees, ferns, heliconias and others. Also hundreds of residents and migratory birds, as the Quetzal and the Bell bird. Entrance Fee foreign Regular $14 Entrance Fee foreign student $7 Regular Guided walk $15 + Entrance Fee Private Guided Walk $75 + Entrance Fee
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Wonderful, atmospheric, recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went to this reserve with Marcos (highly recommended: http://pasioncostarica.com/). Smaller and more intimate than Monteverde, I think we actually liked it more. A lot wetter and so a very different ecosystem - lush and green, with lots of birds and animals and insects. As usual, we learned lots about everything around us from Marcos. There is also an observation tower, which is definitely worth climbing up, so you can look down on their birds, or at least be on the same level as them, different from seeing them from below all the time. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    126
    36
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful reserve! We came here by recommendation of the cabins administrator, and we were so thankful! The place is like a combination between jurassic park and the "lost" island. The vegetation is amazing, and the constant rain gives the place a magestic air... you have to go!

Helpful?
2 Thank Celeste Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was my husband and I's favorite part of the trip. It was nice and cool for a change and there was wildlife everywhere. The most amazing part though was how incredibly lush everything was, the trees were just carpeted in mosses and ferns. It was absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend taking the effort to go here over Monteverde Cloud forest. We were told by an independent guide that MV doesn't have visitor limits so it gets over crowded plus the funds at SE go towards environmental stewardship at a local school.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canopy Tour and Suspension Bridge Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The reserve is the smaller version of the Monte Verde Reserve. Super fun Zip Lines and Tarzan Swing, the tour guys make you feel very safe and comfortable with the experience. Suspension Bridge self-guided tour is nice, don't expect to see much more than foliage though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarieL_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Fun trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hanging bridges tour, plenty of wildlife and interesting surroundings. Perfect hike, not too long and plenty to see. We also went on a canopy zipline tour that was amazing, You literally went through the clouds and the staff was fantastic!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing