We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great birding guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena

Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena
Ranked #5 of 56 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is a community non profit project, located near Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica. The Reserve has an extension of 310 hectares, covered by a majestic Cloud Forest, in which you can observe a great variety of plants, Orchids, trees, ferns, heliconias and others. Also hundreds of residents and migratory birds, as the Quetzal and the Bell bird. Entrance Fee foreign Regular $14 Entrance Fee foreign student $7 Regular Guided walk $15 + Entrance Fee Private Guided Walk $75 + Entrance Fee
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great birding guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Birdwatching in the cloud forest can be very challenging, so hiring a guide makes a lot of sense. We spent a morning with Johnny, a very experienced birder and long time employee of Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve. He was really amazing, as he knew all the bird calls and was able to make their sounds, thus attracting the birds. He knew their habits and habitats so could soon spot them. Even though he has been birding for many years, he is still enthusiastic about being out in nature and showing the beautiful birds to interested visitors. Johnny can be reached between 8-9 p.m. central standard time at 506 2645 5390

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank btowhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    97
    26
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well organied night hike with great opportunity to view wildlife.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We finally saw those sloths. The guies communicate animal locations to maximize your chances of seeing wild life. Besides the sloths, kinkajus, coatis, we saw 2 pitvipers and a taratuntula. Our guide was energietic and mad the tour trully fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Monkeys!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Another awesome place to see in Costa Rica. The forest is very beautiful and different from Monteverde Cloud Forest. It is a bit smaller - the hiking paths, but still amazing with nice point of view. And the most awesome thing was that we saw a lot of monkey!!! At one spot they were everywhere jumping around. Really great experience - must see!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We saw monkeys.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Lots of great flora and fauna to see. We did not hire a guide and were on the trail by 10:00. Beautiful walk along the El Negro trail. Very little wildlife until we crossed the 3rd bridge. There we saw about 20 capuchin monkeys with babies cross above us, play and eat for about 30 minutes.
Well worth the horribly ruff road to get there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Photobug07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cloud forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It can be cold and windy, and is usually rainy, so bring a jacket. We bought XL garbage bags to use as ponchos, which were cheap and worked great! No need to spend $10 on disposable ponchos. If you are alone, you'll see more animals than if you're walking in a noisy group. There are plenty of trails, most with minimal slope and good gravel top with minimal mud.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sea_and_sky478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing